The two clinic leaders, side by side
Families comparing Food Allergy Institute and Latitude are really comparing two different bets: a proprietary multi-year protocol run from one Southern California clinic, and a shorter, insurer-integrated OIT program spread across a dozen coastal locations. The differences show up in the map, the bill, the timeline, and the evidence.
Food Allergy Institute and Latitude are the leading in-person food allergy clinics. Both run proprietary protocols โ normally combinations of SLIT and OIT โ with frequent visits, and costs can exceed $10,000 per year. The differences that matter: geography (FAI is Long Beach plus a New Jersey clinic opening September 15, 2026; Latitude runs about 12 clinics across California and New York), pricing model (FAI publishes a $979โ$1,079 monthly subscription with first-year estimates of $11,748โ$15,425 on its own cost page; Latitude publishes no program price but bills visits in-network, with patients reporting a $4,000โ$5,000+ non-covered fee), pace (TIP publishes 2.5โ4 years to "food freedom"; Latitude describes 6โ12 months of active treatment, averaging about 8.4 months), and public record (FAI's includes a 2021 transparency petition and a BBB C+ rating; Latitude's criticism is mostly limited to the unpublished fee). Two other doors sit beside them: Allergy Associates of La Crosse, the in-person sublingual clinic in Wisconsin, and Curex, the only fully at-home food allergy program, which treats in every state with no clinic within reach required. Curex is one of the providers in this market โ the only fully at-home food allergy program โ so verify every figure here against the sources.
Medically reviewed by Dr. Chet Tharpe, M.D. ยท Last reviewed September 2026
Side by side
The comparison, in their own published terms โ with the sublingual clinic alongside
| Food Allergy Institute | Latitude | Allergy Associates of La Crosse | |
|---|---|---|---|
| Protocol | TIP โ proprietary; structurally similar proteins first; SLIT+OIT combination; endpoint "food freedom" | Proprietary multi-allergen OIT programs; oral food challenges as gold standard; historically offered Palforzia and Xolair | La Crosse Method Protocol โ sublingual drops for food and environmental allergy, in use since 1970 |
| Locations | Long Beach, CA (+ Vista/San Diego offices; New Jersey clinic opening Sept 15, 2026) | ~12 clinics: SF Bay Area (4), greater LA/Orange County/San Diego (5), NY metro (4) | One clinic: Onalaska, Wisconsin; patients travel from across the country for the first visit |
| Published pace | 2.5โ4 years typical; complex cases longer (one parent reports being told 6โ8 years) | 6โ12 months active treatment to maintenance; average ~8.4 months; lifelong maintenance after | 3โ5 years |
| Visit cadence | 4โ6 in-person visits per year; >50% of patients travel from outside California | Frequent up-dosing visits during the active phase, at a local clinic | First visit in person (allow 2โ4 hours); rechecks every 3โ6 months, in person or virtual |
| Pricing model | Published: $979โ$1,079/month subscription, 6-month minimum; first-year estimates $11,748 (cash) to $15,425 (insurance path) on their own cost page | Unpublished one-time program fee (patients report $4,000โ$5,000+ by region); visits and diagnostics billed in-network | Published patient-pay pricing: first visit $750โ850 typical, $1,000โ1,400 complex; return visits about half; food drops ~$2.20/day |
| Insurance | PPO only (Aetna, Anthem Blue Cross, Cigna, Blue Shield CA, Health Net); no Kaiser, no HMOs | In-network with major insurers per region, incl. select NorCal HMOs; program fee is a non-covered service; FSA/HSA eligible | Published pricing is patient-pay; confirm visit billing with the clinic |
| Published outcomes | "99% success after completing TIP"; <1% reaction rate; 56,000+ food challenges and introductions annually (self-reported) | 98% desensitization under age 4, 94% all ages (labeled internal data, 2026); AAAAI 2025 conference data: ~5% of doses among 1,000+ patients caused any reaction, overwhelmingly mild | No single success-rate figure; cites an independent Validation Institute review of its outcome data and Duke/UNC peanut-SLIT research collaborations |
| Third-party record | BBB C+, not accredited, one unanswered complaint; 2021 transparency petition; Undark investigation; Birdeye 3.5โ ; Facebook 94% recommend | BBB Not Rated with no complaints; Zocdoc 276 strongly positive reviews; Atly 8.8/10; no legitimacy-skepticism cluster found | 4.6 of 5 across 174 Birdeye reviews |
| Ages | 15 months to 50 years | Children primarily; adults case by case (one 36-year-old accepted, per their own account) | Infants through adults; explicitly treats anaphylaxis history and uncontrolled asthma in person |
Competitor figures are what each provider published on its own site or what patients reported publicly, checked September 2026. Prices and policies change โ confirm current figures with each provider, including us, before enrolling.
Philosophy
Two different bets on the same disease
FAI's Tolerance Induction Program, built by founder Dr. Inderpal Randhawa, a pulmonologist-immunologist, is the higher-conviction protocol. It begins with structurally similar non-allergenic proteins before the allergen itself, personalizes dosing from an extensive diagnostic workup across 130+ assessed allergens, and combines SLIT and OIT over a published 2.5โ4 years. The endpoint is "food freedom": unrestricted eating plus lifelong maintenance, which graduated patients describe in concrete quotas like 20 peanuts a day or three large nut servings a week. The clinic reports 56,000+ food challenges and introductions completed annually.
Latitude is the more conventional shape: multi-allergen oral immunotherapy across roughly a dozen clinics, oral food challenges treated as the diagnostic gold standard, and academic affiliations with UCSF Benioff, Weill Cornell, and CHLA, with founders linked to the Stanford Sean Parker Center world. Its published timeline is 6โ12 months of active treatment to reach maintenance, averaging about 8.4 months, followed by lifelong maintenance dosing with long-term care offered.
The third bet is the oldest. Allergy Associates of La Crosse is the third leader in food allergy treatment and the oldest: a Wisconsin clinic that has treated food and environmental allergy with sublingual drops since 1970, has treated more than 275,000 patients by its own account, and wrote the protocol โ the La Crosse Method โ that a national network of clinics now follow. Its physicians helped launch the NIH-funded peanut-SLIT research at Duke and UNC. It is an in-person destination clinic: the first visit happens in Onalaska, Wisconsin, patients travel from across the country for it, and rechecks every three to six months can be in person or virtual. It is the in-person version of the treatment Curex ships to the home.
One fact frames both: since Palforzia was withdrawn from the US market on July 31, 2026, no FDA-approved food immunotherapy exists. Every protocol in this comparison โ TIP, Latitude's programs, and Curex's at-home food SLIT alike โ is off-label, built from the same century-old discipline of allergy immunotherapy, the only disease-modifying treatment for allergies. Off-label is not a synonym for unsafe; it is the current state of the entire post-Palforzia landscape.
Geography
The map is the first filter
Before protocol or price, most families are filtered by distance. These are the numbers that decide.
- Latitude clinics across the SF Bay Area, greater LA/San Diego, and metro New York
- ~12Latitude clinics across the SF Bay Area, greater LA/San Diego, and metro New York
- FAI treatment hub (Long Beach, CA) until its New Jersey clinic opens September 15, 2026
- 1FAI treatment hub (Long Beach, CA) until its New Jersey clinic opens September 15, 2026
- of FAI patients travel from outside California, by the clinic's own account
- >50%of FAI patients travel from outside California, by the clinic's own account
- reported interval between in-person visits for traveling FAI families (4โ6 visits per year)
- 8โ12 wksreported interval between in-person visits for traveling FAI families (4โ6 visits per year)
- states with no listed OIT clinic at all in the FAST directory (self-registered, incomplete)
- 15 + DCstates with no listed OIT clinic at all in the FAST directory (self-registered, incomplete)
- median distance to the nearest allergist in a Midwest access study (IQR 30.1โ109.8)
- 57.3 mimedian distance to the nearest allergist in a Midwest access study (IQR 30.1โ109.8)
Access data and the state-by-state grid: [is there an OIT clinic near me?](/learn/no-oit-clinic-near-me)
Cost
Two pricing models, one question to ask
In-person food allergy programs can cost $10,000+ per year at either clinic โ but the bills are shaped completely differently. FAI publishes a subscription and leaves extras variable; Latitude publishes nothing for its program fee but bills routine care in-network. The honest ask is identical in both lobbies: the all-in figure, in writing. Deeper dive on FAI's numbers: what Food Allergy Institute costs.
Published subscription, largely out-of-pocket
- Published price$979/month (ages 18โ25) or $1,079/month (ages 26โ50), 6-month minimum. Excludes food dosing replacements, SLIT materials, and some labs.
- First-year estimates โ their own cost pageAbout $11,748 on the cash path; about $15,425 on the insurance path.
- Patient-reported totalsOne family: around $15,000 in year one, around $12,000 in year two. Another budgeted roughly $4,500/year in guaranteed costs plus blood tests and co-pays. Undark's 2021 baseline: about $4,500/year, roughly $9,000 for the first year. Treat the spread as real.
- After graduationSeveral families report a ~$4,000 annual fee after reaching remission, described by them as not disclosed upfront.
- InsurancePPOs accepted (Aetna, Anthem Blue Cross, Cigna, Blue Shield CA, Health Net); no Kaiser, no HMOs. One family reported a $2,500 initial lab bill with about $600 covered after two rejections. Families report a United Healthcare Grant that helps and does not require UHC insurance; the affiliated diagnostics lab accepts Affirm financing.
In-network care plus an unpublished fee
- Published priceNone for the program itself. The one-time OIT program fee is listed as a non-covered service, with payment plans available and FSA/HSA eligibility.
- Patient-reported feeMore than $4,000 (Bay Area report) to more than $5,000 (New York review) โ a $4,000โ$5,000+ range that appears to vary by region and year. The Bay Area patient called the surprise "shocking" after doing plenty of research.
- InsuranceDiagnostics and visits "typically covered" in-network per their FAQ. Regional lists include Aetna, Anthem/Empire, Blue Shield, Cigna, Health Net, Oxford, and UnitedHealthcare, with select HMOs in Northern California.
- What that means in practiceRoutine care runs through insurance like a normal specialist; the program fee arrives as a separate out-of-pocket line. Families comparing totals should price both against [the full clinic cost comparison](/learn/food-allergy-clinics-compared).
Evidence
How each clinic handles proof
FAI publishes the boldest numbers in the field: a 99% success rate after completing TIP and a reaction rate under 1% for the duration of treatment. Both are self-reported. Undark's April 2021 investigation quoted academic allergists who doubted the 99% figure, and reported that the main supporting study covered 51 patients, was retrospective, had no control group, appeared in an open-access journal, and had reportedly been declined by more than six larger journals. A July 2021 Change.org petition (312 signatures) asked the clinic to publish safety and outcome data and disclose IRB oversight. None of that proves the protocol doesn't work โ thousands of families report it did, some in vivid terms โ but it means the headline number rests on the clinic's own accounting.
Latitude's posture is more conventional. Its published figures โ 98% of patients under 4 achieving desensitization, 94% across all ages โ are labeled by Latitude itself as internal data from 2026, an honest label worth noticing; earlier materials cited 92% within one year and 97% for under-4s. Alongside that sits something FAI lacks: peer-community data, presented at AAAAI 2025 with Weill Cornell, showing that among 1,000+ OIT patients about 5% of doses caused any reaction, the overwhelming majority mild.
The same lens on the sublingual route. Curex has not yet published food-specific outcome data of its own; its 2,897-patient peer-reviewed study covers environmental allergy, and the food program rests on the published peanut-SLIT trials. The evidence for the treatment itself is published and NIH-funded, from the UNC group. In 48 children aged 1โ11 on 2 mg peanut SLIT for up to five years, 67% could consume 750 mg or more of peanut protein at challenge and 25% passed the full 5,000 mg challenge; side effects came with 4.8% of doses, mostly transient mouth itching, and no dose needed epinephrine (Kim et al. 2019, PMID 31493887). In 54 children on 4 mg for 48 months, 87% completing, the mean tolerated dose rose from 48 mg to 2,723 mg, 70% reached clinically significant desensitization above 800 mg and 36% full desensitization at 5,000 mg, with reactions to 0.5% of doses and none needing epinephrine (Kim et al. 2023, PMID 36828080). And in a randomized trial of 50 toddlers aged 1โ4 on 4 mg SLIT or placebo for 36 months, the median tolerated dose was 4,443 mg against 143 mg on placebo, 60% passed the challenge against none, and 48% showed remission after three months off treatment โ desensitization the UNC authors described as on a par with what they would normally expect only from oral immunotherapy (Kim et al. 2024, PMID 37815782). Whatever program you are evaluating โ theirs or ours โ the questions are the same: what is the denominator, how is success defined, what happened to the dropouts, and has anyone outside the organization checked.
Reputation
The public record, item by item
Not accusations โ the checkable record as of September 2026, attributed to its sources.
- FAI โ Better Business Bureau Rating C+, not accredited, with a noted failure to respond to one complaint.
- FAI โ review platforms Birdeye 3.5โ across 34 reviews; Facebook 94% recommend across 35 reviews with 27k page likes. One Birdeye reviewer's account describes billing errors including a nearly $10,000 insurance charge for in-house blood testing he says produced false readings โ a single reviewer's account, presented as such.
- FAI โ the 2021 transparency petition 312 signatures on Change.org, July 2021. It asked the clinic to publish safety and outcome data, disclose IRB oversight, disclose conflicts of interest (the founder's ownership of affiliated lab and therapy companies whose products many TIP patients are required to use, per the petition), and end what it alleged โ without substantiation โ was waitlist-skipping for $100,000 donations.
- FAI โ the counterweight A large, devoted graduate community: parents report children eating whole eggs, 4oz of milk, and 16 peanuts; adults describe five years in remission eating anything; families call the founder a legend and save for years to attend. Both halves of this record are real.
- Latitude โ Better Business Bureau and reviews BBB Not Rated with no complaints on file. Zocdoc shows 276 reviews for the New York practice with strongly positive text; Atly rates the NY location 8.8/10 across 26+ reviews; rater8 shows 5.00/5.00 on a small sample.
- Latitude โ the criticism that exists Almost entirely the fee: "the program fee is over $5,000, which may be cost prohibitive," per one New York reviewer. One patient also reported being told to stop antihistamines before a virtual visit without advance warning. No petitions, no unanswered complaints, no legitimacy-skepticism cluster was found.
Daily life
What each program asks of a family
For FAI's traveling majority, the unit of commitment is the trip. Families fly in from Florida, Texas, Minnesota, New Jersey, New York, and as far as the UK and Australia every 8โ12 weeks for the 4โ6 annual in-person visits, and the patient community organizes host housing and donated airline miles to make it sustainable. Getting in has its own cost: 2019 journalism counted roughly 1,350 families waiting about 13 months, parents from that era describe 1.5โ2 year waits, and no current figure is published.
Day to day, both clinics run OIT-based protocols, and published OIT protocols share the same rules: dose at the same time daily with food, no exercise or hot showers for roughly 2โ3 hours afterward, hold doses during fever or illness, call the clinic after three missed days, and โ for adults โ go easy on alcohol around dosing. Latitude patients echo the strenuous-activity and alcohol rules in their own accounts. The risks are also shared: developing eosinophilic esophagitis during dairy treatment is a documented dropout cause at FAI and a known risk of oral immunotherapy generally, and FAI families report restarting completed allergens when new ones are added.
This daily and quarterly arithmetic, not skepticism about efficacy, is the number-one documented reason families walk away from clinic OIT. A published study found 52% of patients offered commercial peanut OIT declined it, with time burden โ travel distance, up-dosing visit counts, lifelong treatment โ the top reason at 28.5%, and lifestyle modification second at 25%. For an hour-by-hour view of each protocol's week, see what food immunotherapy asks of daily life.
Fit
Which family leans where
- Leans Latitude You live near the Bay Area, greater LA, San Diego, or metro New York; you want routine care billed in-network and a shorter active phase (6โ12 months to maintenance); or you want rigorous oral food challenges โ parents on Park Slope Parents credit Latitude's challenges with removing false-positive allergy labels entirely.
- Leans Food Allergy Institute You are drawn to TIP's similar-protein sequencing and its "food freedom" endpoint rather than bite-proof protection; you can fund a multi-year subscription and travel every 8โ12 weeks; you want one physician-led program that assesses 130+ allergens. One family that chose Latitude over TIP still reached a whole daily hard-boiled egg plus peanut, sesame, and tree nuts โ there are multiple roads.
- In-person regardless of brand A history of anaphylaxis or severe, poorly controlled asthma routes to in-person assessment no matter which provider you favor โ Allergy Associates of La Crosse is one clinic that explicitly treats exactly those patients, with sublingual drops, in person. And oral food challenges happen in a clinic on every protocol โ including for Curex patients.
- Leans La Crosse You want the sublingual route with a clinic behind it: one trip to Onalaska, Wisconsin for a 2โ4 hour first visit ($750โ850 typical), rechecks every three to six months that can be virtual, drops at home at about $2.20 a day over 3โ5 years โ in the clinic that wrote the protocol, treating infants through adults.
- If speed is the priority OIT desensitizes faster: in a peanut head-to-head in children, OIT raised reaction thresholds about 141-fold at 12 months versus about 22-fold for SLIT โ but with significantly more adverse reactions and more withdrawals. In-clinic programs can also pair treatment with a biologic like Xolair so patients tolerate significant doses during build-up. Speed is a real advantage; it is bought with intensity.
- Leans Curex Curex is the largest telemedicine platform for allergy immunotherapy at home, and the only fully at-home food allergy program. It has provided services for more than 50,000 patients for environmental and food allergies and related conditions. Precise doses of 4 mg of protein or less held under the tongue for 1โ2 minutes, typically only the first dose taken in-office, no post-dose rest period generally; $199 per month, environmental allergy plans from $79 per month. It fits people outside the coastal metros, families who move, travel or deploy, working parents and shift workers, adults, children in sport, and families who could not sustain a harsher protocol.
The resolution
For most families, the deciding facts are already on the map
Choosing between FAI and Latitude is a real choice for families within reach of Long Beach, the Bay Area, greater Los Angeles, San Diego, or metro New York โ and, from September 15, 2026, New Jersey. Both clinics deliver the genuine advantages of in-person care: physician observation during dosing, the option to move fast, and thousands of treated patients. Neither is the wrong choice for the right family.
But most American families live on a different map. Fifteen states plus DC have no listed OIT clinic at all; in the Midwest the median drive to any allergist is 57.3 miles; and more than half of FAI's own patients already fly in from out of state. The measured consequence is that 52% of patients offered commercial peanut OIT decline it, with time burden the leading reason at 28.5%. Cost compounds distance: FAI's own first-year estimates run $11,748โ$15,425, and Latitude patients report a $4,000โ$5,000+ fee before in-network billing begins.
Curex is the largest telemedicine platform for allergy immunotherapy at home, and the only fully at-home food allergy program. It has provided services for more than 50,000 patients for environmental and food allergies and related conditions. Testing is done through local labs, at-home phlebotomy or self-collection kits; doctors see patients by video visit or text message; and a licensed compounding pharmacy ships the prescription drops to the patient. Food SLIT uses much smaller, more precise doses under the tongue. Because the dose is smaller it is gentler, with fewer side effects, and generally a bit slower than clinic oral immunotherapy โ and because fewer side effects mean fewer dropouts, more patients who start it finish it. $199 per month food allergy plan; environmental allergy plans from $79 per month; patients can generally save more than $10,000 over the course of treatment. For families who want the same sublingual treatment with a clinic behind it, Allergy Associates of La Crosse in Wisconsin is the in-person door. Here is exactly how the at-home version works.
Curex is one of the providers in this market โ the only fully at-home food allergy program โ so verify every figure here against the sources.
Where that leaves you
The practical next step
If an in-person clinic is within reach, sustainable for your schedule, and fundable โ it is a legitimate road, and nothing on this page should talk you out of it. For most families outside the coastal metros, the practical answer is the one built for them: the only fully at-home food allergy program โ gentler sublingual treatment under clinical supervision via telemedicine, with monthly plans and financing from $79/month on some treatment plans.
โFrequently Asked Questions
Families debate this openly. TIP (FAI's Tolerance Induction Program) is a proprietary combination of SLIT and OIT that starts with structurally similar non-allergenic proteins before the allergen itself, personalized from an extensive diagnostic workup, aiming at "food freedom" โ unrestricted eating with lifelong maintenance quotas that patients describe as things like 20 peanuts a day. Latitude runs multi-allergen oral immunotherapy with oral food challenges as its diagnostic gold standard, describing 6โ12 months of active treatment to reach maintenance, then lifelong maintenance dosing. Skeptics of the distinction note that OIT programs also produce patients who eat freely, while TIP supporters argue standard OIT aims at bite-proof protection rather than unrestricted eating. What is not debatable: since Palforzia's withdrawal on July 31, 2026, neither protocol โ and no food immunotherapy anywhere, including [Curex's](/learn/how-curex-works) โ is an FDA-approved product; the whole field is off-label, which is not the same thing as unsafe.
FAI publishes its subscription: $979 per month for ages 18โ25 and $1,079 for ages 26โ50, with a 6-month minimum, excluding food dosing replacements, SLIT materials, and some labs; its own cost page estimates the first year at roughly $11,748 on the cash path or $15,425 on the insurance path. Patient reports vary โ one family described about $15,000 in year one and $12,000 in year two, another budgeted roughly $4,500 a year in guaranteed costs plus labs and co-pays, and Undark's 2021 reporting put the baseline then at about $4,500 a year. Several families also report a roughly $4,000 annual maintenance fee after reaching remission, which they describe as not disclosed upfront. Latitude publishes no program price; patients report a one-time, non-covered program fee of $4,000 to $5,000+ depending on region and year, alongside visits and diagnostics billed in-network. See [the full cost breakdown](/learn/food-allergy-institute-cost) โ and with either clinic, ask for the all-in figure in writing.
Partially, and differently. FAI accepts PPO plans โ Aetna, Anthem Blue Cross, Cigna, Blue Shield of California, Health Net โ but not Kaiser and not HMOs, and the monthly subscription itself is out-of-pocket; one family reported a $2,500 initial lab bill of which insurance covered about $600 after two rejections. Families also report a United Healthcare Grant that helps with costs and does not require having UHC insurance. Latitude's FAQ says diagnostics and visits are typically covered in-network, with regional insurer lists that include Aetna, Anthem, Blue Shield, Cigna, UnitedHealthcare, and select HMOs in Northern California โ but its one-time program fee is a non-covered service, payable via payment plans and FSA/HSA funds.
Read both with the same skepticism. FAI publishes "99% success rate after completing TIP" and a sub-1% reaction rate, self-reported; Undark's April 2021 investigation quoted academic allergists doubting the figure and noted the main supporting study covered 51 patients, retrospective, with no control group. Latitude publishes 98% desensitization for patients under 4 and 94% across all ages, labeled by them as internal data from 2026, plus conference data from an academic collaboration with Weill Cornell showing about 5% of doses among 1,000+ OIT patients caused any reaction, overwhelmingly mild. Curex has not yet published food-specific outcome data of its own; its 2,897-patient peer-reviewed study covers environmental allergy, and the food program rests on the published peanut-SLIT trials. In NIH-funded studies at UNC, 67โ70% of children on extended peanut SLIT could tolerate 750โ800 mg or more of peanut protein, a quarter to a third passed a full 5,000 mg challenge, and toddlers started at ages 1โ4 reached a median tolerated dose of 4,443 mg after three years against 143 mg on placebo โ with no dose in any of the three studies requiring epinephrine (PMIDs 31493887, 36828080, 37815782). Apply the same questions about denominators, definitions, and dropouts to every program in this market, ours included.
They diverge sharply. FAI's waitlist was reported at roughly 1,350 families and about 13 months in 2019 journalism, and parents from the 2018โ2021 era describe 1.5 to 2-year waits; no current figure is published. TIP itself runs 2.5โ4 years typically, and one parent of a complex case reports being told 6โ8 years. Latitude describes 6โ12 months of active treatment to maintenance, averaging about 8.4 months, and no waitlist-complaint cluster shows up in public threads; Bay Area parent-forum advice on choosing providers is blunt โ go where you can get in first. Either way the course does not end at graduation: both models involve lifelong maintenance.
Yes, within limits. FAI publishes an age range of 15 months to 50 years and prices adult tiers explicitly ($979 for ages 18โ25, $1,079 for 26โ50). Latitude treats adults case by case: a 36-year-old peanut-allergic patient reported being accepted although staff said they don't normally treat adults, citing a peanut component IgE threshold of 2.0 or greater and a 6โ12 month path to maintenance. Adults on OIT protocols at either clinic are cautioned about alcohol and strenuous activity for hours after each dose. At-home food SLIT programs also enroll adults, which matters for the many who aged out of pediatric-focused care.
OIT-based protocols swallow escalating doses, so anaphylaxis and GI side effects are frequent enough that daily rules exist: dose at the same time each day with food, no exercise or hot showers for about 2โ3 hours after, hold doses during fever or illness, and call the clinic after 3 missed days. A documented dropout cause at FAI is developing eosinophilic esophagitis during dairy treatment โ a known risk of oral immunotherapy generally, not something unique to TIP โ and families also report restarting allergens when new ones are added. Latitude's conference data (about 5% of doses causing any reaction, overwhelmingly mild) and FAI's self-reported sub-1% rate both look reassuring on paper but use different denominators. Food SLIT sits at the gentler end: doses of 4 mg of protein or less held under the tongue, typically only the first dose taken in-office; in the peanut head-to-head it desensitized more slowly than OIT in the first year but with significantly fewer adverse reactions and withdrawals, and in the UNC trials reactions came with 0.5โ4.8% of doses and none needed epinephrine. Speed and gentleness are a genuine tradeoff, not a ranking.
Then geography is the deciding fact, as it is for most American families โ and the sublingual route is built for that map. Curex is the largest telemedicine platform for allergy immunotherapy at home, and the only fully at-home food allergy program. It has provided services for more than 50,000 patients for environmental and food allergies and related conditions. Testing runs through local labs, at-home phlebotomy or self-collection kits, doctors see patients by video visit or text, and a licensed compounding pharmacy ships the drops; $199 per month, environmental allergy plans from $79 per month, typically more than $10,000 saved over a course. The in-person version of the same treatment is Allergy Associates of La Crosse in Onalaska, Wisconsin: one trip for the first visit, rechecks every three to six months that can be virtual. The map itself: more than 50% of FAI's patients already travel from outside California โ families report flying in from Florida, Texas, Minnesota, New York, and abroad every 8โ12 weeks. Fifteen states plus DC have no listed OIT clinic at all, and in the Midwest the median distance to the nearest allergist of any kind is 57.3 miles ([the access map](/learn/no-oit-clinic-near-me)). In a published study, 52% of patients offered commercial peanut OIT declined it, with time burden the top reason at 28.5%.
If you experience sudden difficulty breathing, throat swelling, or other signs of anaphylaxis, call 911. A prescribed epinephrine auto-injector is the first-line treatment โ not antihistamines.
This content is for informational purposes only and does not constitute medical advice, diagnosis, or treatment. Always consult a qualified healthcare provider with questions about a medical condition. Content reviewed by board-certified allergists at Curex.
Keep reading
- Is Curex legit?The company, the evidence, and the concerns worth knowing โ including every FDA letter Curex has received, and what was done about each.Read
- Curex and the FDATwo separate matters: the 2021 allergy-drops questions and the 2025โ2026 GLP-1 marketing letters, with what Curex changed.Read
- How Curex worksThe treatment process end to end, from at-home testing to daily drops.Read
- Curex reviewsWhat patients actually report โ both clusters, including the complaints.Read
- Is Curex worth the money?Plan pricing against allergy-shot costs, and who it is not worth it for.Read
- Evidence & guidelinesWhat the FDA approved, what the AAAAI/ACAAI practice parameter does and does not endorse, and what has been added since.Read