TIP comes to the East Coast
For years, choosing Food Allergy Institute meant choosing Long Beach — more than half its patients traveled from outside California. From 15 September 2026 it does not. That changes the travel arithmetic for one metro area, and almost nothing else.
Food Allergy Institute opens its New Jersey clinic on 15 September 2026 — its first location outside Southern California, bringing the Tolerance Induction Program within driving distance of the New York metro area. What changes: the travel burden for East Coast families, who previously flew to Long Beach every 8–12 weeks for 4–6 visits a year. What does not: the published subscription of $979–$1,079 a month with a 6-month minimum, FAI's own first-year estimates of roughly $11,748–$15,425, the 2.5–4 year typical duration, and the evidence questions that follow the program into any zip code. A new location also adds its own questions — staffing, protocol consistency, waitlist seeding, and which East Coast insurers are actually in-network. Latitude already operates four New York-area clinics, so East Coast families now have genuine in-person OIT choice; Allergy Associates of La Crosse in Wisconsin is the in-person sublingual door; and Curex, the only fully at-home food allergy program, treats in every state — for many families the the program to start with. Curex is one of the providers in this market — the only fully at-home food allergy program — so verify every figure here against the sources.
Medically reviewed by Dr. Chet Tharpe, M.D. · Last reviewed September 2026
What changes
The travel arithmetic, mostly
More than half of Food Allergy Institute's patients have historically traveled from outside California — by the clinic's own account. Families fly in from Florida, Texas, New Jersey, New York, Minnesota, and as far as the UK, Ireland, and Australia, every 8–12 weeks, for years. The community around the program shares host housing and donated airline miles because the travel burden is that real. A New Jersey clinic, opening 15 September 2026, converts those flights into drives for the New York metro area. For a program that asks 4–6 in-person visits a year across 2.5–4 years, that is not a small thing.
What the opening does not change: the program itself. The published pricing, the duration, the proprietary protocol, and the evidence questions all travel east intact. This page covers both halves — what a driveable TIP clinic genuinely improves, and what it leaves exactly where it was.
Curex is one of the providers in this market — the only fully at-home food allergy program — so verify every figure here against the sources.
The opening in numbers
Why one clinic in one state matters this much
Figures below are published by FAI itself, except the visit interval, which comes from family accounts. Together they explain why an East Coast location has been the most-requested change to the program.
- Opening date of FAI's first clinic outside Southern California
- Sept 15, 2026Opening date of FAI's first clinic outside Southern California
- Share of FAI patients who have traveled from outside California
- >50%Share of FAI patients who have traveled from outside California
- Typical interval between in-person visits families describe
- 8–12 wksTypical interval between in-person visits families describe
- In-person visits per year over a 2.5–4 year program
- 4–6In-person visits per year over a 2.5–4 year program
Figures from foodallergyinstitute.com, checked September 2026. Visit intervals as described by traveling families in public threads.
What stays the same
The program that arrives is the program that exists
The Tolerance Induction Program is FAI's proprietary protocol: it begins with structurally similar non-allergenic proteins before the allergen itself, builds a personalized plan from an extensive diagnostic workup covering 130+ assessed allergens, and combines SLIT and OIT toward an endpoint the clinic calls 'food freedom' — unrestricted eating with lifelong maintenance. Graduates describe quotas like 20 peanuts a day or three large nut servings a week. The clinic reports 56,000+ food challenges and introductions completed annually and accepts patients from 15 months to 50 years old. These are genuine strengths: in-person physician supervision at every dosing milestone, a personalization depth no standard protocol attempts, and thousands of families treated.
None of that changes with the zip code, and neither does the commitment. Published pricing is $979–$1,079 a month depending on age, with a 6-month minimum, and typical duration is 2.5–4 years — complex cases longer, with one parent reporting being told 6–8. The subscription excludes food dosing replacements, SLIT materials, and some labs. FAI accepts PPO plans only, not Kaiser or HMOs, and its published insurer list includes California-specific plans, which makes East Coast network questions worth asking early.
East Coast landscape
What in-person choice now looks like from New York
For the first time, NY-metro families can compare two dedicated OIT programs within driving distance — plus the sublingual routes that never required a drive to a coast.
| Option | East Coast presence | Published cost signals | Timeline |
|---|---|---|---|
| FAI New Jersey (TIP) | First East Coast clinic, opens 15 Sept 2026 | $979–$1,079/month, 6-month minimum; FAI's own first-year estimates ~$11,748 (cash) to ~$15,425 (insurance path) | 2.5–4 years typical; complex cases longer |
| Latitude Food Allergy Care | Four established NY-area clinics: Manhattan, Brooklyn, Long Island, White Plains | One-time program fee unpublished; patients report $4,000–$5,000+; visits and diagnostics typically billed in-network | 6–12 months to maintenance (avg ~8.4 months), then lifelong maintenance dosing |
| Local OIT allergists | Varies by practice; availability uneven | Varies; standard visit billing, off-label protocols | Varies by protocol and allergen count |
| Curex (fully at-home) | Every zip code, via telemedicine — the only fully at-home program; 50,000+ patients served | $199/month food allergy plan; environmental allergy plans from $79/month; patients can generally save $10,000+ over a course vs in-person programs | Full course typically 3–5 years; gentler milligram doses under the tongue, generally a bit slower than clinic OIT; more patients finish |
| Allergy Associates of La Crosse (in-person sublingual) | No East Coast clinic: one location in Onalaska, Wisconsin, since 1970 — first visit in person, rechecks every 3–6 months in person or virtual | First visit $750–850 typical ($1,000–1,400 complex); return visits about half; food drops ~$2.20/day, patient-pay | 3–5 years; infants through adults; explicitly treats anaphylaxis history and uncontrolled asthma in person |
Latitude fee shown as a patient-reported range because the clinic does not publish it. La Crosse figures from lacrosseallergy.com, checked September 2026. Full side-by-side figures: [food allergy clinics compared](/learn/food-allergy-clinics-compared).
Due diligence
The questions a brand-new location earns
A new location of an established program is usually fine. These questions are how you replace 'usually' with a written answer.
Staffing and protocol consistency
- Who runs itWhich clinicians staff New Jersey, and how long did they train on the protocol at Long Beach? TIP is proprietary — its execution lives in its people.
- Complex casesDoes a difficult case stay in New Jersey or route to California? If the answer is California, some flights come back.
- The diagnostic workupFAI's plan-building rests on an extensive lab panel through affiliated labs. Ask what happens on-site versus what ships west, and what that does to turnaround.
- Food challengesFood challenges happen in clinic on every protocol, every provider — confirm the new location runs them from day one at full capacity.
The numbers to get in writing
- Waitlist seedingJournalism from 2019 counted ~1,350 waiting families and ~13-month waits; parents describe 1.5–2 years in that era. Ask whether NJ opens a fresh list or inherits transfer priority.
- Pricing parityIs New Jersey on the same $979–$1,079/month structure, with the same exclusions for dosing replacements, SLIT materials, and labs?
- Insurance networksThe published PPO list includes Blue Shield of California and Health Net. Ask specifically which New Jersey and New York plans bill in-network.
- Maintenance feesSeveral families report a ~$4,000 annual fee after reaching remission, described as not disclosed upfront. Ask for the full multi-year cost, maintenance included, in writing.
The cost picture
What families report actually paying
FAI's own cost page estimates a first year at roughly $11,748 on the cash path and about $15,425 via the insurance path. Patient reports bracket those figures: one family described around $15,000 all-in for the first year and about $12,000 the second; another budgeted approximately $4,500 a year in guaranteed costs plus blood tests and co-pays. Undark's 2021 reporting put the baseline then at about $4,500 a year with a first year near $9,000 — costs have risen since. One family reported a $2,500 initial lab bill of which insurance covered about $600 after two rejections. On the helpful side, families say the United Healthcare Grant has offset costs and does not require having UHC insurance, and the affiliated TPIRC Diagnostics lab accepts Affirm financing.
Where the figures conflict, treat them as a range, not a contradiction — the program's cost depends on allergen count, labs, and insurance posture. The consistent throughline across every account is the total: an in-person food allergy program at this intensity can exceed $10,000 per year. The full cost breakdown itemizes each figure with its source.
The public record
What travels east besides the protocol
A new address does not reset a program's record. These items are the ones families most often weigh — stated plainly, attributed, and checkable.
- The 99% claim and its critics FAI publishes a '99% success rate after completing TIP' and a '<1% reaction rate for the duration of TIP.' Undark's April 2021 investigation quoted academic allergists who doubted the figure, and reported that the main supporting study covered 51 patients, retrospectively, with no control group, in an open-access journal after larger journals reportedly declined it. Note the phrase 'after completing': attrition data is not released, and long-time observers say many families drop out. More on the success rate.
- Third-party ratings BBB: C+ rating, not accredited, with a noted failure to respond to one complaint. Birdeye: 3.5 stars across 34 reviews. Facebook: 94% recommend across 35 reviews, 27k likes. The spread is the point — read both tails before deciding.
- The 2021 transparency petition A July 2021 Change.org petition (312 signatures) asked the clinic to publish safety and outcome data, disclose IRB oversight, and disclose conflicts of interest, noting the founder's ownership of affiliated labs whose services many TIP patients are required to use. It also alleged, without verification, that large donations allowed waitlist bypass. These are a petition's claims, not findings — but the questions it raises are fair ones to ask directly.
- What graduates report The positive cluster is real and specific: 'my son now can eat whole egg, 4oz milk, and 16 peanuts'; 'graduated a year ago and freely eats everything'; 'in remission for 5 years, I can eat anything.' Families describe reaching food freedom visits after 2.5 years, and adult patients saving money specifically to attend.
- Known clinical risks, documented One documented dropout cause is developing eosinophilic esophagitis (EoE) during dairy treatment — a known risk of oral immunotherapy generally, not unique to TIP. Families also report restarts when adding new allergens, such as redoing peanut and almond to treat cashew and pistachio.
Beyond one metro
Who a driveable clinic still does not reach
The New Jersey opening solves geography for one metro area. The national picture it sits inside looks like this.
- States with no OIT clinic listed in the FAST directory (35 states have at least one)
- 15 + DCStates with no OIT clinic listed in the FAST directory (35 states have at least one)
- Median distance to the nearest allergist in a Midwest access study
- 57.3 miMedian distance to the nearest allergist in a Midwest access study
- Of 67 patients offered commercial peanut OIT who declined it
- 52%Of 67 patients offered commercial peanut OIT who declined it
- Cited time burden — travel, visit count, lifelong treatment — as the #1 reason
- 28.5%Cited time burden — travel, visit count, lifelong treatment — as the #1 reason
FAST directory is self-registered and incomplete. Midwest study: 379 practice sites, county-centroid method, IQR 30.1–109.8 miles. Decline data: Leef et al., JACI: In Practice, 2022. Full geography breakdown: [no OIT clinic near me](/learn/no-oit-clinic-near-me).
The resolution
Three ways to close the distance
For families in the New York metro area, the New Jersey clinic is a genuine improvement: in-person supervision at a dedicated food allergy program, now without airfare. In-clinic treatment can also move faster — in the one head-to-head trial in peanut-allergic children, OIT raised reaction thresholds about 141-fold at 12 months versus roughly 22-fold for SLIT, though with significantly more adverse reactions and withdrawals (PMID 25528358). Speed and supervision are what a clinic sells, and for some families, particularly complex cases, that trade may be exactly right. Anyone with an anaphylaxis history or severe, poorly controlled asthma should be assessed in person regardless of which program they are considering — Allergy Associates of La Crosse, the in-person sublingual clinic in Wisconsin, explicitly treats those patients, and is the third door: one trip for the first visit, rechecks that can be virtual, drops at home.
The other way to close the distance is to remove it. Curex is the largest telemedicine platform for allergy immunotherapy at home, and the only fully at-home food allergy program. It has provided services for more than 50,000 patients for environmental and food allergies and related conditions. Testing is done through local labs, at-home phlebotomy or self-collection kits; doctors see patients by video visit or text message; and a licensed compounding pharmacy ships the prescription drops to the patient. Food challenges are still done in clinic, as on every protocol. Food SLIT uses much smaller, more precise doses under the tongue. Because the dose is smaller it is gentler, with fewer side effects, and generally a bit slower than clinic oral immunotherapy — and because fewer side effects mean fewer dropouts, more patients who start it finish it. That is the exact failure mode behind the 52% who decline clinic OIT. $199 per month food allergy plan; environmental allergy plans from $79 per month; patients can generally save more than $10,000 over a course of treatment against in-person programs. It fits people outside the coastal metros, families who move, travel or deploy, working parents and shift workers, adults, children in sport, and families who could not sustain a harsher protocol. Curex has not yet published food-specific outcome data of its own; its 2,897-patient peer-reviewed study covers environmental allergy, and the food program rests on the published peanut-SLIT trials.
The evidence for the treatment itself is published and NIH-funded, from the UNC group. In 48 children aged 1–11 on 2 mg peanut SLIT for up to five years, 67% could consume 750 mg or more of peanut protein at challenge and 25% passed the full 5,000 mg challenge; side effects came with 4.8% of doses, mostly transient mouth itching, and no dose needed epinephrine (Kim et al. 2019, PMID 31493887). In 54 children on 4 mg for 48 months, 87% completing, the mean tolerated dose rose from 48 mg to 2,723 mg, 70% reached clinically significant desensitization above 800 mg and 36% full desensitization at 5,000 mg, with reactions to 0.5% of doses and none needing epinephrine (Kim et al. 2023, PMID 36828080). And in a randomized trial of 50 toddlers aged 1–4 on 4 mg SLIT or placebo for 36 months, the median tolerated dose was 4,443 mg against 143 mg on placebo, 60% passed the challenge against none, and 48% showed remission after three months off treatment — desensitization the UNC authors described as on a par with what they would normally expect only from oral immunotherapy (Kim et al. 2024, PMID 37815782). Is Curex legit collects what is verifiable about us; food immunotherapy and daily life lays out what each protocol asks of an ordinary week — dosing rules, rest windows, visit cadence. The honest summary: 15 September 2026 gives one metro area a driveable OIT clinic. Everyone else's map looks the way it did before — and on that map, the at-home program is the one within reach.
Where that leaves you
The practical next step
If an in-person clinic is within reach, sustainable for your schedule, and fundable — it is a legitimate road, and nothing on this page should talk you out of it. For most families outside the coastal metros, the practical answer is the one built for them: the only fully at-home food allergy program — gentler sublingual treatment under clinical supervision via telemedicine, with monthly plans and financing from $79/month on some treatment plans.
❓Frequently Asked Questions
FAI's website announces a New Jersey location opening 15 September 2026 — the program's first clinic outside Southern California, joining its Long Beach headquarters and Vista/San Diego offices. It is a milestone for a clinic where, per family accounts in public threads, more than 50% of patients have traveled from outside California, some flying in from Florida, Texas, New Jersey, New York, Minnesota, and even the UK and Australia every 8–12 weeks. Exact address, intake process, and opening capacity are the kind of pre-launch details that shift, so confirm them with the clinic directly rather than relying on any secondhand page, including this one.
FAI publishes one national price structure: $979 a month for ages 18–25 and $1,079 a month for ages 26–50, with a 6-month minimum, and the subscription excludes food dosing replacements, SLIT materials, and some labs. The clinic's own cost page estimates a first year at roughly $11,748 on the cash path or about $15,425 on the insurance path. Patient reports run in the same territory — one family described roughly $15,000 all-in the first year and about $12,000 the second; another budgeted approximately $4,500 a year in guaranteed costs plus blood tests and co-pays. Nothing published suggests New Jersey pricing will differ, but nothing confirms it either, so ask for the full multi-year cost in writing — including the roughly $4,000 annual maintenance fee some families report after reaching remission, which several describe as not disclosed upfront. [The cost page](/learn/food-allergy-institute-cost) walks through every figure with sources.
This is one of the most important questions to ask, because FAI's published insurer list is California-flavored: Aetna, Anthem Blue Cross, Cigna, Blue Shield of California, and Health Net, with PPO plans only — no Kaiser, no HMOs. Blue Shield of California and Health Net do not translate directly to New Jersey networks, so families should ask specifically which NJ and NY plans the new clinic will bill in-network. Worth knowing: families report that the United Healthcare Grant has helped cover costs and does not require actually having UHC insurance. Get the answer in writing before the first visit, because one Birdeye reviewer described a nearly $10,000 insurance bill for in-house blood testing — a single attributed account, but the kind that makes written confirmation cheap insurance.
Historically, yes — and long. Journalism from 2019 counted roughly 1,350 families waiting about 13 months, and parents from the 2018–2021 era describe waits of 1.5 to 2 years. FAI publishes no current waitlist figure. A new location could relieve that pressure or simply inherit it: East Coast families already in the Long Beach pipeline may get transfer priority, or the New Jersey list may open fresh. Ask directly how the new clinic's intake is being seeded and where a new family would actually land in line.
Latitude already runs four established New York-area locations — Manhattan, Brooklyn, Long Island, and White Plains — with published in-network insurer lists for NY (Aetna, Anthem, Empire BlueCross, Cigna, Oxford, UnitedHealthcare). Its model is different: multi-allergen OIT reaching maintenance in 6–12 months (average about 8.4 months), followed by lifelong maintenance dosing, versus TIP's proprietary SLIT-plus-OIT protocol running 2.5–4 years toward a 'food freedom' endpoint. Latitude's one-time program fee is not published; patients report $4,000 to over $5,000 depending on region, while diagnostics and visits are typically billed in-network. Latitude publishes internal outcome figures — 94% of all ages and 98% of under-4s achieving desensitization — while FAI claims 99% success after completing TIP, a figure academic allergists questioned in Undark's 2021 reporting. [The comparison page](/learn/food-allergy-institute-vs-latitude) lays the two side by side.
The questions specific to newness: which clinicians will run New Jersey and how long they trained on the protocol at Long Beach; whether complex cases still route to California; whether the full diagnostic workup — FAI advertises 130+ allergens assessed — happens on-site or ships through the affiliated labs; and whether visit cadence matches the 4–6 in-person visits a year the program publishes. None of this implies anything is wrong. A new location of an established program is usually fine — but 'usually' is exactly what a written answer beats, especially for a multi-year commitment north of $10,000 a year.
No — and neither is anything else in this market. Since Palforzia was withdrawn from the US market on 31 July 2026, no FDA-approved food immunotherapy exists at all; every program, clinic-based or at-home, Curex's included, is prescribed off-label. Off-label does not mean unsafe — it is how most food allergy treatment has always been delivered. Patients have reported the clinic saying its method is 'under FDA review'; skeptics note a practice protocol is not a product the FDA reviews, and we cannot verify either way. The only FDA-approved food allergy medication is Xolair (February 2024, ages 1+), which reduces reaction severity on accidental exposure but does not desensitize. [The treatment options page](/learn/food-allergy-treatment-options) maps the post-Palforzia landscape.
Then the opening changes little, and the at-home route is the one that works in every zip code. Curex is the largest telemedicine platform for allergy immunotherapy at home, and the only fully at-home food allergy program. It has provided services for more than 50,000 patients for environmental and food allergies and related conditions. Testing runs through local labs, at-home phlebotomy or self-collection kits, doctors see patients by video visit or text, and a licensed compounding pharmacy ships the drops; $199 per month, environmental allergy plans from $79 per month, typically more than $10,000 saved over a course. The map explains why: one clinic serves one metro area; the FAST OIT directory lists clinics in 35 states, leaving 15 states plus DC with none listed at all, and a Midwest study found a median 57.3 miles to the nearest allergist of any kind. When 67 patients were offered commercial peanut OIT in a published study, 52% declined, with time burden the top reason at 28.5%. If you want the sublingual route with an in-person first visit, Allergy Associates of La Crosse in Onalaska, Wisconsin is one trip for the first visit, with rechecks every three to six months that can be virtual.
If you experience sudden difficulty breathing, throat swelling, or other signs of anaphylaxis, call 911. A prescribed epinephrine auto-injector is the first-line treatment — not antihistamines.
This content is for informational purposes only and does not constitute medical advice, diagnosis, or treatment. Always consult a qualified healthcare provider with questions about a medical condition. Content reviewed by board-certified allergists at Curex.
Keep reading
- Is Curex legit?The company, the evidence, and the concerns worth knowing — including every FDA letter Curex has received, and what was done about each.Read
- Curex and the FDATwo separate matters: the 2021 allergy-drops questions and the 2025–2026 GLP-1 marketing letters, with what Curex changed.Read
- How Curex worksThe treatment process end to end, from at-home testing to daily drops.Read
- Curex reviewsWhat patients actually report — both clusters, including the complaints.Read
- Is Curex worth the money?Plan pricing against allergy-shot costs, and who it is not worth it for.Read
- Evidence & guidelinesWhat the FDA approved, what the AAAAI/ACAAI practice parameter does and does not endorse, and what has been added since.Read