FAI versus Curex, from Curex
We compete with the Food Allergy Institute. This page asks which program fits which family β the only fully at-home program, or the leading in-person clinic β states plainly what each does better, prices both in real numbers, and lets geography, schedule and completion do the deciding.
The question is fit, not a winner. Curex is the largest telemedicine platform for allergy immunotherapy at home, and the only fully at-home food allergy program. It has provided services for more than 50,000 patients for environmental and food allergies and related conditions. Treatment happens in every state with no clinic within reach required, in gentler milligram doses under the tongue, and more of the patients who start it finish it β Curex food-plan rates, client commercial terms as of 2026-10-12: Food Allergy Drops: $199/month or $1,990/year. Unlimited number of foods, as clinically prescribed; plus insurance copay for each video consultation. Environmental + Food Allergy Drops: $259/month or $2,590/year. Two treatment sets, with unlimited number of allergens as clinically prescribed; plus insurance copay for each video consultation. Food Drops Self-Pay Plan: $249/month or $2,490/year. Food allergy drops; consultations included without a consultation copay. Environmental + Food Drops Self-Pay Plan: $299/month or $2,990/year. Environmental and food allergy drops; consultations included without a consultation copay. For the listed allergy plans, the annual subscription costs the equivalent of 10 monthly payments instead of 12: two months of subscription fees saved, or 16.7% compared with paying monthly for a year. This is subscription savings, not a discount on testing, copays or your total medical bill. Other products have their own payment terms; GLP-1 annual rates are shown separately. Treatment fees are self-pay. Insurance benefits are verified during onboarding. Each video consultation has a plan-dependent specialist copay, normally $35, which can be lower or higher depending on your plan. Deductibles and coinsurance may also affect your responsibility. The subscription covers compounded allergy drops and non-insured clinic services, including shipping, asynchronous consultations and care management. Insurance-category subscriptions add a copay for each video consultation. The environmental, food and combined self-pay drops plans and the environmental allergy shots plan include consultations without a consultation copay. Certain self-collection tests are not insurance-covered and are priced separately. Allergy IgE, celiac and Alpha-Gal tests may be covered by insurance, depending on your plan. IgG food sensitivity testing is not covered by insurance; the laboratory bills the patient directly. Verify coverage and the laboratory estimate before ordering. See /learn/curex-pricing and confirm eligibility, testing costs and a personalized written quote; no food-program savings amount is confirmed. It fits people outside the coastal metros, families who move, travel or deploy, working parents and shift workers, adults, children in sport, and families who could not sustain a harsher protocol. The Food Allergy Institute is one of the leading in-person food allergy clinics, and in-person supervision is a real advantage: clinicians can dose more aggressively, so clinic OIT raises reaction thresholds faster and further β roughly 141-fold against 22-fold for sublingual at 12 months in the one head-to-head trial, with more reactions and withdrawals. It fits families within reach of Long Beach or the New Jersey clinic opening September 15, 2026, who can sustain 4β6 in-person visits a year for 2.5β4 years at the published $979β$1,079 a month (first-year estimates $11,748β$15,425). Both are allergy immunotherapy. Sublingual drops are the treatment Allergy Associates of La Crosse has given in person in Wisconsin since 1970 β so there are two doors into it. A history of anaphylaxis or uncontrolled asthma routes to in-person assessment first, whichever provider you are considering.
Medically reviewed by Dr. Neeta Ogden, MD, FACAAI Β· Last reviewed September 2026
Read this first
How to read a comparison written by one of the providers
Curex is the only fully at-home food allergy program in the US. Every clinic figure comes from FAI's own published pages (checked September 2026) or from the third-party record: the Better Business Bureau profile, Undark's April 2021 investigation, a July 2021 transparency petition, and patient reports, which are attributed as reports. Where patient figures conflict, we show the range with both sources.
The frame is fit, not a winner. Both programs are allergy immunotherapy β the only disease-modifying treatment for allergies β delivered two different ways. Clinic OIT under direct supervision raises reaction thresholds faster and further; at-home sublingual dosing is gentler, reaches every state, and is finished by more of the families who start it. Which matters more depends on where you live, what your week can carry, and how your child reacts to dose β the facts this page sorts by.
One fact frames everything below. Since Palforzia was withdrawn from the US market on July 31, 2026, no FDA-approved food immunotherapy exists. FAI's Tolerance Induction Program and Curex's food SLIT are both off-label β off-label is not a slur; compounded allergy drops are made from the same FDA-approved allergenic extracts used in allergy shots. Xolair (approved February 2024, ages 1+) is the only FDA-approved food allergy medication, and it reduces reaction severity on accidental exposure rather than desensitizing. The post-Palforzia landscape covers this in full.
The trade
Two ways in, honestly drawn
In-person supervision and speed are real advantages.
- Aggressive supervised dosingIn-person supervision at 4β6 visits a year permits a pace no at-home program should attempt. Typical completion in 2.5β4 years, versus the 3β5 years a full immunotherapy course normally takes.
- Food challenges at scaleThe clinic claims 56,000+ supervised food challenges and introductions annually across 130+ assessed allergens, built into the program rather than referred out.
- Documented food-freedom graduationsFamilies publicly describe unrestricted eating: "my son now can eat whole egg, 4oz milk, and 16 peanuts"; "in remission for 5 years, I can eat anything." Patient reports, but a persistent cluster of them.
- Breadth and focusAges 15 months to 50 years, complex multi-allergen cases, one institution running one protocol at scale β with a claimed reaction rate under 1% for the duration of treatment.
At home, in every state.
- Reach: every state, no clinic requiredThe only fully at-home food allergy program, with 50,000+ patients served: testing through local labs, at-home phlebotomy or self-collection kits; doctors by video visit or text; a licensed compounding pharmacy ships treatment to the door. FAI's patients β more than half from outside California β fly in every 8β12 weeks.
- Gentler by designFood SLIT uses much smaller, precise milligram doses under the tongue, typically 4 mg of protein per allergen or less, with no 2β3 hour post-dose exercise ban and generally no rest window at all. It fits working parents, children in sport, adults, and families who move or deploy.
- More patients finishFewer side effects mean fewer dropouts. In the one head-to-head peanut trial in children, OIT desensitized faster but produced significantly more adverse reactions and withdrawals than SLIT; in the UNC 4 mg peanut-SLIT trial, 87% of children completed 48 months.
- A bill families can carryCurex food-plan rates, client commercial terms as of 2026-10-12: Food Allergy Drops: $199/month or $1,990/year. Unlimited number of foods, as clinically prescribed; plus insurance copay for each video consultation. Environmental + Food Allergy Drops: $259/month or $2,590/year. Two treatment sets, with unlimited number of allergens as clinically prescribed; plus insurance copay for each video consultation. Food Drops Self-Pay Plan: $249/month or $2,490/year. Food allergy drops; consultations included without a consultation copay. Environmental + Food Drops Self-Pay Plan: $299/month or $2,990/year. Environmental and food allergy drops; consultations included without a consultation copay. For the listed allergy plans, the annual subscription costs the equivalent of 10 monthly payments instead of 12: two months of subscription fees saved, or 16.7% compared with paying monthly for a year. This is subscription savings, not a discount on testing, copays or your total medical bill. Other products have their own payment terms; GLP-1 annual rates are shown separately. Treatment fees are self-pay. Insurance benefits are verified during onboarding. Each video consultation has a plan-dependent specialist copay, normally $35, which can be lower or higher depending on your plan. Deductibles and coinsurance may also affect your responsibility. The subscription covers compounded allergy drops and non-insured clinic services, including shipping, asynchronous consultations and care management. Insurance-category subscriptions add a copay for each video consultation. The environmental, food and combined self-pay drops plans and the environmental allergy shots plan include consultations without a consultation copay. Certain self-collection tests are not insurance-covered and are priced separately. Allergy IgE, celiac and Alpha-Gal tests may be covered by insurance, depending on your plan. IgG food sensitivity testing is not covered by insurance; the laboratory bills the patient directly. Verify coverage and the laboratory estimate before ordering. See /learn/curex-pricing and confirm eligibility, testing costs and a personalized written quote. No food-program savings amount is confirmed.
Lineage
Same treatment, two ways in
At-home sublingual drops are not a new idea. Allergy Associates of La Crosse is the third leader in food allergy treatment and the oldest: a Wisconsin clinic that has treated food and environmental allergy with sublingual drops since 1970, has treated more than 275,000 patients, and wrote the protocol β the La Crosse Method β that a national network of clinics now follow. Its physicians helped launch the NIH-funded peanut-SLIT research at Duke and UNC. It is an in-person destination clinic: the first visit happens in Onalaska, Wisconsin, patients travel from across the country for it, and rechecks every three to six months can be in person or virtual.
So there are two doors into the same treatment. In person: a first visit in Onalaska (allow 2β4 hours; typically $750β850, $1,000β1,400 for complex cases), food drops at about $2.20 a day patient-pay, rechecks every three to six months in person or virtual, over 3β5 years; the clinic treats infants through adults, including a history of anaphylaxis or uncontrolled asthma, in person. At home: testing is done through local labs, at-home phlebotomy or self-collection kits; doctors see patients by video visit or text message; and a licensed compounding pharmacy ships the prescription drops to the patient. The difference is the door β a trip to Wisconsin for the first visit, or a video call β not the treatment behind it.
The clinic's own figures
Food Allergy Institute by its own numbers
Everything here is published by the clinic itself, checked September 2026.
- monthly subscription by age band, 6-month minimum; excludes food dosing replacements, SLIT materials, and some labs
- $979β$1,079monthly subscription by age band, 6-month minimum; excludes food dosing replacements, SLIT materials, and some labs
- typical program duration; complex cases run longer β one parent reports being told 6β8 years
- 2.5β4 yrstypical program duration; complex cases run longer β one parent reports being told 6β8 years
- in-person visits per year at the Long Beach hub
- 4β6in-person visits per year at the Long Beach hub
- of patients travel from outside California
- >50%of patients travel from outside California
- claimed success rate after completing TIP β examined in the evidence section below
- 99%claimed success rate after completing TIP β examined in the evidence section below
- accepted age range
- 15 moβ50 yraccepted age range
Source: foodallergyinstitute.com. A New Jersey clinic, the first outside Southern California, is scheduled to open September 15, 2026. Insurance: PPO plans accepted (Aetna, Anthem Blue Cross, Cigna, Blue Shield CA, Health Net); Kaiser and HMOs are not.
Side by side
The three programs on one page
| Food Allergy Institute (TIP) | Curex | Allergy Associates of La Crosse | |
|---|---|---|---|
| Model | Single-protocol clinic: Long Beach and Vista/San Diego, CA; New Jersey opening September 15, 2026 | The only fully at-home program, in every state; 50,000+ patients served | In-person sublingual clinic: one location, Onalaska, Wisconsin, since 1970; 275,000+ patients |
| Method | Proprietary Tolerance Induction Program: structurally similar non-allergenic proteins first, then the allergen; a personalized combination of SLIT and OIT | Food SLIT: small, precise doses held under the tongue, absorbed through the sublingual mucosa | Sublingual drops under the La Crosse Method Protocol β the protocol behind the at-home route |
| Supervision | In-person, 4β6 visits/year; supervised food challenges built in | Video and text visits; food challenges done in clinic when indicated, as on every protocol | First visit in person (2β4 hours); rechecks every 3β6 months, in person or virtual |
| Typical duration | 2.5β4 years; complex cases longer | A full immunotherapy course typically takes 3β5 years; many notice improvement in the first months | 3β5 years |
| Published cost | $979β$1,079/month, 6-month minimum; clinic's first-year estimates ~$11,748 (cash) to ~$15,425 (insurance path) | Curex food-plan rates, client commercial terms as of 2026-10-12: Food Allergy Drops: $199/month or $1,990/year. Unlimited number of foods, as clinically prescribed; plus insurance copay for each video consultation. Environmental + Food Allergy Drops: $259/month or $2,590/year. Two treatment sets, with unlimited number of allergens as clinically prescribed; plus insurance copay for each video consultation. Food Drops Self-Pay Plan: $249/month or $2,490/year. Food allergy drops; consultations included without a consultation copay. Environmental + Food Drops Self-Pay Plan: $299/month or $2,990/year. Environmental and food allergy drops; consultations included without a consultation copay. For the listed allergy plans, the annual subscription costs the equivalent of 10 monthly payments instead of 12: two months of subscription fees saved, or 16.7% compared with paying monthly for a year. This is subscription savings, not a discount on testing, copays or your total medical bill. Other products have their own payment terms; GLP-1 annual rates are shown separately. Treatment fees are self-pay. Insurance benefits are verified during onboarding. Each video consultation has a plan-dependent specialist copay, normally $35, which can be lower or higher depending on your plan. Deductibles and coinsurance may also affect your responsibility. The subscription covers compounded allergy drops and non-insured clinic services, including shipping, asynchronous consultations and care management. Insurance-category subscriptions add a copay for each video consultation. The environmental, food and combined self-pay drops plans and the environmental allergy shots plan include consultations without a consultation copay. Certain self-collection tests are not insurance-covered and are priced separately. Allergy IgE, celiac and Alpha-Gal tests may be covered by insurance, depending on your plan. IgG food sensitivity testing is not covered by insurance; the laboratory bills the patient directly. Verify coverage and the laboratory estimate before ordering. See /learn/curex-pricing and confirm eligibility, testing costs and a personalized written quote | First visit $750β850 typical, $1,000β1,400 complex; food drops ~$2.20/day, patient-pay |
| Travel burden | More than half of patients come from outside California, every 8β12 weeks (families report flying from FL, TX, NY, MN, the UK, Australia) | None | One trip to Wisconsin for the first visit; rechecks can be virtual |
| Outcome data | Claims 99% success after completion and <1% reaction rate; main supporting study: 51 patients, retrospective, no control group | Rests on the NIH-funded UNC peanut-SLIT trials (PMIDs 31493887, 36828080, 37815782) β see the evidence section | No single success-rate figure; cites an independent Validation Institute review and Duke/UNC peanut-SLIT collaborations |
| Regulatory status | Off-label proprietary protocol | Off-label compounded drops from FDA-approved allergenic extracts β everything in this market is off-label since Palforzia's July 31, 2026 withdrawal | Off-label compounded drops, like every program here |
La Crosse figures from lacrosseallergy.com, checked September 2026.
Evidence
The record, in both directions
FAI's headline claims are striking: 99% success after completing TIP, a reaction rate under 1%, 56,000+ food challenges a year. The scrutiny on record is equally striking. Undark's April 2021 investigation quoted academic allergists β Hugh Windom, Philippe BΓ©gin, Edwin Kim, Brian Schroer, and Matt Bell among them β openly doubting the 99% figure, and reported that the program's main supporting study covered 51 patients, was retrospective, had no control group, and ran in an open-access journal after reportedly being declined by more than six larger journals. Long-time observers add that many families drop out and that attrition data has not been released, which matters because a success rate conditioned on completion says nothing about those who left. One documented dropout cause: developing eosinophilic esophagitis during dairy treatment, a known risk of oral immunotherapy generally.
A July 2021 Change.org petition with 312 signatures asked the clinic to publish safety and outcome data, disclose IRB oversight, and disclose conflicts of interest β the founder owns affiliated labs whose products, the petition says, many TIP patients are required to use. The BBB rates the clinic C+, not accredited, with one complaint marked as receiving no response. Against that: Facebook shows 94% recommend across 35 reviews, Birdeye averages 3.5 stars across 34, and the cluster of families describing durable, unrestricted eating is real and consistent.
Now the treatment behind the at-home route. Curex has not yet published food-specific outcome data of its own; its 2,897-patient peer-reviewed study covers environmental allergy. The food program rests on the published peanut-SLIT trials that follow.
The evidence for the treatment itself is published and NIH-funded, from the UNC group. In 48 children aged 1β11 on 2 mg peanut SLIT for up to five years, 67% could consume 750 mg or more of peanut protein at challenge and 25% passed the full 5,000 mg challenge; side effects came with 4.8% of doses, mostly transient mouth itching, and no dose needed epinephrine (Kim et al. 2019, PMID 31493887). In 54 children on 4 mg for 48 months, 87% completing, the mean tolerated dose rose from 48 mg to 2,723 mg, 70% reached clinically significant desensitization above 800 mg and 36% full desensitization at 5,000 mg, with reactions to 0.5% of doses and none needing epinephrine (Kim et al. 2023, PMID 36828080). And in a randomized trial of 50 toddlers aged 1β4 on 4 mg SLIT or placebo for 36 months, the median tolerated dose was 4,443 mg against 143 mg on placebo, 60% passed the challenge against none, and 48% showed remission after three months off treatment β desensitization the UNC authors described as on a par with what they would normally expect only from oral immunotherapy (Kim et al. 2024, PMID 37815782).
Judge our claims as skeptically as the clinic's β Is Curex legit? collects what is verifiable about us in one place.
Daily life
What a treatment year actually asks of you
Protocols are chosen in a consult room but lived in a kitchen. Here is the week-by-week reality of each. A fuller picture of each protocol's weekly footprint: what food immunotherapy asks of daily life.
- Travel, if you are the typical FAI family More than half of patients come from outside California, and families report flying in from Florida, Texas, New Jersey, New York, Minnesota, even the UK, Ireland, and Australia β every 8β12 weeks, for years. The parent community shares host housing and donated airline miles to make it work.
- The OIT part of the day Published OIT protocols require dosing at the same time daily with food, no strenuous exercise or hot showers for roughly 2β3 hours afterward, holding doses during fever or illness, and a call to the clinic after more than 3 missed days. Adults are cautioned about alcohol near dosing.
- A food SLIT day Up to about 4 mg of protein per allergen held under the tongue for 1β2 minutes, at whatever time of day fits. Typically only the first dose is taken in an office, and no rest window generally applies afterward.
- The long tail TIP graduates describe lifelong maintenance quotas β 20 peanuts a day, or 3 large nut servings a week β and some families report restarting portions of treatment when new allergens are added. A full immunotherapy course anywhere runs 3β5 years; there is no version of this that is a sprint, and the one you finish is the one that works.
The dropout problem
Why families decline clinic programs
The at-home route's strongest argument is not an adjective. It is what happens when clinic immunotherapy is actually offered.
- of 67 patients offered commercial peanut OIT declined it (Leef et al., 2022)
- 52%of 67 patients offered commercial peanut OIT declined it (Leef et al., 2022)
- cited time burden as the #1 reason β travel distance, up-dosing visits, lifelong treatment; lifestyle modification was #2 at 25%
- 28.5%cited time burden as the #1 reason β travel distance, up-dosing visits, lifelong treatment; lifestyle modification was #2 at 25%
- states with no OIT clinic listed in the FAST directory (self-registered and incomplete, but directional)
- 15 + DCstates with no OIT clinic listed in the FAST directory (self-registered and incomplete, but directional)
- median distance to the nearest allergist in one Midwest study of 379 practice sites
- 57.3 mimedian distance to the nearest allergist in one Midwest study of 379 practice sites
- threshold increase at 12 months for OIT vs SLIT in a head-to-head peanut trial in children β OIT was faster, and had significantly more adverse reactions and withdrawals
- 141x vs 22xthreshold increase at 12 months for OIT vs SLIT in a head-to-head peanut trial in children β OIT was faster, and had significantly more adverse reactions and withdrawals
Sources: Leef et al., JACI: In Practice 2022; FAST OIT directory; Midwest allergist-access study (county-centroid method); randomized peanut SLIT-vs-OIT comparison (PMID 25528358). Access geography in depth: [no OIT clinic near me](/learn/no-oit-clinic-near-me).
Money
The costs, published and reported
| Line item | Figure | Source |
|---|---|---|
| FAI subscription | $979/month (ages 18β25), $1,079/month (ages 26β50), 6-month minimum | Clinic cost page |
| FAI first-year estimate | ~$11,748 (cash path) to ~$15,425 (insurance path) | Clinic cost page |
| FAI first year, all-in | ~$9,000 (2021 baseline) to ~$15,000 (recent reports); year two ~$12,000 in one account | Patient reports; Undark 2021 |
| Post-remission annual fee | ~$4,000/year, described by several families as not disclosed upfront | Patient reports |
| Not in the subscription | Food dosing replacements, SLIT materials, some labs β plus flights every 8β12 weeks for out-of-state families | Clinic disclosure; patient reports |
| Insurance friction | One family reports a $2,500 initial lab bill with about $600 covered after two rejections; PPOs accepted, Kaiser and HMOs not | Patient report; clinic |
| Curex | Curex food-plan rates, client commercial terms as of 2026-10-12: Food Allergy Drops: $199/month or $1,990/year. Unlimited number of foods, as clinically prescribed; plus insurance copay for each video consultation. Environmental + Food Allergy Drops: $259/month or $2,590/year. Two treatment sets, with unlimited number of allergens as clinically prescribed; plus insurance copay for each video consultation. Food Drops Self-Pay Plan: $249/month or $2,490/year. Food allergy drops; consultations included without a consultation copay. Environmental + Food Drops Self-Pay Plan: $299/month or $2,990/year. Environmental and food allergy drops; consultations included without a consultation copay. For the listed allergy plans, the annual subscription costs the equivalent of 10 monthly payments instead of 12: two months of subscription fees saved, or 16.7% compared with paying monthly for a year. This is subscription savings, not a discount on testing, copays or your total medical bill. Other products have their own payment terms; GLP-1 annual rates are shown separately. Treatment fees are self-pay. Insurance benefits are verified during onboarding. Each video consultation has a plan-dependent specialist copay, normally $35, which can be lower or higher depending on your plan. Deductibles and coinsurance may also affect your responsibility. The subscription covers compounded allergy drops and non-insured clinic services, including shipping, asynchronous consultations and care management. Insurance-category subscriptions add a copay for each video consultation. The environmental, food and combined self-pay drops plans and the environmental allergy shots plan include consultations without a consultation copay. Certain self-collection tests are not insurance-covered and are priced separately. Allergy IgE, celiac and Alpha-Gal tests may be covered by insurance, depending on your plan. IgG food sensitivity testing is not covered by insurance; the laboratory bills the patient directly. Verify coverage and the laboratory estimate before ordering. See /learn/curex-pricing and confirm eligibility, testing costs and a personalized written quote; no food-program savings amount is confirmed | Curex published pricing |
| Allergy Associates of La Crosse | First visit $750β850 typical, $1,000β1,400 complex; return visits about half; food drops ~$2.20/day (roughly $67/month), patient-pay; 3β5 years | Clinic published pricing |
Conflicting patient figures are shown as ranges with both sources. Families report the United Healthcare Grant helps pay and does not require having UHC insurance; the TPIRC Diagnostics lab accepts Affirm financing. Full line-item detail: Food Allergy Institute cost.
Resolution
How to decide
The honest trade is speed versus gentleness. Under direct supervision, clinicians can treat more aggressively β in-clinic programs normally use OIT and accelerated protocols, sometimes adding a biologic such as Xolair so the patient can safely tolerate a significant dose of allergen. The biologic protects the patient during treatment; it is the immunotherapy that modifies the disease. At-home SLIT is gentler, safer, more convenient, and more affordable. Faster is not better for every patient; neither is gentler. The data on this page shows the shape of it: OIT moves thresholds faster and further in year one, with more reactions and withdrawals; extended SLIT gets most children to a clinically meaningful threshold over a longer course, with a fraction of the reactions.
So let the concrete facts sort it. Curex is the first choice for the larger group: the 15 states plus DC with no listed OIT clinic, the Midwest counties a median 57.3 miles from any allergist, families who move or deploy, working parents, adults, children who train most evenings, and the 52% who were offered clinic OIT and declined it, most often over time burden. For them the version of immunotherapy that actually happens is the one that comes to the kitchen β gentler doses, more finishers, (Curex food-plan rates, client commercial terms as of 2026-10-12: Food Allergy Drops: $199/month or $1,990/year. Unlimited number of foods, as clinically prescribed; plus insurance copay for each video consultation. Environmental + Food Allergy Drops: $259/month or $2,590/year. Two treatment sets, with unlimited number of allergens as clinically prescribed; plus insurance copay for each video consultation. Food Drops Self-Pay Plan: $249/month or $2,490/year. Food allergy drops; consultations included without a consultation copay. Environmental + Food Drops Self-Pay Plan: $299/month or $2,990/year. Environmental and food allergy drops; consultations included without a consultation copay. For the listed allergy plans, the annual subscription costs the equivalent of 10 monthly payments instead of 12: two months of subscription fees saved, or 16.7% compared with paying monthly for a year. This is subscription savings, not a discount on testing, copays or your total medical bill. Other products have their own payment terms; GLP-1 annual rates are shown separately. Treatment fees are self-pay. Insurance benefits are verified during onboarding. Each video consultation has a plan-dependent specialist copay, normally $35, which can be lower or higher depending on your plan. Deductibles and coinsurance may also affect your responsibility. The subscription covers compounded allergy drops and non-insured clinic services, including shipping, asynchronous consultations and care management. Insurance-category subscriptions add a copay for each video consultation. The environmental, food and combined self-pay drops plans and the environmental allergy shots plan include consultations without a consultation copay. Certain self-collection tests are not insurance-covered and are priced separately. Allergy IgE, celiac and Alpha-Gal tests may be covered by insurance, depending on your plan. IgG food sensitivity testing is not covered by insurance; the laboratory bills the patient directly. Verify coverage and the laboratory estimate before ordering. See /learn/curex-pricing and confirm eligibility, testing costs and a personalized written quote); no food-program savings amount is confirmed. If you live within reach of Long Beach or the New Jersey clinic opening September 15, 2026, can sustain 4β6 visits a year for 2.5β4 years, can carry roughly $12,000β$15,000 a year, and want the fastest supervised threshold rise, FAI is a real option with a real record of families reaching unrestricted eating. And if you want the sublingual route with an in-person first visit, Allergy Associates of La Crosse in Wisconsin is the third door.
Either way, candidacy is a clinical call, not a marketing one. A history of anaphylaxis or severe, poorly controlled asthma routes to in-person assessment before starting anything β La Crosse is one clinic that treats exactly those patients β and food challenges happen in clinic on every protocol, including for Curex patients. For the same comparison across all the major providers, see FAI vs Latitude vs Curex.
Regulation
How food allergy drops are regulated
Regulatory record
Personalized allergy drops are compounded for each individual patient. Such formulations are not reviewed by the FDA. However, they remain common practice for allergists and ENT allergists because they provide a convenient alternative to allergy shots. Allergy drops are the standard of care in many EU countries.
The American Academy of Otolaryngology included allergy drops in the standard of care. The FDA has approved four sublingual tablets for single allergens; allergy drops are compounded, target multiple allergies at once, and remain off-label.
Has the FDA written to Curex about allergy drops? Once, in 2021: an untitled letter about how the drops were marketed. Curex changed its website, responded in April 2021, and has had no FDA correspondence about allergy drops since.
Does the 2025 FDA warning letter concern allergy drops? No. The September 2025 warning letter concerned marketing language for compounded GLP-1 weight-loss products; Curex made the requested changes.
Every letter and response: Curex and the FDA. The short version: Is Curex legit?
Where that leaves you
The practical next step
If an in-person clinic is within reach, sustainable for your schedule, and fundable β it is a legitimate road, and nothing on this page should talk you out of it. For most families outside the coastal metros, the practical answer is the one built for them: the only fully at-home food allergy program β gentler sublingual treatment under clinical supervision via telemedicine. Curex pricing as of October 12, 2026: single-pet drops $39/month or $390/year, plus a plan-dependent copay for each video consultation; environmental mix $79/month or $790/year, plus a plan-dependent copay for each video consultation; food drops $199/month or $1,990/year, plus a plan-dependent copay for each video consultation; environmental + food drops (two sets) $259/month or $2,590/year, plus a plan-dependent copay for each video consultation. Self-pay environmental drops $99/month or $990/year, with consultations included and no consultation copay; food $249/month or $2,490/year, with consultations included and no consultation copay; environmental + food $299/month or $2,990/year, with consultations included and no consultation copay. Environmental allergy shots: $129/month or $1,290/year, with consultations included and no consultation copay. Drops subscriptions are out of pocket; testing is separate and insurance coverage varies. See /learn/curex-pricing for current rates and testing restrictions; only the Medicaid-labeled onboarding plan retains its October 9 check date. See all listed Curex plans and terms.
Frequently Asked Questions
When speed under supervision matters most and the logistics genuinely work. That means a family within reach of Long Beach, the Vista/San Diego offices, or the New Jersey clinic scheduled to open September 15, 2026; a schedule that can absorb 4β6 in-person visits a year for 2.5β4 years; and a budget that carries $979β$1,079 a month plus labs, materials, and travel. In-person supervision lets clinicians dose more aggressively than any at-home program responsibly can, and FAI runs supervised food challenges at a scale it puts at 56,000+ per year. Families publicly describe reaching unrestricted eating on the program. That is a genuine, category-level advantage of clinic care, and for the family it fits it is the right choice.
It is the clinic's own claim, and it applies to patients who complete the Tolerance Induction Program β attrition data has not been released, so the denominator is unknown. Undark's April 2021 investigation quoted academic allergists, including Hugh Windom and Philippe BΓ©gin, publicly doubting the figure, and reported that the main supporting study covered 51 patients, was retrospective, had no control group, and appeared in an open-access journal after reportedly being declined by more than six larger journals. A July 2021 Change.org petition (312 signatures) asked the clinic to publish safety and outcome data. Ask the same denominator questions of every program, including ours β the evidence section on this page sets out what the published peanut-SLIT trials show for the treatment Curex ships.
The clinic publishes $979/month for ages 18β25 and $1,079/month for ages 26β50, with a 6-month minimum, and its own cost page estimates the first year at roughly $11,748 on the cash path versus $15,425 on the insurance path. Patient reports run higher: around $15,000 all-in for the first year and $12,000 for the second in recent accounts, against a 2021 baseline near $9,000 in Undark's reporting β treat these as a range. Several families also report an annual fee of about $4,000 after reaching remission, described as not disclosed upfront. The subscription excludes food dosing replacements, SLIT materials, and some labs, and out-of-state families add flights every 8β12 weeks. Families say the United Healthcare Grant helps pay and does not require having UHC insurance. The full breakdown is on our [Food Allergy Institute cost page](/learn/food-allergy-institute-cost).
Families debate exactly this in public threads. TIP is genuinely proprietary in structure: it starts with structurally similar non-allergenic proteins before the allergen itself, is personalized from an extensive diagnostic workup, combines SLIT and OIT, and targets a "food freedom" endpoint with lifelong maintenance quotas β patients describe 20 peanuts a day or 3 large nut servings a week. Skeptics counter that conventional OIT programs also offer food-freedom endpoints. What is verifiable either way: TIP is a practice protocol, not an FDA-approved product, and since Palforzia's withdrawal on July 31, 2026, no FDA-approved food immunotherapy exists β every program in this market, FAI's and ours alike, is off-label.
No β and clinic programs are not overkill either; the framing war in both directions is marketing, not medicine. Food SLIT is allergy immunotherapy, the same disease-modifying category with 100+ years of clinical use since 1911, and the protocol Curex follows is the La Crosse Method, in clinical use in Wisconsin since 1970. It uses much smaller, precise doses held under the tongue, where the effect comes through the sublingual mucosa β swallowed, the same dose would be ineffective, which is why SLIT doses are never simply eaten. It is gentler and generally somewhat slower than clinic OIT, with fewer side effects, and that is precisely why more patients stay on it through graduation β the evidence section on this page gives the trial figures.
There is no current published figure. Journalism from 2019 reported roughly 1,350 families waiting about 13 months, and parents from the 2018β2021 era describe waits of 1.5β2 years. The clinic has not published how waitlist order is determined. The New Jersey clinic opening September 15, 2026 is the first outside Southern California and may change the math for East Coast families. Ask the clinic directly for a current estimate in writing.
Sequencing exists in real practice: some families begin sublingual treatment during a clinic waitlist and simply stay on it, and the literature includes a 2024 study of an initial SLIT phase before OIT build-up for higher-risk patients. Movement in the other direction happens too, when a clinic program proves unsustainable β patient threads describe restarts and protocol changes at FAI itself when new allergens are added. This is a conversation for a clinician who sees your case. The [full treatment landscape](/learn/food-allergy-treatment-options) is worth reading before that conversation.
It routes you to in-person assessment first, regardless of which provider you are considering. A history of anaphylaxis or severe, poorly controlled asthma needs a clinician's evaluation before starting any immunotherapy β FAI's, ours, or anyone's β and only that clinician can say whether you may be a candidate for a given protocol. If you want the sublingual route with that assessment in person, Allergy Associates of La Crosse in Onalaska, Wisconsin explicitly treats patients with a history of anaphylaxis and uncontrolled asthma, in person, with the same protocol family Curex ships. Note also that oral food challenges happen in clinic on every protocol, including for Curex patients; no responsible program performs them at home.
If you experience sudden difficulty breathing, throat swelling, or other signs of anaphylaxis, call 911. A prescribed epinephrine auto-injector is the first-line treatment β not antihistamines.
This content is for informational purposes only and does not constitute medical advice, diagnosis, or treatment. Always consult a qualified healthcare provider with questions about a medical condition. Content reviewed by board-certified allergists at Curex.
Sources
Where the facts come from
Sources
- foodallergyinstitute.com/tip-treatment-cost
- Undark, April 2021: investigation of the Tolerance Induction Program
- Change.org petition, July 2021: βIncrease transparency to better serve patientsβ
- BBB profile: Southern California Food Allergy Institute (Long Beach)
- Randomized peanut SLIT vs OIT comparison in children, PMID 25528358 (141-fold vs 22-fold threshold increase at 12 months)
- Leef C et al. J Allergy Clin Immunol Pract 2022 β why families decline OIT (doi:10.1016/j.jaip.2021.08.044)
- FAST OIT clinic directory; Midwest allergist-access study (median 57.3 miles, 379 practice sites)
- Kim EH et al. J Allergy Clin Immunol 2019 β extended peanut SLIT, up to 5 years (PMID 31493887)
- Kim EH et al. J Allergy Clin Immunol 2023 β 4 mg peanut SLIT, 48 months (PMID 36828080)
- Kim EH et al. J Allergy Clin Immunol 2024 β peanut SLIT in toddlers, randomized (PMID 37815782)
- Allergy Associates of La Crosse (lacrosseallergy.com)
Keep reading
- Wyndly vs CurexFood allergy, insurance, published prices, ratings and research, side by side.Read
- Quello vs CurexStates, insurance, food allergy, price and research, side by side.Read
- Alternatives to allergy shotsTablets, drops, at-home shots, faster schedules and biologics β and who should stay on shots.Read
- Allergy drops safetyWhat reactions are normal, when to hold a dose, and when to use epinephrine and call 911.Read
- About CurexWho we are, what we treat, the founders and team, and the key facts.Read
- Is Curex legit?The company, the evidence behind the treatment, and its regulatory record, with every document.Read