Insurance and TIP: what actually gets covered

The answer has three layers β€” what the clinic accepts, what insurance actually pays, and what patients report when the two disagree. All three are on the public record.

Short answer

Partially, and less than families tend to hope. Food Allergy Institute lists accepted PPO plans β€” Aetna, Anthem Blue Cross, Cigna, Blue Shield of California, Health Net β€” and does not accept Kaiser or HMO plans. The monthly program subscription ($979–$1,079 by age band, 6-month minimum) is out-of-pocket by design, and it excludes food dosing replacements, SLIT materials, and some labs. The clinic's own cost page estimates a first year around $11,748 on the cash path and around $15,425 on the insurance path. Patients publicly report diagnostic lab bills rejected or partially covered β€” one cited $2,500 billed with about $600 paid. One route worth asking about: a United Healthcare grant that families say does not require UHC membership. This coverage shape β€” visits billable, program fees not β€” is the industry norm since Palforzia's withdrawal left no FDA-approved food immunotherapy at all. The at-home route shares that shape with a smaller uncovered layer: Curex, the only fully at-home food allergy program, publishes these prices: Curex food-plan rates, client commercial terms as of 2026-10-12: Food Allergy Drops: $199/month or $1,990/year. Unlimited number of foods, as clinically prescribed; plus insurance copay for each video consultation. Environmental + Food Allergy Drops: $259/month or $2,590/year. Two treatment sets, with unlimited number of allergens as clinically prescribed; plus insurance copay for each video consultation. Food Drops Self-Pay Plan: $249/month or $2,490/year. Food allergy drops; consultations included without a consultation copay. Environmental + Food Drops Self-Pay Plan: $299/month or $2,990/year. Environmental and food allergy drops; consultations included without a consultation copay. For the listed allergy plans, the annual subscription costs the equivalent of 10 monthly payments instead of 12: two months of subscription fees saved, or 16.7% compared with paying monthly for a year. This is subscription savings, not a discount on testing, copays or your total medical bill. Other products have their own payment terms; GLP-1 annual rates are shown separately. Treatment fees are self-pay. Insurance benefits are verified during onboarding. Each video consultation has a plan-dependent specialist copay, normally $35, which can be lower or higher depending on your plan. Deductibles and coinsurance may also affect your responsibility. The subscription covers compounded allergy drops and non-insured clinic services, including shipping, asynchronous consultations and care management. Insurance-category subscriptions add a copay for each video consultation. The environmental, food and combined self-pay drops plans and the environmental allergy shots plan include consultations without a consultation copay. Certain self-collection tests are not insurance-covered and are priced separately. Allergy IgE, celiac and Alpha-Gal tests may be covered by insurance, depending on your plan. IgG food sensitivity testing is not covered by insurance; the laboratory bills the patient directly. Verify coverage and the laboratory estimate before ordering. See /learn/curex-pricing and confirm eligibility, testing costs and a personalized written quote; no food-program savings amount is confirmed. Curex is the only fully at-home food allergy program in the US.

Medically reviewed by Dr. Neeta Ogden, MD, FACAAI Β· Last reviewed September 2026

What the bill looks like before insurance touches it

Every figure here is either published by the clinic (checked September 2026) or publicly reported by a patient, marked accordingly. Prices change; confirm current figures before enrolling.

Monthly subscription by age band, out-of-pocket, 6-month minimum (clinic-published)
$979–$1,079Monthly subscription by age band, out-of-pocket, 6-month minimum (clinic-published)
Clinic's own first-year estimate, cash path
~$11,748Clinic's own first-year estimate, cash path
Clinic's own first-year estimate, insurance path
~$15,425Clinic's own first-year estimate, insurance path
One family's initial lab bill vs what insurance paid, after two rejections (patient-reported)
$2,500 β†’ ~$600One family's initial lab bill vs what insurance paid, after two rejections (patient-reported)
Post-remission annual fee several families report, described as not disclosed upfront (patient-reported)
~$4,000/yrPost-remission annual fee several families report, described as not disclosed upfront (patient-reported)

What FAI accepts, in its own words

Two first years: cash vs insurance

FAI's cost page publishes both paths. Counterintuitively, its insurance-path estimate runs about $3,700 higher than its cash-path estimate for year one. Which is cheaper for you depends on your deductible and how your plan treats the labs β€” which is exactly why the estimate you rely on should be the one the billing office puts in writing for your plan.

Cash path

~$11,748 first-year estimate (clinic-published)

  • Subscription$979–$1,079/month by age band, 6-month minimum commitment.
  • Not includedFood dosing replacements, SLIT materials, and some labs are billed on top.
  • FinancingTPIRC Diagnostics, the affiliated lab, accepts Affirm financing for lab work.
Insurance path

~$15,425 first-year estimate (clinic-published)

  • What gets billedVisits and diagnostics go to your PPO; deductibles and coinsurance apply first.
  • What can go wrongClaims get rejected or partially paid β€” one family reported $2,500 billed, ~$600 covered, rejected twice (patient-reported).
  • Not billableThe subscription and excluded materials never touch insurance on either path.

What is covered, what is not, what is contested

What families report when the claims go in

These are individual accounts, not audits. Their proper use is as a checklist of what to confirm in writing before you enroll.

The affiliated-lab question

Four routes families use to shrink the out-of-pocket

Nobody's insurance covers a food immunotherapy program

The same coverage shape, minus two lines

What they offer

What this provider is known for, from the public record.

  • Clinic oral immunotherapy

    Faster, larger threshold rise

    In the one head-to-head peanut trial in children, oral immunotherapy raised the reaction threshold roughly 141-fold at 12 months against roughly 22-fold for sublingual drops (with more side effects and withdrawals).

    Source: Narisety 2015, PMID 25528358

  • Food Allergy Institute

    Supervised pace

    In-person supervision at 4–6 visits a year permits a pace no at-home program should attempt; the clinic publishes typical completion in 2.5–4 years.

    Source: foodallergyinstitute.com

  • Food Allergy Institute

    Food challenges built in, complex cases

    Supervised food challenges and introductions are part of the program rather than referred out, for ages 15 months to 50 years, including complex multi-allergen cases.

    Source: foodallergyinstitute.com

How food allergy drops are regulated

Personalized allergy drops are compounded for each individual patient. Such formulations are not reviewed by the FDA. However, they remain common practice for allergists and ENT allergists because they provide a convenient alternative to allergy shots. Allergy drops are the standard of care in many EU countries.

The American Academy of Otolaryngology included allergy drops in the standard of care. The FDA has approved four sublingual tablets for single allergens; allergy drops are compounded, target multiple allergies at once, and remain off-label.

Has the FDA written to Curex about allergy drops? Once, in 2021: an untitled letter about how the drops were marketed. Curex changed its website, responded in April 2021, and has had no FDA correspondence about allergy drops since.

Does the 2025 FDA warning letter concern allergy drops? No. The September 2025 warning letter concerned marketing language for compounded GLP-1 weight-loss products; Curex made the requested changes.

Every letter and response: Curex and the FDA. The short version: Is Curex legit?

The practical next step

Frequently Asked Questions

If you experience sudden difficulty breathing, throat swelling, or other signs of anaphylaxis, call 911. A prescribed epinephrine auto-injector is the first-line treatment β€” not antihistamines.

This content is for informational purposes only and does not constitute medical advice, diagnosis, or treatment. Always consult a qualified healthcare provider with questions about a medical condition. Content reviewed by board-certified allergists at Curex.

Ready to treat your allergies at the source?

Take the free allergy quiz to find out if immunotherapy is right for you and get started with personalized treatment today.

Take Free Allergy Quiz