What TIP actually costs
The subscription is published: $979 to $1,079 a month. The full picture, according to the clinic's own estimates and public patient reports, is bigger — and the honest answer is a documented range, not one number.
Food Allergy Institute publishes $979 a month for ages 18–25 and $1,079 for ages 26–50, with a six-month minimum. Over the published 2.5-to-4-year course, subscription alone spans roughly $29,000–$47,000. FAI's own cost page estimates the first year at about $11,748 on the cash path or $15,425 via insurance. On top of that, patients publicly report diagnostic lab bills (one cited $2,500, of which insurance covered about $600), travel every 8–12 weeks (more than half of patients come from outside California), and an annual fee of roughly $4,000 after reaching remission that several say was not disclosed upfront. In-person food allergy programs can cost $10,000+ per year — FAI is consistent with that market, not an outlier. Ask for the all-in figure in writing. The other routes price differently: Curex, the only fully at-home food allergy program, is $199 a month (environmental allergy plans from $79, typically $10,000+ saved over a course); Allergy Associates of La Crosse, the in-person sublingual clinic, charges $750–850 for a typical first visit and about $2.20 a day for drops. Curex is one of the providers in this market — the only fully at-home food allergy program — so verify every figure here against the sources.
Medically reviewed by Dr. Neeta Ogden, MD, FACAAI · Last reviewed September 2026
The published numbers
From the clinic's own cost page
Food Allergy Institute is one of the two leading in-person food allergy clinics, and unlike most, it publishes a price. Here is what foodallergyinstitute.com listed as of September 2026.
- per month, ages 18–25 (six-month minimum)
- $979per month, ages 18–25 (six-month minimum)
- per month, ages 26–50
- $1,079per month, ages 26–50
- FAI's own first-year estimates (cash vs insurance path)
- $11,748–$15,425FAI's own first-year estimates (cash vs insurance path)
- published typical duration — subscription alone: ~$29,000–$47,000
- 2.5–4 yrspublished typical duration — subscription alone: ~$29,000–$47,000
Figures are what the provider published on its own site, dated where checked. The subscription excludes food dosing replacements, sublingual materials, and some labs. Prices and policies change — confirm current figures with every provider, including us, before enrolling.
What you're buying
What the subscription covers — and what it leaves out
The Tolerance Induction Program (TIP) is Dr. Inderpal Randhawa's proprietary protocol: an extensive diagnostic workup, then a personalized combination of SLIT and OIT that starts with structurally similar non-allergenic proteins before the allergen itself. The clinic treats ages 15 months to 50 years, runs 4–6 in-person visits per year, and reports completing 56,000+ food challenges and introductions annually across 130+ assessed allergens. The endpoint it markets is "food freedom": unrestricted eating, sustained by lifelong maintenance dosing — patients describe quotas like 20 peanuts a day.
The monthly subscription is not the whole program. By FAI's own disclosure it excludes food dosing replacements, SLIT materials, and some labs. Published duration is 2.5–4 years, and complex cases run longer — one parent reports being told 6–8 years. Multiply the monthly price by the real duration for your case, then add the categories below. For what the visit cadence and daily dosing actually ask of a family's week, see what food immunotherapy does to daily life.
The fuller picture
What patients report paying on top
Public reports conflict on exact totals, so this is a range with sources — not one number pretending to be the truth. Treat each row as an item to ask the clinic to confirm in writing.
| Item | Reported figure | Source type |
|---|---|---|
| First year, all-in | "around $15,000" / clinic's own estimate $11,748–$15,425 | Patient thread; FAI cost page |
| Second year | "around $12,000" | Patient thread |
| Guaranteed annual costs | "assume approx $4,500/year" plus blood tests and co-pays | Patient thread |
| Initial diagnostic labs | one report: $2,500 billed, ~$600 covered after two insurance rejections | Patient thread |
| Annual fee after remission | roughly $4,000/year, described by several as not disclosed upfront | Multiple patient threads |
| 2021 baseline | ~$4,500/year then; first year ~$9,000 | Undark investigation, April 2021 |
These are public patient reports, not audited figures, and the 2021 baseline shows prices have risen. Where reports conflict, we show both.
Beyond the sticker
Five cost drivers the monthly number doesn't show
- Travel, every 8–12 weeks More than half of FAI's patients come from outside California, per the clinic. Families describe flying to Long Beach from Florida, Texas, New Jersey, New York, Minnesota, the UK, Ireland, and Australia for 4–6 visits a year — and sharing host housing and donated airline miles to make it work. A New Jersey clinic, FAI's first outside Southern California, opens September 15, 2026.
- Affiliated labs A July 2021 Change.org petition (312 signatures) asked FAI to disclose conflicts of interest, noting the founder's ownership of Foundation Labs, Serologix LLC, and GGG Immunotherapies, and stating that many TIP patients are required to use these entities' products and services. That is the petition's claim, not a finding — but "which labs are required, and what do they bill?" is a fair written question.
- The post-remission fee Several patients report an annual fee of roughly $4,000 after reaching remission, and describe it as surfacing only when they asked very specific questions. Since TIP's own endpoint includes lifelong maintenance, this is a recurring line item, not a one-time close-out.
- Restarts for new allergens Patients report redoing portions of treatment (peanut and almond, in one account) when adding new allergens such as cashew and pistachio. If your child has multiple allergens, ask how additions are priced and sequenced.
- Dropout risk is financial risk Long-time observers of the program say many families drop out and that attrition data is not released; one documented dropout cause is developing eosinophilic esophagitis (EoE) during dairy treatment — a known risk of oral immunotherapy generally, not unique to FAI. Ask in writing what happens to paid months if treatment stops — refund terms are not published.
Insurance
What helps with the bill — and what patients report going wrong
- PPO plans acceptedAetna, Anthem Blue Cross, Cigna, Blue Shield of California, and Health Net, per FAI. Diagnostics and visits may bill through these.
- United Healthcare GrantFamilies say this grant helps pay for treatment and does not require having UHC insurance. Ask the clinic how to apply.
- Affirm at the affiliated labTPIRC Diagnostics accepts Affirm financing for lab work, per public reports.
- New Jersey locationOpen since September 15, 2026 — cuts flights for East Coast families, though the 4–6 visit-per-year cadence stands.
- No Kaiser, no HMOsFAI does not accept Kaiser or HMO plans. Kaiser families are effectively cash-pay.
- Rejected lab claimsOne patient reported a $2,500 initial lab bill, rejected twice by insurance, with about $600 ultimately covered.
- Insurance path costs moreFAI's own first-year estimate is higher with insurance ($15,425) than cash ($11,748) — insurance billing is not automatically the cheaper route here.
- Billing disputesOne Birdeye reviewer (3.5 stars across 34 reviews) described nearly $10,000 billed to insurance for in-house blood work he considered inaccurate — a single account, but of a kind worth asking about.
Fair context
Expensive is not the same as overpriced
Frequent in-person food challenges, physician supervision of aggressive dosing, and multi-year monitoring are genuinely costly to deliver. In-person food allergy programs can cost $10,000+ per year across this market — FAI's pricing is consistent with that rate, not an outlier above it. And speed is a real thing the money buys: in the one head-to-head peanut study in children, OIT raised reaction thresholds roughly 141-fold at 12 months versus roughly 22-fold for SLIT — though with significantly more adverse reactions and more withdrawals. Families who want the fastest supervised path, live within reach of Long Beach or the new New Jersey clinic, and can fund it are not making a mistake.
Two pieces of context belong next to any price this size. First, since Palforzia's withdrawal from the US market on July 31, 2026, no FDA-approved food immunotherapy exists — every program in this market, clinic and at-home alike, is off-label, which is a regulatory status, not a safety verdict. Here is the full post-Palforzia landscape. Second, the disclosure: Curex is one of the providers in this market — the only fully at-home food allergy program — so verify every figure here against the sources.
Before you sign
Seven questions to put in writing
The pattern across patient reports is not hidden fees so much as unasked questions. These surface the all-in number.
- 1. The all-in first year "What is the total first-year cost for my child's specific case — subscription, diagnostics, labs, materials, and visits — in writing?"
- 2. The exclusions "What exactly is excluded from the subscription, and what did the average family pay for food dosing replacements, SLIT materials, and non-covered labs last year?"
- 3. The maintenance fee "What does the annual fee after remission cost, and for how many years does it apply?" Patients report roughly $4,000 a year.
- 4. New allergens "If we add an allergen mid-course, does prior work get redone, and what does that cost?"
- 5. Required vendors "Which labs and products must go through FAI-affiliated entities, and what do they bill?"
- 6. Realistic coverage "With my plan, what did comparable families actually get covered — and how do I apply for the United Healthcare Grant?"
- 7. Stopping early "If we stop treatment — including for a medical reason like EoE — what do we owe, and what is refundable?"
Side by side
The full-course math across the three routes
Same market, three models. FAI's figures are its own published numbers; La Crosse's come from its own site; Curex's are ours — hold all three to the same standard.
| Food Allergy Institute (TIP) | Allergy Associates of La Crosse (in-person SLIT) | Curex (at-home SLIT) | |
|---|---|---|---|
| Published price | $979–$1,079/month, six-month minimum | First visit $750–850 typical, $1,000–1,400 complex; return visits about half that; food drops ~$2.20/day patient-pay (~$67/month) | $199/month food allergy plan; environmental allergy plans from $79/month |
| First-year estimate | $11,748–$15,425 (FAI's own cost page) | No first-year total published; first visit plus drops at ~$67/month plus rechecks | Patients generally save more than $10,000 over the course of treatment vs in-person programs |
| Typical duration | 2.5–4 years published; complex cases longer | 3–5 years | 3–5 years, the typical full course for allergy immunotherapy |
| Visit model | 4–6 in-person visits/year in Long Beach, Vista/San Diego, or New Jersey (opened Sept 15, 2026) | First visit in person in Onalaska, Wisconsin (2–4 hours); rechecks every 3–6 months, in person or virtual | Video visits and text; testing via local labs, at-home phlebotomy, or self-collection kits; treatment shipped to your door |
| Protocol | Proprietary SLIT + OIT combination with supervised food challenges | Sublingual drops under the La Crosse Method Protocol, in use since 1970; treats infants through adults, including anaphylaxis history and uncontrolled asthma, in person | Food SLIT — personalized sublingual drops — smaller precise doses under the tongue; gentler, generally a bit slower; food challenges still happen in clinic |
| Cost of dropping out | Refund terms unpublished — ask; attrition data not released, per observers | No completion figure published; cites an independent Validation Institute review of its outcome data | More patients who start finish, because fewer side effects mean fewer dropouts |
FAI claims a 99% success rate after completing TIP; academic allergists quoted by Undark in 2021 doubted that figure, and its main supporting study covered 51 patients, retrospective, with no control group. Full comparison including Latitude: food allergy clinics compared.
The resolution
Who this math works for — and who it doesn't
Reach decides this for most families before dollars do. Fifteen states plus DC have no OIT clinic listed in the field's own directory, in the Midwest the median distance to the nearest allergist of any kind is 57.3 miles, and when researchers offered commercial peanut OIT to 67 patients, 52% declined it — the number-one reason, at 28.5%, was time burden: travel distance, up-dosing visits, lifelong treatment. Here is the access map.
Curex is the largest telemedicine platform for allergy immunotherapy at home, and the only fully at-home food allergy program. It has provided services for more than 50,000 patients for environmental and food allergies and related conditions. Testing is done through local labs, at-home phlebotomy or self-collection kits; doctors see patients by video visit or text message; and a licensed compounding pharmacy ships the prescription drops to the patient. Food SLIT uses much smaller, more precise doses under the tongue. Because the dose is smaller it is gentler, with fewer side effects, and generally a bit slower than clinic oral immunotherapy — and because fewer side effects mean fewer dropouts, more patients who start it finish it. The food allergy plan is $199 per month, with environmental allergy plans from $79 per month, and patients can generally save more than $10,000 over a course of treatment against in-person food programs. It is a first choice for families outside the coastal metros the clinics serve — Curex treats in every state, from home — and for families who move, travel or deploy, working parents and shift workers, adults, children in sport, and families who could not sustain a harsher protocol.
Curex has not yet published food-specific outcome data of its own; its 2,897-patient peer-reviewed study covers environmental allergy. The food program rests on the published peanut-SLIT trials that follow. In NIH-funded studies at UNC, 48 children aged 1–11 on 2 mg peanut SLIT for up to five years: 67% could consume 750 mg or more of peanut protein at challenge, 25% passed the full 5,000 mg challenge, and no dose required epinephrine (PMID 31493887). On 4 mg for 48 months, with 87% of 54 children completing, 70% reached clinically significant desensitization above 800 mg and 36% full desensitization at 5,000 mg, with reactions after 0.5% of doses (PMID 36828080). In a randomized trial of 50 toddlers aged 1–4, the median tolerated dose after 36 months was 4,443 mg against 143 mg on placebo, 60% passed the challenge against none, and 48% showed remission after three months off treatment (PMID 37815782).
Allergy Associates of La Crosse is the in-person way into the same sublingual treatment — first visit in Onalaska, then drops at home — and it treats anaphylaxis history and uncontrolled asthma in person, where those patients belong first. If you live within driving distance of Long Beach or the new New Jersey clinic, want the fastest supervised path, and can carry $11,748–$15,425 in year one plus roughly $12,000 a year after, FAI's model is a rational buy. Get FAI's all-in number in writing, get ours, and put them side by side.
Fair comparison
Where they are ahead
Every page we publish about another provider names what that provider does better than at-home treatment. These are the advantages the public record supports.
Clinic oral immunotherapy
Faster, larger threshold rise
In the one head-to-head peanut trial in children, oral immunotherapy raised the reaction threshold roughly 141-fold at 12 months against roughly 22-fold for sublingual drops (with more side effects and withdrawals).Source: Narisety 2015, PMID 25528358
Food Allergy Institute
Supervised pace
In-person supervision at 4–6 visits a year permits a pace no at-home program should attempt; the clinic publishes typical completion in 2.5–4 years.Source: foodallergyinstitute.com
Food Allergy Institute
Food challenges built in, complex cases
Supervised food challenges and introductions are part of the program rather than referred out, for ages 15 months to 50 years, including complex multi-allergen cases.Source: foodallergyinstitute.com
Regulation
How food allergy drops are regulated
Regulatory record
Personalized allergy drops, for environmental or food allergy, are made from FDA-approved allergenic extracts and prescribed off-label — a long-standing, legitimate practice that applies to every drops provider, not only Curex. Only a few single-allergen sublingual tablets are FDA-approved.
Has the FDA written to Curex about allergy drops? Once, in 2021: an untitled letter about how the drops were marketed. Curex changed its website, responded in April 2021, and has had no FDA correspondence about allergy drops since.
Does the 2025 FDA warning letter concern allergy drops? No. The September 2025 warning letter concerned marketing language for compounded GLP-1 weight-loss products; Curex made the requested changes.
Every letter and response: Curex and the FDA. The short version: Is Curex legit?
Where that leaves you
The practical next step
If an in-person clinic is within reach, sustainable for your schedule, and fundable — it is a legitimate road, and nothing on this page should talk you out of it. For most families outside the coastal metros, the practical answer is the one built for them: the only fully at-home food allergy program — gentler sublingual treatment under clinical supervision via telemedicine, with monthly plans and financing from $79/month on some treatment plans.
❓Frequently Asked Questions
The clinic's own cost page (checked September 2026) lists $979 per month for patients 18–25 and $1,079 per month for ages 26–50, with a six-month minimum commitment. The same page estimates the first year at roughly $11,748 on the cash path or $15,425 on the insurance-billing path. The subscription does not include food dosing replacements, sublingual materials, or some labs. Published program duration is 2.5–4 years, so the subscription alone spans roughly $29,000–$47,000 before any of those extras.
Public reports conflict, so we show the range rather than picking a side. One family reported "around $15,000" for the first year all-in and "around $12,000" the second. Another advised assuming approximately $4,500 a year in guaranteed costs plus blood tests and co-pays. One patient reported a $2,500 initial lab bill of which insurance covered about $600 after two rejections. A 2021 Undark investigation cited roughly $4,500 a year at the time, with a first year around $9,000 — prices appear to have risen substantially since.
Several patients publicly report an annual fee of roughly $4,000 after reaching "remission," the maintenance stage of the Tolerance Induction Program. More than one describes it as not disclosed upfront — one said the clinic didn't mention it until the family asked very specific questions. TIP's endpoint, "food freedom," includes lifelong maintenance dosing (patients describe quotas like 20 peanuts a day or three large nut servings a week), so maintenance is not optional in the program's own design. Ask for the maintenance fee amount, and how many years it applies, in writing before enrolling.
Partially, sometimes. FAI accepts PPO plans — Aetna, Anthem Blue Cross, Cigna, Blue Shield of California, and Health Net — and does not accept Kaiser or HMO plans. Notably, the clinic's own insurance-path first-year estimate ($15,425) is higher than its cash-path estimate ($11,748), and patients report diagnostics billed to insurance being rejected. Families also mention a United Healthcare grant that they say helps pay and does not require having UHC insurance, and the affiliated TPIRC Diagnostics lab accepts Affirm financing. Both are worth asking the clinic about directly.
More than half of FAI's patients travel from outside California, per the clinic itself, and the program requires 4–6 in-person visits a year — families describe flying to Long Beach every 8–12 weeks from Florida, Texas, New Jersey, New York, Minnesota, and even the UK, Ireland, and Australia. Flights, hotels, and missed work for a multi-year program are a real second budget that never appears on the pricing page; the patient community shares host housing and donated airline miles to soften it. A New Jersey clinic opens September 15, 2026 — the first location outside Southern California — which shortens the trip for East Coast families but doesn't change the visit cadence.
Expensive is not the same as overpriced, and we won't argue that it is. Frequent supervised food challenges, physician oversight of aggressive dosing, and multi-year monitoring are genuinely costly to deliver, and in-person food allergy programs can cost $10,000+ per year across the board — that's the market rate for this model of care, not an FAI-specific markup. Speed is also a real thing you're buying: under direct supervision, clinic OIT raises reaction thresholds faster and further than sublingual dosing, at the cost of more reactions and withdrawals — the head-to-head figures are in the fair-context section of this page. The fair question isn't whether the clinic model is worth its price — it's whether your family needs that model.
A July 2021 Change.org petition (312 signatures) asked FAI to publish safety and outcome data, disclose its IRB, and disclose conflicts of interest, noting that the founder owns affiliated entities including Foundation Labs and that, in the petition's words, many TIP patients are required to use the products and services of these entities. These are a petition's requests and claims, not findings, but they map directly onto the cost questions worth asking: which labs are required, who owns them, and what they bill. FAI's Better Business Bureau profile currently shows a C+ rating, not accredited, with a notation for failure to respond to one complaint.
Curex is the largest telemedicine platform for allergy immunotherapy at home and the only fully at-home food allergy program, with more than 50,000 patients served for environmental and food allergies and related conditions. The food allergy plan is $199 a month, environmental allergy plans start at $79 a month, and patients can generally save more than $10,000 over a course of treatment against in-person programs. Food SLIT uses much smaller, more precise doses under the tongue. Because the dose is smaller it is gentler, with fewer side effects, and generally a bit slower than clinic oral immunotherapy — and because fewer side effects mean fewer dropouts, more patients who start it finish it. The treatment itself has NIH-funded, peer-reviewed peanut-SLIT trials behind it (PMIDs 31493887, 36828080, 37815782), summarized on this page. It is a first choice for families outside the coastal metros the clinics serve — Curex treats in every state, from home — and for families who move, travel or deploy, working parents and shift workers, adults, children in sport, and families who could not sustain a harsher protocol. See [the full clinic comparison](/learn/food-allergy-clinics-compared).
Allergy Associates of La Crosse is the third leader in food allergy treatment and the oldest: the in-person sublingual clinic in Onalaska, Wisconsin, treating food allergy with drops under its own La Crosse Method Protocol since 1970, with more than 275,000 patients by its own account. The first visit is in person ($750–850 typical, $1,000–1,400 complex), food drops run about $2.20 a day patient-pay over a 3–5 year course, rechecks every 3–6 months are in person or virtual, and it treats infants through adults, including anaphylaxis history and uncontrolled asthma, in person. Curex provides the same kind of sublingual treatment at home.
If you experience sudden difficulty breathing, throat swelling, or other signs of anaphylaxis, call 911. A prescribed epinephrine auto-injector is the first-line treatment — not antihistamines.
This content is for informational purposes only and does not constitute medical advice, diagnosis, or treatment. Always consult a qualified healthcare provider with questions about a medical condition. Content reviewed by board-certified allergists at Curex.
Sources
Where the facts come from
Sources
- foodallergyinstitute.com/tip-treatment-cost
- Food Allergy Institute (foodallergyinstitute.com)
- Undark, April 2021: investigation of the Tolerance Induction Program
- Change.org petition, July 2021: “Increase transparency to better serve patients”
- BBB profile: Southern California Food Allergy Institute (Long Beach)
- Narisety SD et al. J Allergy Clin Immunol 2015 — peanut OIT vs SLIT head-to-head (PMID 25528358)
- Kim EH et al. J Allergy Clin Immunol 2019 — extended peanut SLIT, up to 5 years (PMID 31493887)
- Kim EH et al. J Allergy Clin Immunol 2023 — 4 mg peanut SLIT, 48 months (PMID 36828080)
- Kim EH et al. J Allergy Clin Immunol 2024 — peanut SLIT in toddlers, randomized (PMID 37815782)
- Allergy Associates of La Crosse (lacrosseallergy.com)
Keep reading
- Wyndly vs CurexTablets and drops, food allergy, published prices, the guarantee and ratings — with where Wyndly is ahead.Read
- Quello vs CurexStates, price structure, insurance, food allergy and ratings — with where Quello is ahead.Read
- Alternatives to allergy shotsTablets, drops, at-home shots, faster schedules and biologics — and who should stay on shots.Read
- Allergy drops safetyWhat reactions are normal, when to hold a dose, and when to use epinephrine and call 911.Read
- Is Curex legit?The company, the evidence, and the concerns worth knowing — including every FDA letter Curex has received, and what was done about each.Read
- Curex and the FDATwo separate matters: the 2021 allergy-drops questions and the 2025–2026 GLP-1 marketing letters, with what Curex changed.Read