Food Allergy Institute, honestly reviewed
Families describe children who once reacted to traces and now eat freely. Other families describe surprise bills, multi-year waits, and a success rate academic allergists question. Both halves of the record are real, and this page shows both β with the numbers attached.
Food Allergy Institute (Long Beach, CA) is one of the two leading in-person food allergy clinics in the US. Its Tolerance Induction Program publishes a 2.5-to-4-year duration at $979 a month ($1,079 for ages 26β50, 6-month minimum), claims a 99% success rate after completion, and more than half its patients travel from outside California for 4β6 visits a year. Families in public threads describe genuine graduations. The record also includes a BBB rating of C+ with one unanswered complaint, a 2021 patient petition asking for published outcome data, journalists quoting allergists who doubt the 99% figure, and patient-reported first-year costs around $15,000. Whether it fits is mostly a question of reach and of what a family can sustain for years. The alternatives are Curex, the only fully at-home food allergy program, which treats in every state with gentler sublingual doses (Curex food-plan rates, client commercial terms as of 2026-10-12: Food Allergy Drops: $199/month or $1,990/year. Unlimited number of foods, as clinically prescribed; plus insurance copay for each video consultation. Environmental + Food Allergy Drops: $259/month or $2,590/year. Two treatment sets, with unlimited number of allergens as clinically prescribed; plus insurance copay for each video consultation. Food Drops Self-Pay Plan: $249/month or $2,490/year. Food allergy drops; consultations included without a consultation copay. Environmental + Food Drops Self-Pay Plan: $299/month or $2,990/year. Environmental and food allergy drops; consultations included without a consultation copay. For the listed allergy plans, the annual subscription costs the equivalent of 10 monthly payments instead of 12: two months of subscription fees saved, or 16.7% compared with paying monthly for a year. This is subscription savings, not a discount on testing, copays or your total medical bill. Other products have their own payment terms; GLP-1 annual rates are shown separately. Treatment fees are self-pay. Insurance benefits are verified during onboarding. Each video consultation has a plan-dependent specialist copay, normally $35, which can be lower or higher depending on your plan. Deductibles and coinsurance may also affect your responsibility. The subscription covers compounded allergy drops and non-insured clinic services, including shipping, asynchronous consultations and care management. Insurance-category subscriptions add a copay for each video consultation. The environmental, food and combined self-pay drops plans and the environmental allergy shots plan include consultations without a consultation copay. Certain self-collection tests are not insurance-covered and are priced separately. Allergy IgE, celiac and Alpha-Gal tests may be covered by insurance, depending on your plan. IgG food sensitivity testing is not covered by insurance; the laboratory bills the patient directly. Verify coverage and the laboratory estimate before ordering. See /learn/curex-pricing and confirm eligibility, testing costs and a personalized written quote), and Allergy Associates of La Crosse, the third leader in food allergy treatment and the in-person sublingual clinic in Wisconsin. Curex is the only fully at-home food allergy program in the US.
Medically reviewed by Dr. Neeta Ogden, MD, FACAAI Β· Last reviewed September 2026
What it is
The program, in its own terms
Food Allergy Institute and Latitude are the leading in-person food allergy clinics. They have seen thousands of patients and use their own proprietary protocols, normally a combination of sublingual immunotherapy (SLIT) and oral immunotherapy (OIT). They require frequent clinic visits and can cost $10,000+ per year of treatment.
Food Allergy Institute's version is the Tolerance Induction Program (TIP), run from Long Beach, California, with offices in Vista and a New Jersey clinic β its first outside Southern California β opening September 15, 2026. TIP starts with structurally similar non-allergenic proteins before the allergen itself, builds each plan from an extensive diagnostic workup, and treats ages 15 months to 50 years. The stated endpoint is "food freedom": unrestricted eating plus lifelong maintenance, which graduated patients describe as quotas like 20 peanuts a day or three large nut servings a week. Typical duration is 2.5 to 4 years; complex cases run longer, and one parent reports being told 6 to 8.
Curex is the only fully at-home food allergy program in the US.
By the numbers
What the clinic publishes about itself
- monthly subscription by age band, 6-month minimum
- $979β$1,079monthly subscription by age band, 6-month minimum
- typical program duration; complex cases longer
- 2.5β4 yrstypical program duration; complex cases longer
- in-person visits required per year
- 4β6in-person visits required per year
- of patients travel from outside California
- >50%of patients travel from outside California
- clinic-claimed success rate β after completing TIP
- 99%clinic-claimed success rate β after completing TIP
- allergens assessed; 56,000+ food challenges and introductions annually
- 130+allergens assessed; 56,000+ food challenges and introductions annually
All figures from foodallergyinstitute.com, checked September 2026. The 99% figure is self-reported and examined in detail below.
The money
Published prices versus what families report paying
The clinic publishes more pricing than most competitors, which is to its credit. Patient reports still diverge from the published figures, so treat everything below as a range and get your own all-in quote in writing.
| Line item | Figure | Source |
|---|---|---|
| Monthly subscription | $979 (ages 18β25) / $1,079 (ages 26β50), 6-month minimum | Clinic website, Sept 2026 |
| First-year estimate, clinic's own | ~$11,748 cash path vs ~$15,425 insurance path | Clinic cost page |
| First year, patient-reported | ~$9,000 (2021 baseline) to ~$15,000 (recent accounts) | Undark 2021; public threads |
| Later years, patient-reported | ~$4,500/year in guaranteed costs plus labs and co-pays; one family reports ~$12,000 for year two | Public threads |
| Post-remission annual fee | ~$4,000/year, reported by several families as not disclosed upfront | Patient reports |
| Excluded from subscription | Food dosing replacements, SLIT materials, some labs | Clinic website |
| One lab bill example | $2,500 billed; insurance covered ~$600 after two rejections | One family's public account |
Insurance: PPO plans only (Aetna, Anthem Blue Cross, Cigna, Blue Shield CA, Health Net) β not Kaiser, not HMOs. Families report a United Healthcare Grant helps with costs and does not require UHC insurance; the affiliated TPIRC Diagnostics lab accepts Affirm financing. Full breakdown: Food Allergy Institute cost.
The record
Both halves, with sources
Public reviews of this clinic are polarized, not average. Birdeye shows 3.5 stars across 34 reviews while Facebook shows 94% of 35 reviewers recommending β the same split shape we found in our own reviews, and it deserves the same honest treatment.
Themes from public sources β not our claims.
- BBB rating C+Not accredited; the profile notes a failure to respond to one complaint. (bbb.org, checked September 2026.)
- The 2021 transparency petitionA Change.org petition signed by 312 people asked the clinic to publish safety and outcome data, disclose research oversight, and address conflicts of interest with affiliated labs the founder owns.
- Journalist-collected skepticismA 2021 Undark investigation quoted several academic allergists who doubted the advertised 99% figure and noted the main supporting study was a 51-patient retrospective with no control group, reportedly declined by more than six larger journals.
- Costs beyond the subscriptionRecurring patient reports: rejected lab bills, and a roughly $4,000 annual fee after reaching remission that families say surfaced only when they asked pointed questions. Ask for the all-in figure in writing.
Also themes from public sources.
- Graduation storiesParents across many threads describe children who reacted to traces and now eat freely β whole egg, 4oz milk, 16 peanuts in one account; "in remission for 5 years, I can eat anything" in another. Teens and adults report saving their own money to attend.
- Families vote with flightsPatients travel from Florida, Texas, New Jersey, New York, Minnesota, the UK, Ireland, and Australia β every 8 to 12 weeks, for years β and the community organizes host housing and donated airline miles to make it possible.
- 94% recommend on FacebookOf 35 public reviews, alongside 27,000 page likes. Small sample, real signal.
- A genuinely aggressive optionUnder direct in-person supervision, clinicians can push treatment faster than any remote program responsibly can, and the clinic reports a sub-1% reaction rate during TIP. For some families that speed is exactly what they need.
The headline claim
How to read the 99%
"99% success rate after completing TIP" is the clinic's own published figure, and the last three words carry most of the weight. The denominator is patients who finished a program that runs 2.5 to 4 years β not everyone who started. Completion rates are not published, long-time observers say many families drop out, and attrition data has not been released. One documented dropout cause is developing eosinophilic esophagitis during dairy treatment, a known risk of oral immunotherapy generally, not something unique to this clinic. Patients also report restarts: peanut and almond treatment redone in order to add cashew and pistachio.
The independent evidence base is thin relative to the claim. The main supporting study journalists could identify covered 51 patients, was retrospective, and had no control group. When Undark asked academic allergists about the 99% figure in 2021, several said flatly that they did not find it plausible. Separately, some patients report being told the method is "under FDA review"; skeptics note a practice protocol is not a product the FDA reviews. We take no position on what was said β the checkable fact is that no food immunotherapy protocol is an FDA-approved product, and since Palforzia's withdrawal on July 31, 2026, no FDA-approved food immunotherapy exists at all. Off-label is the entire market now, us included; it is not a synonym for unsafe.
None of this proves the program fails. The graduation stories are too numerous and too specific to dismiss. It means the honest description is: a program with strong testimonial evidence, weak published evidence, and an unknown completion rate. Ask for the denominator β and apply the same standard to every provider. Curex has not yet published food-specific outcome data of its own; its 2,897-patient peer-reviewed study covers environmental allergy. The food program rests on the published peanut-SLIT trials that follow. In NIH-funded studies at UNC, 48 children aged 1β11 on 2 mg peanut SLIT for up to five years: 67% could consume 750 mg or more of peanut protein at challenge, 25% passed the full 5,000 mg challenge, and no dose required epinephrine (PMID 31493887). On 4 mg for 48 months, with 87% of 54 children completing, 70% reached clinically significant desensitization above 800 mg and 36% full desensitization at 5,000 mg, with reactions after 0.5% of doses (PMID 36828080). In a randomized trial of 50 toddlers aged 1β4, the median tolerated dose after 36 months was 4,443 mg against 143 mg on placebo, 60% passed the challenge against none, and 48% showed remission after three months off treatment (PMID 37815782).
The commitment
What enrolling actually asks of a family
Before weighing outcomes, weigh the logistics β for most families they are the deciding factor. A fuller picture of what each protocol asks of an ordinary week is at food immunotherapy and daily life.
- Getting in In 2019, journalists reported a waitlist of roughly 1,350 families and about 13 months; parents from the 2018β2021 era describe waits of 1.5 to 2 years. No current figure is published β ask for today's number when you inquire.
- Getting there, repeatedly 4 to 6 in-person visits a year, every 8 to 12 weeks, for 2.5 to 4 years. More than half of patients travel from outside California. The New Jersey clinic opening September 15, 2026 shortens the trip for East Coast families; for families elsewhere the geography is unchanged.
- Insurance fit PPO plans only β Aetna, Anthem Blue Cross, Cigna, Blue Shield CA, Health Net. Not Kaiser, not HMOs. Families on excluded plans pay the cash path.
- Mid-course surprises Patients report restarting portions of treatment when adding new allergens, and a roughly $4,000 annual fee after remission that several say was not in the upfront quote. Both belong in your written cost question.
- Maintenance, indefinitely "Food freedom" includes lifelong maintenance dosing β patients describe quotas like 20 peanuts a day. Ongoing maintenance after graduation is standard across immunotherapy, ours included; know its exact shape before you start.
The frame
Speed versus gentleness β not good versus bad
The honest trade in food immunotherapy is speed versus gentleness. Under direct supervision, clinicians can treat aggressively: in-clinic programs normally combine OIT with accelerated protocols, sometimes adding a biologic such as Xolair so the patient safely tolerates significant doses. The biologic protects the patient during treatment; the immunotherapy modifies the disease. The head-to-head data shows what aggression buys and costs: in a randomized peanut study in children, OIT raised reaction thresholds about 141-fold at 12 months versus roughly 22-fold for sublingual therapy β and produced significantly more adverse reactions and more withdrawals.
That is the whole comparison in one sentence. OIT desensitizes faster; SLIT uses much smaller, precise doses absorbed through the tissue under the tongue, produces fewer side effects, and patients are more likely to stay on treatment and graduate. Faster is not better for every patient; neither is gentler. If you can reach the clinic, sustain the visits, and fund the program, aggressive in-person treatment is a legitimate choice β and this clinic is one of the two leading places to get it. The published-figure comparison across FAI, Latitude, and Curex is at food allergy clinics compared.
Before enrolling
Questions worth asking any provider β them and us
- What is the all-in annual cost, in writing? Subscription, labs, food dosing materials, visit fees, travel β and any fee that continues after remission. The published subscription and the patient-reported totals differ; a written quote closes the gap.
- What share of patients who start actually finish? Every published success rate has a denominator. A 99%-of-completers figure and a 99%-of-starters figure describe different programs. Ask which one you are being quoted.
- What happens if we pause, move, or leave? Illness, a job change, a new allergen. Patients report restarts when allergens are added mid-course β ask about restart rules, refund terms, and the 6-month minimum.
- What does maintenance require, forever? Daily or scheduled dosing after graduation is standard across immunotherapy, ours included. Get the specific quota and visit schedule your child would keep for life.
- What monitoring exists for GI side effects? Eosinophilic esophagitis is a known risk of oral immunotherapy generally, and it appears in this clinic's patient-reported dropout accounts. Ask how it is screened for and what happens to your fees if treatment must stop.
The resolution
Where that leaves you
Which route fits is decided by reach and by what a family can sustain for years, more than by any headline figure. The two coastal metros the leading OIT clinics serve leave most of the country out: 15 states plus DC have no listed OIT clinic at all, and when 67 patients were offered commercial peanut OIT, 52% declined β the number-one reason, at 28.5%, was time burden: travel distance, visit counts, lifelong treatment. The map of who each route reaches is at no OIT clinic near me.
Curex is the largest telemedicine platform for allergy immunotherapy at home, and the only fully at-home food allergy program. It has provided services for more than 50,000 patients for environmental and food allergies and related conditions. Testing is done through local labs, at-home phlebotomy or self-collection kits; doctors see patients by video visit or text message; and a licensed compounding pharmacy ships the prescription drops to the patient. Food SLIT uses much smaller, more precise doses under the tongue. Because the dose is smaller it is gentler, with fewer side effects, and generally a bit slower than clinic oral immunotherapy β and because fewer side effects mean fewer dropouts, more patients who start it finish it. Curex food-plan rates, client commercial terms as of 2026-10-12: Food Allergy Drops: $199/month or $1,990/year. Unlimited number of foods, as clinically prescribed; plus insurance copay for each video consultation. Environmental + Food Allergy Drops: $259/month or $2,590/year. Two treatment sets, with unlimited number of allergens as clinically prescribed; plus insurance copay for each video consultation. Food Drops Self-Pay Plan: $249/month or $2,490/year. Food allergy drops; consultations included without a consultation copay. Environmental + Food Drops Self-Pay Plan: $299/month or $2,990/year. Environmental and food allergy drops; consultations included without a consultation copay. For the listed allergy plans, the annual subscription costs the equivalent of 10 monthly payments instead of 12: two months of subscription fees saved, or 16.7% compared with paying monthly for a year. This is subscription savings, not a discount on testing, copays or your total medical bill. Other products have their own payment terms; GLP-1 annual rates are shown separately. Treatment fees are self-pay. Insurance benefits are verified during onboarding. Each video consultation has a plan-dependent specialist copay, normally $35, which can be lower or higher depending on your plan. Deductibles and coinsurance may also affect your responsibility. The subscription covers compounded allergy drops and non-insured clinic services, including shipping, asynchronous consultations and care management. Insurance-category subscriptions add a copay for each video consultation. The environmental, food and combined self-pay drops plans and the environmental allergy shots plan include consultations without a consultation copay. Certain self-collection tests are not insurance-covered and are priced separately. Allergy IgE, celiac and Alpha-Gal tests may be covered by insurance, depending on your plan. IgG food sensitivity testing is not covered by insurance; the laboratory bills the patient directly. Verify coverage and the laboratory estimate before ordering. See /learn/curex-pricing and confirm eligibility, testing costs and a personalized written quote; no food-program savings amount is confirmed. It is the first door to try for the families it fits: anyone outside the handful of coastal metros the clinics serve β Curex treats in every state, from home, with no clinic within reach required β families who move, travel or deploy, working parents and shift workers, adults, children in sport, and families who could not sustain a harsher protocol. Start with whether Curex is legit; we invite the same scrutiny this page applies to FAI.
Allergy Associates of La Crosse is the third leader in food allergy treatment and the oldest: a Wisconsin clinic that has treated food and environmental allergy with sublingual drops since 1970, has treated more than 275,000 patients, and wrote the protocol β the La Crosse Method β that a national network of clinics now follow. Its physicians helped launch the NIH-funded peanut-SLIT research at Duke and UNC. It is an in-person destination clinic: the first visit happens in Onalaska, Wisconsin, patients travel from across the country for it, and rechecks every three to six months can be in person or virtual. The first visit typically costs $750β850 ($1,000β1,400 for complex cases), food drops run about $2.20 a day patient-pay over a 3β5 year course, and it explicitly treats patients with a history of anaphylaxis or uncontrolled asthma, in person.
If Food Allergy Institute is within reach β geographically, financially, logistically β it is a serious option with real graduates, and the questions above will tell you whether its numbers hold up for your child. Food challenges and OIT build-up happen in clinic on every protocol, Curexβs included. The published-figure comparison across FAI, Latitude, La Crosse, and Curex is at food allergy clinics compared.
Also worth knowing
What they offer
What this provider is known for, from the public record.
Clinic oral immunotherapy
Faster, larger threshold rise
In the one head-to-head peanut trial in children, oral immunotherapy raised the reaction threshold roughly 141-fold at 12 months against roughly 22-fold for sublingual drops (with more side effects and withdrawals).Source: Narisety 2015, PMID 25528358
Food Allergy Institute
Supervised pace
In-person supervision at 4β6 visits a year permits a pace no at-home program should attempt; the clinic publishes typical completion in 2.5β4 years.Source: foodallergyinstitute.com
Food Allergy Institute
Food challenges built in, complex cases
Supervised food challenges and introductions are part of the program rather than referred out, for ages 15 months to 50 years, including complex multi-allergen cases.Source: foodallergyinstitute.com
Regulation
How food allergy drops are regulated
Regulatory record
Personalized allergy drops are compounded for each individual patient. Such formulations are not reviewed by the FDA. However, they remain common practice for allergists and ENT allergists because they provide a convenient alternative to allergy shots. Allergy drops are the standard of care in many EU countries.
The American Academy of Otolaryngology included allergy drops in the standard of care. The FDA has approved four sublingual tablets for single allergens; allergy drops are compounded, target multiple allergies at once, and remain off-label.
Has the FDA written to Curex about allergy drops? Once, in 2021: an untitled letter about how the drops were marketed. Curex changed its website, responded in April 2021, and has had no FDA correspondence about allergy drops since.
Does the 2025 FDA warning letter concern allergy drops? No. The September 2025 warning letter concerned marketing language for compounded GLP-1 weight-loss products; Curex made the requested changes.
Every letter and response: Curex and the FDA. The short version: Is Curex legit?
Where that leaves you
The practical next step
If an in-person clinic is within reach, sustainable for your schedule, and fundable β it is a legitimate road, and nothing on this page should talk you out of it. For most families outside the coastal metros, the practical answer is the one built for them: the only fully at-home food allergy program β gentler sublingual treatment under clinical supervision via telemedicine. Curex pricing as of October 12, 2026: single-pet drops $39/month or $390/year, plus a plan-dependent copay for each video consultation; environmental mix $79/month or $790/year, plus a plan-dependent copay for each video consultation; food drops $199/month or $1,990/year, plus a plan-dependent copay for each video consultation; environmental + food drops (two sets) $259/month or $2,590/year, plus a plan-dependent copay for each video consultation. Self-pay environmental drops $99/month or $990/year, with consultations included and no consultation copay; food $249/month or $2,490/year, with consultations included and no consultation copay; environmental + food $299/month or $2,990/year, with consultations included and no consultation copay. Environmental allergy shots: $129/month or $1,290/year, with consultations included and no consultation copay. Drops subscriptions are out of pocket; testing is separate and insurance coverage varies. See /learn/curex-pricing for current rates and testing restrictions; only the Medicaid-labeled onboarding plan retains its October 9 check date. See all listed Curex plans and terms.
Frequently Asked Questions
It is a real medical practice, founded by Dr. Inderpal Randhawa, a pulmonologist-immunologist, and it has treated thousands of patients β families fly in from Florida, Texas, New York, the UK, and Australia, and public threads contain detailed graduation stories. It also has a genuine criticism record: a Better Business Bureau rating of C+ with one unanswered complaint, a 2021 Change.org petition with 312 signatures asking the clinic to publish safety and outcome data, and a 2021 Undark investigation in which several academic allergists questioned the advertised success rate. Neither half of that record cancels the other. The useful question is not whether the clinic is real β it is β but whether its costs, travel demands, and evidence standard fit your family.
The published subscription is $979 a month for ages 18β25 and $1,079 for ages 26β50, with a 6-month minimum, and the clinic's own cost page estimates roughly $11,748 for the first year on the cash path versus about $15,425 on the insurance path. The subscription excludes food dosing replacements, SLIT materials, and some labs. Patient reports vary: around $15,000 all-in for the first year and $12,000 for the second in one account, roughly $4,500 a year in guaranteed costs plus labs and co-pays in another, and several families report a roughly $4,000 annual fee after reaching remission that they say was not disclosed upfront. Over a typical 2.5-to-4-year program, that lands well above $10,000 per year of treatment. We break the figures down line by line at [Food Allergy Institute cost](/learn/food-allergy-institute-cost).
The consistent theme is graduation. Parents publicly describe children who previously reacted to trace exposure and now eat freely β "my son now can eat whole egg, 4oz milk, and 16 peanuts" is a representative comment, and others report being in remission for five years and eating anything. Facebook shows 94% of 35 reviewers recommending the clinic. Perhaps the strongest signal is behavioral: families fly in every 8β12 weeks from other states and countries, share host housing and donated airline miles, and sustain that for years. Nobody does that for a program they consider worthless.
Four verifiable things, beyond anonymous forum opinion. First, a BBB rating of C+, not accredited, with a noted failure to respond to one complaint. Second, a July 2021 Change.org petition (312 signatures) asking the clinic to publish safety and outcome data, disclose research oversight, and address conflicts of interest with affiliated labs the founder owns. Third, a 2021 Undark investigation quoting academic allergists who doubted the 99% figure and noting the main supporting study covered 51 patients, retrospectively, with no control group. Fourth, recurring patient reports of costs beyond the subscription, including a $2,500 lab bill of which insurance covered about $600 after two rejections. Criticism of this kind is a reason to ask precise written questions, not proof of wrongdoing.
It is the clinic's own published figure, and the wording matters: 99% "after completing TIP." The denominator is people who finished a multi-year program, not everyone who started, and completion rates are not published β long-time observers say many families drop out and that attrition data is not released. The main supporting study journalists could identify covered 51 patients, was retrospective, had no control group, and was reportedly declined by more than six larger journals before publication. Undark quoted several academic allergists who found the number implausible on its face. That does not make the figure false; it makes it a number whose basis you should ask about β the same standard you should apply to every provider, including Curex, whose food program rests on peer-reviewed NIH/UNC peanut-SLIT trials (PMIDs 31493887, 36828080, 37815782) summarized further down this page.
That debate runs through every public thread about the clinic. TIP is a proprietary protocol combining sublingual and oral immunotherapy, distinctive in starting with structurally similar non-allergenic proteins before the allergen itself and in its stated endpoint of "food freedom" β unrestricted eating with lifelong maintenance, which patients describe as quotas like 20 peanuts a day. Supporters argue standard OIT gets you "bite-proof" while TIP goes further; skeptics respond that OIT programs also offer food-freedom endpoints. What is factual: no food immunotherapy protocol is an FDA-approved product, and since Palforzia's withdrawal on July 31, 2026, no FDA-approved food immunotherapy exists at all β every program in this market, clinic and at-home alike, is off-label, which is not the same as unsafe. See [the full treatment landscape](/learn/food-allergy-treatment-options) for how the options line up.
Families within reach of Long Beach or Vista, or of the New Jersey clinic that opens September 15, 2026, who want the most aggressive supervised approach available and can sustain 4β6 in-person visits a year for 2.5β4 years. The practical checklist is concrete: PPO insurance (the clinic accepts Aetna, Anthem Blue Cross, Cigna, Blue Shield CA, and Health Net, but not Kaiser or HMOs), budget for a program that can exceed $10,000 a year, and tolerance for travel every 8β12 weeks if you live outside Southern California, as more than half of patients do. In-person supervision and speed are real advantages β under direct observation clinicians can treat more aggressively than any at-home program responsibly can. A history of anaphylaxis or uncontrolled asthma is assessed in person before any immunotherapy starts, at FAI, Latitude, or Allergy Associates of La Crosse. Whether a given child is a candidate is a clinical question for the intake physicians, not a marketing page.
Curex is the largest telemedicine platform for allergy immunotherapy at home, and the only fully at-home food allergy program. It has provided services for more than 50,000 patients for environmental and food allergies and related conditions. Food SLIT uses much smaller, more precise doses under the tongue. Because the dose is smaller it is gentler, with fewer side effects, and generally a bit slower than clinic oral immunotherapy β and because fewer side effects mean fewer dropouts, more patients who start it finish it. Curex food-plan rates, client commercial terms as of 2026-10-12: Food Allergy Drops: $199/month or $1,990/year. Unlimited number of foods, as clinically prescribed; plus insurance copay for each video consultation. Environmental + Food Allergy Drops: $259/month or $2,590/year. Two treatment sets, with unlimited number of allergens as clinically prescribed; plus insurance copay for each video consultation. Food Drops Self-Pay Plan: $249/month or $2,490/year. Food allergy drops; consultations included without a consultation copay. Environmental + Food Drops Self-Pay Plan: $299/month or $2,990/year. Environmental and food allergy drops; consultations included without a consultation copay. For the listed allergy plans, the annual subscription costs the equivalent of 10 monthly payments instead of 12: two months of subscription fees saved, or 16.7% compared with paying monthly for a year. This is subscription savings, not a discount on testing, copays or your total medical bill. Other products have their own payment terms; GLP-1 annual rates are shown separately. Treatment fees are self-pay. Insurance benefits are verified during onboarding. Each video consultation has a plan-dependent specialist copay, normally $35, which can be lower or higher depending on your plan. Deductibles and coinsurance may also affect your responsibility. The subscription covers compounded allergy drops and non-insured clinic services, including shipping, asynchronous consultations and care management. Insurance-category subscriptions add a copay for each video consultation. The environmental, food and combined self-pay drops plans and the environmental allergy shots plan include consultations without a consultation copay. Certain self-collection tests are not insurance-covered and are priced separately. Allergy IgE, celiac and Alpha-Gal tests may be covered by insurance, depending on your plan. IgG food sensitivity testing is not covered by insurance; the laboratory bills the patient directly. Verify coverage and the laboratory estimate before ordering. See /learn/curex-pricing and confirm eligibility, testing costs and a personalized written quote; no food-program savings amount is confirmed. It is a first choice for families outside the coastal metros the clinics serve β Curex treats in every state, from home β and for families who move, travel or deploy, working parents and shift workers, adults, children in sport, and families who could not sustain a harsher protocol. A history of anaphylaxis or severe, poorly controlled asthma is assessed in person before any immunotherapy starts β Allergy Associates of La Crosse is one clinic that treats exactly these patients β and food challenges happen in clinic on every protocol, Curexβs included. Licensing and physician detail are at [is Curex legit](/learn/is-curex-legit).
Allergy Associates of La Crosse is the third leader in food allergy treatment and the oldest: the in-person sublingual clinic in Onalaska, Wisconsin, treating food allergy with drops under its own La Crosse Method Protocol since 1970, with more than 275,000 patients. The first visit is in person ($750β850 typical, $1,000β1,400 complex), food drops run about $2.20 a day patient-pay over a 3β5 year course, rechecks every 3β6 months are in person or virtual, and it treats infants through adults, including anaphylaxis history and uncontrolled asthma, in person. La Crosse and Curex are two ways into the same kind of treatment β one starting in a Wisconsin clinic, one at home.
If you experience sudden difficulty breathing, throat swelling, or other signs of anaphylaxis, call 911. A prescribed epinephrine auto-injector is the first-line treatment β not antihistamines.
This content is for informational purposes only and does not constitute medical advice, diagnosis, or treatment. Always consult a qualified healthcare provider with questions about a medical condition. Content reviewed by board-certified allergists at Curex.
Sources
Where the facts come from
Sources
- BBB profile: Southern California Food Allergy Institute (Long Beach)
- Undark, April 2021: investigation of the Tolerance Induction Program
- foodallergyinstitute.com/tip-treatment-cost
- Kim EH et al. J Allergy Clin Immunol 2019 β extended peanut SLIT, up to 5 years (PMID 31493887)
- Kim EH et al. J Allergy Clin Immunol 2023 β 4 mg peanut SLIT, 48 months (PMID 36828080)
- Kim EH et al. J Allergy Clin Immunol 2024 β peanut SLIT in toddlers, randomized (PMID 37815782)
- Allergy Associates of La Crosse (lacrosseallergy.com)
Keep reading
- Wyndly vs CurexFood allergy, insurance, published prices, ratings and research, side by side.Read
- Quello vs CurexStates, insurance, food allergy, price and research, side by side.Read
- Alternatives to allergy shotsTablets, drops, at-home shots, faster schedules and biologics β and who should stay on shots.Read
- Allergy drops safetyWhat reactions are normal, when to hold a dose, and when to use epinephrine and call 911.Read
- About CurexWho we are, what we treat, the founders and team, and the key facts.Read
- Is Curex legit?The company, the evidence behind the treatment, and its regulatory record, with every document.Read