TIP versus standard OIT
The most common question families ask about Food Allergy Institute β and one where the honest answer is mostly about what has and has not been published.
Both are allergy immunotherapy: graduated exposure that retrains the immune system, the only approach that modifies the disease itself. Standard OIT escalates the real allergen from day one and has decades of published, replicable literature. TIP, Food Allergy Institute's proprietary combination of SLIT and OIT, starts with structurally similar proteins and personalizes dosing; the clinic reports a 99% success rate after completing TIP and a reaction rate under 1%, but its protocol is unpublished, its main supporting study covered 51 patients, and no head-to-head comparison with well-run standard OIT exists. The practical differences are just as decisive: TIP runs 2.5β4 years at $979β$1,079 a month from a small number of clinics, while standard OIT is offered in roughly 35 states. The sublingual routes are the third road: Curex, the only fully at-home food allergy program, treats in every state with gentler milligram doses under the tongue, and Allergy Associates of La Crosse offers the same treatment in person in Wisconsin. Curex is one of the providers in this market β the only fully at-home food allergy program β so verify every figure here against the sources.
Medically reviewed by Dr. Chet Tharpe, M.D. Β· Last reviewed September 2026
Common ground
Both are immunotherapy β that part is settled
Allergy immunotherapy is the only disease-modifying treatment for allergies: it retrains the immune system rather than managing symptoms, has over 100 years of clinical use behind it, and typically takes 3β5 years of graduated exposure. TIP and standard OIT are both implementations of it. So the comparison is not "does TIP work at all" β graduated exposure works. It is whether TIP's proprietary sequencing and diagnostics outperform a well-run standard protocol by enough to justify its cost, its duration, and its single-network availability.
The timing of the question matters too. Since Palforzia's withdrawal on July 31, 2026, no FDA-approved food immunotherapy exists β TIP, standard OIT, and every at-home program are all practiced off-label, built from the same century of immunotherapy science. The post-Palforzia treatment landscape is worth understanding before comparing any two programs in it.
Curex is one of the providers in this market β the only fully at-home food allergy program β so verify every figure here against the sources.
The actual differences
Where the two roads diverge
Strip away the branding and four differences remain: what goes in the mouth first, who can see the protocol, where you can get it, and what the evidence looks like.
The published road
- The allergen from day oneEscalating swallowed doses of the real allergen, built up under in-clinic physician observation, often across multiple allergens at once.
- Published and replicableDecades of peer-reviewed literature; offered off-label at specialist centers in roughly 35 states, per the FAST clinic directory.
- Fast to maintenance, then lifelongSome practices reach maintenance in 6β12 months (Latitude reports an average of about 8.4 months), followed by lifelong daily maintenance dosing.
- Known reaction burdenEffective, with meaningful published reaction rates: about 5% of doses caused a reaction across 1,000+ patients at one large practice, mostly mild (AAAAI 2025).
The proprietary road
- Similar proteins firstBegins with structurally similar, non-allergenic proteins before the allergen itself, personalized from an extensive diagnostic workup; a combination of SLIT and OIT.
- Proprietary, one networkUnpublished protocol available only at Food Allergy Institute clinics: Long Beach and Vista in California, plus a New Jersey clinic that opens September 15, 2026.
- Slow by design2.5β4 years typical, complex cases longer (one parent reported being told 6β8 years), across 4β6 in-person visits per year; the endpoint is "food freedom" with lifelong maintenance quotas.
- Reported, not verifiedThe clinic claims 99% success after completing TIP and a sub-1% reaction rate; the figures are self-reported and independent confirmation does not exist.
Side by side
The four routes in one table
Clinic-published figures are marked as such; patient-reported figures come from public threads and reviews and should be read as reports, not audited data.
| Standard OIT | TIP (Food Allergy Institute) | In-person food SLIT (La Crosse) | At-home food SLIT (Curex) | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Method | Escalating swallowed doses of the real allergen from day one | Structurally similar proteins first, then the allergen; combination of SLIT and OIT, personalized per patient | Sublingual drops of the allergen under the La Crosse Method Protocol, in use since 1970 | Sublingual drops of the allergen in small, precise doses; the effect comes through the tissue under the tongue |
| Protocol status | Published, peer-reviewed, replicable by any trained allergist | Proprietary and unpublished; available only inside the FAI network | The clinic's own published protocol, followed by a national network of clinics | Personalized sublingual drops, compounded by a licensed pharmacy from FDA-approved extracts, prescribed off-label |
| Availability | Specialist centers in ~35 states (FAST directory, self-registered) | Long Beach and Vista, CA; New Jersey since September 15, 2026; >50% of patients travel from outside California | One clinic, Onalaska, Wisconsin; first visit in person, rechecks in person or virtual; patients travel from across the country | Every state, from home; no clinic within reach required |
| Published outcomes | Peanut head-to-head: ~141-fold threshold increase at 12 months; Latitude reports 94% desensitization across all ages (internal data, 2026) | Clinic claims 99% success after completing TIP; main published support is a 51-patient retrospective study with no control group | No single success-rate figure; independent Validation Institute review of its outcome data; helped launch the NIH peanut-SLIT research at Duke and UNC | NIH/UNC peanut-SLIT trials: 67β70% of children tolerated 750β800 mg+ after extended treatment; toddler RCT median 4,443 mg vs 143 mg placebo (PMIDs 31493887, 36828080, 37815782) |
| Reaction burden | ~5% of doses caused any reaction across 1,000+ OIT patients, mostly mild (AAAAI 2025) | Clinic claims <1% reaction rate; patient threads report reactions and one documented dropout cause, EoE during dairy treatment | No clinic-specific rate published that we could find; same sublingual dose class as the UNC trials | In the UNC trials, reactions with 0.5β4.8% of doses, mostly transient mouth itching; no dose needed epinephrine |
| Time to endpoint | 6β12 months to maintenance at some practices (avg ~8.4 months at Latitude), then lifelong daily maintenance | 2.5β4 years typical; complex cases longer; then lifelong maintenance quotas (patients describe 20 peanuts/day) | 3β5 years; rechecks every 3β6 months | 3β5 years, the typical full course; generally a bit slower than clinic OIT |
| Visit cadence | Frequent in-clinic up-dosing visits during the build phase | 4β6 in-person visits per year; out-of-state families report flying in every 8β12 weeks | First visit in Onalaska (2β4 hours); rechecks every 3β6 months, in person or virtual | Video visits and text; testing by local lab, at-home phlebotomy or self-collection kit; drops shipped to the door |
| Cost signals | Program fees patient-reported at $4,000β$5,000+ (Latitude, by region), visits often billable in-network | $979β$1,079/month, 6-month minimum; clinic's own first-year estimates: ~$11,748 cash, ~$15,425 insurance path | First visit $750β850 typical, $1,000β1,400 complex; return visits about half; food drops ~$2.20/day patient-pay | $199/month plan; environmental allergy plans from $79/month; typically $10,000+ saved over a course vs in-person programs |
| Insurance | Diagnostics and visits typically covered in-network; the program fee is a non-covered service | PPO plans accepted (Aetna, Anthem Blue Cross, Cigna, Blue Shield CA, Health Net); not Kaiser, not HMOs | Drops are patient-pay; ask the clinic about visit billing | Compounded drops are generally out-of-pocket; monthly plan with financing |
Sources: foodallergyinstitute.com and latitudefoodallergycare.com (checked September 2026), the FAST OIT directory, AAAAI 2025 abstract data, and patient reports from public threads. In-person food allergy programs of either kind can cost $10,000+ per year.
The evidence question
What has been published, and what hasn't
FAI's public claims are striking: a 99% success rate after completing TIP, a reaction rate under 1% for the duration of treatment, 56,000+ food challenges and introductions completed annually, 130+ allergens assessed. The main published support behind those claims, per Undark's April 2021 investigation, is a 51-patient retrospective study with no control group, published in an open-access journal after reportedly being declined by more than six larger journals. Academic allergists quoted by Undark doubted the headline figure β Philippe BΓ©gin called the 99% claim "just ridiculous" β and a July 2021 Change.org petition with 312 signatures asked the clinic to publish safety and outcome data, disclose IRB oversight, and disclose the founder's ownership of affiliated labs whose products many TIP patients are required to use. The Better Business Bureau rates the business C+, not accredited, with one unanswered complaint. These are transparency questions, not proof the protocol fails.
The patient record runs in both directions and deserves equal weight. Families report real results: "my son now can eat whole egg, 4 oz milk, and 16 peanuts"; "in remission for 5 years, I can eat anything"; a food freedom visit after 2.5 years. Others report the harder side: attrition data is not released, long-time observers say many families drop out, restarts have been reported when adding new allergens, and one documented dropout cause is eosinophilic esophagitis developing during dairy treatment β a known risk of oral immunotherapy generally, not something unique to TIP.
Standard OIT's ledger is the mirror image: published, replicable, and with its warts fully visible. The peanut head-to-head found a far larger threshold rise for OIT at 12 months β but with significantly more adverse reactions and withdrawals than SLIT in the same trial. Large practices publish their numbers: Latitude reports 94% desensitization across all ages and 98% for children under 4 (internal data, 2026), with about 5% of doses causing any reaction, mostly mild. Internal data deserves the same scrutiny as FAI's claims. Ask every provider on this page, including Curex, for their numbers and their sources. Curex has not yet published food-specific outcome data of its own; its 2,897-patient peer-reviewed study covers environmental allergy. The food program rests on the published peanut-SLIT trials that follow. In NIH-funded studies at UNC, 48 children aged 1β11 on 2 mg peanut SLIT for up to five years: 67% could consume 750 mg or more of peanut protein at challenge, 25% passed the full 5,000 mg challenge, and no dose required epinephrine (PMID 31493887). On 4 mg for 48 months, with 87% of 54 children completing, 70% reached clinically significant desensitization above 800 mg and 36% full desensitization at 5,000 mg, with reactions after 0.5% of doses (PMID 36828080). In a randomized trial of 50 toddlers aged 1β4, the median tolerated dose after 36 months was 4,443 mg against 143 mg on placebo, 60% passed the challenge against none, and 48% showed remission after three months off treatment (PMID 37815782).
Money
What each actually costs
Neither road is cheap, but the shapes differ: TIP is a multi-year subscription with extras; standard OIT is typically a one-time program fee plus insurance-billable visits.
- TIP subscription $979/month (ages 18β25) or $1,079/month (ages 26β50), 6-month minimum, per FAI's published pricing. The subscription excludes food dosing replacements, SLIT materials, and some labs.
- TIP first year FAI's own cost page estimates roughly $11,748 on the cash path and $15,425 on the insurance path. Parents in public threads report around $15,000 all-in for year one and around $12,000 for year two; one family reported a $2,500 initial lab bill of which insurance covered about $600 after two rejections.
- TIP after graduation Several families report an annual fee of roughly $4,000 after reaching remission, described in threads as not disclosed upfront. Multiply by lifelong maintenance when budgeting β see the full Food Allergy Institute cost breakdown.
- Standard OIT program fees At Latitude, patients report a one-time program fee of $4,000 (Bay Area) to over $5,000 (New York) β shown as a range because reports conflict by region and year. Visits and diagnostics are typically covered in-network; the fee itself is a non-covered service, FSA/HSA eligible, with payment plans.
- Travel, the hidden line item More than half of FAI's patients travel from outside California β families fly in from Florida, Texas, New Jersey, New York, Minnesota, and abroad, every 8β12 weeks by their own accounts, and the parent community shares host housing and donated airline miles to cope.
- Help that exists Families report the United Healthcare grant helps pay for TIP and does not require having UHC insurance. FAI's affiliated lab accepts Affirm financing. FAI accepts PPO plans (Aetna, Anthem Blue Cross, Cigna, Blue Shield CA, Health Net) but not Kaiser or HMOs.
In-person food allergy programs can cost $10,000+ per year of treatment in either model. All patient-reported figures above are from public threads and reviews, not audited billing data.
Daily life
What each asks of a week, and of a year
Protocols are lived, not just chosen. The daily rules and the travel calendar decide whether a family finishes.
- An OIT day Dose at the same time daily, with food. No strenuous exercise or hot showers for about 2β3 hours afterward. Hold the dose during fever or illness; more than 3 missed days means calling the clinic before resuming. Adults are cautioned about alcohol near dosing.
- A TIP year 4β6 in-person visits to Long Beach, Vista, or the New Jersey clinic. For the majority of families who live outside Southern California, patient accounts describe flights every 8β12 weeks, for 2.5β4 years.
- Both, always in clinic Oral food challenges happen in clinic on every protocol β including for Curex patients. No responsible program does the eating test at home.
- After graduation Standard OIT ends in lifelong daily maintenance dosing. TIP graduates describe maintenance quotas such as 20 peanuts a day or three large nut servings a week. "Done" means "maintaining," on either road β a fuller picture is in what food immunotherapy asks of daily life.
The decisive constraint
Reachability is the number most families hit first
Before comparing protocols, check whether either is realistically reachable from your zip code β and whether your family can sustain it for years. The published access data is stark.
- states with no OIT clinic listed in the FAST directory (self-registered, so incomplete β but indicative)
- 15 + DCstates with no OIT clinic listed in the FAST directory (self-registered, so incomplete β but indicative)
- median distance to the nearest allergist in a Midwest access study (IQR 30.1β109.8)
- 57.3 mimedian distance to the nearest allergist in a Midwest access study (IQR 30.1β109.8)
- of 67 patients offered commercial peanut OIT declined it (Leef et al., JACI: In Practice, 2022)
- 52%of 67 patients offered commercial peanut OIT declined it (Leef et al., JACI: In Practice, 2022)
- cited time burden β travel distance, up-dosing visits, lifelong treatment β as the #1 reason for declining
- 28.5%cited time burden β travel distance, up-dosing visits, lifelong treatment β as the #1 reason for declining
Lifestyle modification was the #2 reason at 25%. TIP concentrates the geography problem further: one proprietary protocol, reachable in person at three locations in two states. More on the access map at [no OIT clinic near me](/learn/no-oit-clinic-near-me).
The third road
Where this resolves
If you live near Long Beach or the new New Jersey clinic and can sustain $979β$1,079 a month for 2.5β4 years, TIP is a real option with committed clinicians and attributed patient successes β you are choosing reported results over published evidence, with eyes open. If you live in one of the roughly 35 states with a standard OIT program and can manage the up-dosing calendar, standard OIT is the published, replicable road, faster to maintenance and with its reaction burden honestly documented. Both are legitimate implementations of immunotherapy. Both are also in-person programs that can cost $10,000+ per year, and the published data above shows time burden is the single biggest reason families decline this category of treatment altogether.
The sublingual routes are the third road, and for the families they fit, the first choice. Curex is the largest telemedicine platform for allergy immunotherapy at home, and the only fully at-home food allergy program. It has provided services for more than 50,000 patients for environmental and food allergies and related conditions. Food SLIT uses much smaller, more precise doses under the tongue. Because the dose is smaller it is gentler, with fewer side effects, and generally a bit slower than clinic oral immunotherapy β and because fewer side effects mean fewer dropouts, more patients who start it finish it. Food SLIT works through the sublingual mucosa β swallowed, the same dose would be ineffective. In the published peanut head-to-head it raised tolerated thresholds about 22-fold at 12 months versus OIT's 141-fold, so it is genuinely slower β but OIT had significantly more adverse reactions and withdrawals in that same trial. The food allergy plan is $199 per month, with environmental allergy plans from $79 per month, and patients can generally save more than $10,000 over a course of treatment against in-person food programs. It is a first choice for families outside the coastal metros the clinics serve β Curex treats in every state, from home β and for families who move, travel or deploy, working parents and shift workers, adults, children in sport, and families who could not sustain a harsher protocol.
Allergy Associates of La Crosse is the same treatment with a different way in: a first visit in Onalaska, Wisconsin, then the drops at home, rechecks every 3β6 months in person or virtual, and in-person treatment of patients with a history of anaphylaxis or uncontrolled asthma β which is where those patients belong before any immunotherapy starts. Food challenges happen in clinic on every protocol, Curex's included. See all providers' published figures side by side.
Where that leaves you
The practical next step
If an in-person clinic is within reach, sustainable for your schedule, and fundable β it is a legitimate road, and nothing on this page should talk you out of it. For most families outside the coastal metros, the practical answer is the one built for them: the only fully at-home food allergy program β gentler sublingual treatment under clinical supervision via telemedicine, with monthly plans and financing from $79/month on some treatment plans.
βFrequently Asked Questions
Structurally, TIP is a proprietary combination of SLIT and OIT with a distinctive on-ramp: it begins with structurally similar, non-allergenic proteins before the allergen itself, personalized from an extensive diagnostic workup. Families argue this exact question in public threads β one side says "you get bite-proof from OIT while TIP offers food freedom," the other counters that there are absolutely OIT programs offering unrestricted eating as the goal. Both are graduated-exposure immunotherapy, so the mechanism is shared. What is genuinely different is the sequencing, the diagnostics, the price, and the fact that TIP exists only inside one clinic network. No published head-to-head study settles whether those differences change outcomes.
Nobody outside the clinic can honestly say. FAI claims a 99% success rate after completing TIP and a reaction rate under 1% for the duration of treatment; standard OIT's published literature shows strong desensitization β the peanut head-to-head found a large threshold rise within 12 months β alongside a meaningful reaction burden. But TIP's protocol is proprietary, its main published support is a 51-patient retrospective study with no control group, and no direct comparison with a well-run standard protocol has ever been published. "Unproven against the alternative" cuts both ways: it neither validates TIP's premium nor disproves the program.
The clinic's reported sub-1% reaction rate is dramatically lower than published OIT rates β one large OIT practice reported about 5% of doses causing any reaction across 1,000+ patients, the overwhelming majority mild (AAAAI 2025). If independently confirmed, that would be a real advantage, and the logic of starting below the allergen's trigger threshold is plausible. Independent confirmation does not exist yet. Patients in public threads have also reported reactions during TIP, and a documented dropout cause is eosinophilic esophagitis developing during dairy treatment β a known risk of oral immunotherapy generally, not unique to TIP.
Because it is proprietary. The method has not been published for other clinicians to study or replicate, which families in public threads regularly ask about, and which a July 2021 Change.org petition (312 signatures) formally requested along with published safety and outcome data. Standard OIT protocols, by contrast, are published and offered off-label at specialist centers in roughly 35 states. That difference β a handful of clinics running one unpublished method versus a replicable protocol available across most of the country β is itself a large part of the choice.
FAI publishes $979 a month for ages 18β25 and $1,079 for ages 26β50, with a 6-month minimum, and its own cost page estimates the first year at roughly $11,748 on the cash path or $15,425 on the insurance path. Parents in public threads report around $15,000 all-in for the first year, around $12,000 for the second, and an annual fee of about $4,000 after reaching remission that several families describe as not disclosed upfront. Standard OIT varies by clinic: at Latitude, patients report a one-time program fee of $4,000β$5,000+ depending on region, with visits typically billable in-network but the fee itself a non-covered service. Either way, in-person food allergy programs can cost $10,000+ per year of treatment.
Neither, and since Palforzia was withdrawn from the US market on July 31, 2026, no FDA-approved food immunotherapy exists at all β every program in this market, clinic and at-home alike, is off-label. Off-label does not mean unsafe; it is how most food immunotherapy has always been practiced. Some patients report the clinic saying TIP is "under FDA review," but a clinical protocol is not a product the FDA reviews for approval, so treat status claims cautiously. The only FDA-approved food allergy medication is Xolair (February 2024, ages 1+), which reduces reaction severity on accidental exposure but does not desensitize.
TIP typically runs 2.5β4 years, with complex cases longer β one parent reported being told 6β8 years β over 4β6 in-person visits annually. Standard OIT can reach maintenance dosing in 6β12 months at some practices (Latitude reports an average of about 8.4 months), which is much faster, but maintenance itself is then lifelong daily dosing. TIP graduates describe ongoing quotas too, such as 20 peanuts a day or three large nut servings a week. Allergy immunotherapy as a field typically takes 3β5 years for a full course, so both programs sit inside a multi-year commitment either way.
It is the third road, and for many families the first choice. Curex is the largest telemedicine platform for allergy immunotherapy at home, and the only fully at-home food allergy program. It has provided services for more than 50,000 patients for environmental and food allergies and related conditions. Food SLIT uses much smaller, more precise doses under the tongue. Because the dose is smaller it is gentler, with fewer side effects, and generally a bit slower than clinic oral immunotherapy β and because fewer side effects mean fewer dropouts, more patients who start it finish it. The treatment has NIH-funded, peer-reviewed peanut trials behind it (PMIDs 31493887, 36828080, 37815782), set out in the evidence section of this page. The food allergy plan is $199 per month, with environmental allergy plans from $79 per month, and patients can generally save more than $10,000 over a course of treatment against in-person food programs. It is a first choice for families outside the coastal metros the clinics serve β Curex treats in every state, from home β and for families who move, travel or deploy, working parents and shift workers, adults, children in sport, and families who could not sustain a harsher protocol. Candidacy is clinical: a history of anaphylaxis or severe, poorly controlled asthma is assessed in person before any immunotherapy starts β Allergy Associates of La Crosse is one clinic that treats exactly these patients.
If you experience sudden difficulty breathing, throat swelling, or other signs of anaphylaxis, call 911. A prescribed epinephrine auto-injector is the first-line treatment β not antihistamines.
This content is for informational purposes only and does not constitute medical advice, diagnosis, or treatment. Always consult a qualified healthcare provider with questions about a medical condition. Content reviewed by board-certified allergists at Curex.
Keep reading
- Is Curex legit?The company, the evidence, and the concerns worth knowing β including every FDA letter Curex has received, and what was done about each.Read
- Curex and the FDATwo separate matters: the 2021 allergy-drops questions and the 2025β2026 GLP-1 marketing letters, with what Curex changed.Read
- How Curex worksThe treatment process end to end, from at-home testing to daily drops.Read
- Curex reviewsWhat patients actually report β both clusters, including the complaints.Read
- Is Curex worth the money?Plan pricing against allergy-shot costs, and who it is not worth it for.Read
- Evidence & guidelinesWhat the FDA approved, what the AAAAI/ACAAI practice parameter does and does not endorse, and what has been added since.Read