Legitimacy

Is Food Allergy Institute legit?

Families type this into Google every month, usually late at night after a diagnosis. It deserves a factual answer built from the public record β€” not a competitor's smear, and not a fan's testimonial either.

Short answer

Legitimate β€” yes. Food Allergy Institute is a real, physician-led clinic in Long Beach, California (with a second location opened in New Jersey in September 2026) that has treated thousands of patients, publishes its prices, and has years of detailed public graduation stories behind it. The question families are actually asking β€” "can I trust the marketing?" β€” has a more textured answer. The flagship 99% success figure is self-reported and measured among patients who complete the program; the main supporting publication is a 51-patient retrospective study; a 2021 petition with 312 signatures and a BBB C+ rating document unresolved transparency complaints; and patients report first-year costs around $15,000 with some fees surfacing late. A legitimate clinic and marketing that outruns its published evidence can coexist. This page lays out both halves with sources. Curex is one of the providers in this market β€” the only fully at-home food allergy program β€” so verify every figure here against the sources.

Medically reviewed by Dr. Chet Tharpe, M.D. Β· Last reviewed September 2026

The real question

Three questions hiding inside one

"Is it legit?" bundles three separate questions, and they have three separate answers. First: is this a real medical clinic? Yes β€” physician-founded, operating for years at scale, with a second location opened in New Jersey on September 15, 2026. That answer is easy and it is not the one families are actually unsure about.

Second: do independent data back the marketing claims? Here the answer is no β€” not because the claims are proven false, but because the evidence the clinic has published is thin relative to the size of the claims. A 99% success rate, a sub-1% reaction rate, and 56,000+ food challenges a year are big numbers resting on a 51-patient retrospective study and internal reporting.

Third: is this program right for your family? That depends on geography, budget, and how a multi-year commitment of flights every 8 to 12 weeks fits your life β€” questions no review can answer for you, but which the numbers below can inform.

One thing before the record: Curex is one of the providers in this market β€” the only fully at-home food allergy program β€” so verify every figure here against the sources.

Self-reported

The clinic by its own numbers

Everything in this row comes from foodallergyinstitute.com, checked September 2026. These are the clinic's claims about itself, presented as published.

success rate "after completing TIP" β€” self-reported, completers only
99%success rate "after completing TIP" β€” self-reported, completers only
reaction rate claimed for the duration of the program
<1%reaction rate claimed for the duration of the program
food challenges and introductions per year, per the clinic
56,000+food challenges and introductions per year, per the clinic
allergens the program says it assesses
130+allergens the program says it assesses
typical duration; complex cases longer β€” one parent reports being told 6–8 years
2.5–4 yrstypical duration; complex cases longer β€” one parent reports being told 6–8 years
of patients travel from outside California, per the clinic
>50%of patients travel from outside California, per the clinic

None of these figures has been independently audited. The duration and travel figures are consistent with years of patient accounts; the outcome figures are contested below.

The record

Verifiable, on each side

Documented concerns

Attributable and public β€” not anonymous forum noise.

  • BBB C+, not accreditedOne complaint noted as "failure to respond" on the public profile for Southern California Food Allergy Institute, checked September 2026.
  • 2021 transparency petition312 signatories asked the clinic to publish safety and outcome data, disclose IRB oversight, and disclose the founder's ownership of affiliated labs whose services many patients are required to use.
  • Thin published evidenceThe main supporting study: 51 patients, retrospective, no control group, reportedly declined by more than six larger journals before publication in an open-access journal.
  • Costs reported as surfacing lateMultiple families describe a roughly $4,000 annual post-remission fee they say was not disclosed upfront, and one reports a $2,500 initial lab bill of which insurance covered about $600 after two rejections.
Marks of a real clinic

Equally verifiable, equally public.

  • Physician-led, operating at scaleFounded by a licensed pulmonologist-immunologist; a functioning multi-year program treating ages 15 months to 50, now expanding to a second coast.
  • Documented graduations across yearsPublic accounts include "graduated a year ago and freely eats everything" and "in remission for 5 years, I can eat anything" β€” a consistent cluster, not isolated posts.
  • Families invest heavily to attendRepeat cross-country and international travel every 8–12 weeks for years, with community networks sharing host housing and donated airline miles β€” behavior incompatible with a program families consider fake.
  • Positive review base94% recommend on Facebook (35 reviews, 27k page likes); Birdeye shows 3.5 stars across 34 reviews β€” small samples, but real ones, cutting both ways.

Claims vs. verification

What the marketing says, and what stands behind it

The core of the legitimacy question is the gap between claim and independent verification. Row by row:

The claimWhere it comes fromIndependent verification
99% success rateClinic website, measured "after completing TIP"None published. Undark (April 2021) quoted academic allergists β€” including Hugh Windom ("Come on, there's no way") and Philippe BΓ©gin β€” rejecting the figure as implausible. Attrition data that would define the denominator is not released.
<1% reaction rate during treatmentClinic websiteNo independent audit. The main supporting publication is a 51-patient retrospective study without a control group.
Method "under FDA review"Patient reports of what they were told at the clinicUnverifiable either way. Practice protocols are not FDA-approved products, and since Palforzia's withdrawal on July 31, 2026, no FDA-approved food immunotherapy exists β€” every program in this market is off-label.
"Food freedom": unrestricted eating for lifeClinic's stated endpoint; graduates describe maintenance quotas such as 20 peanuts a dayThe graduation accounts are real and public. Long-term independent follow-up data is not published, and some families report restarting portions of treatment when adding new allergens.

The same test applies to every provider. Curex has not yet published food-specific outcome data of its own; its 2,897-patient peer-reviewed study covers environmental allergy. The food program rests on the published peanut-SLIT trials that follow. In NIH-funded studies at UNC, 48 children aged 1–11 on 2 mg peanut SLIT for up to five years: 67% could consume 750 mg or more of peanut protein at challenge, 25% passed the full 5,000 mg challenge, and no dose required epinephrine (PMID 31493887). On 4 mg for 48 months, with 87% of 54 children completing, 70% reached clinically significant desensitization above 800 mg and 36% full desensitization at 5,000 mg, with reactions after 0.5% of doses (PMID 36828080). In a randomized trial of 50 toddlers aged 1–4, the median tolerated dose after 36 months was 4,443 mg against 143 mg on placebo, 60% passed the challenge against none, and 48% showed remission after three months off treatment (PMID 37815782). Ask us for evidence with the same skepticism you bring here.

The paper trail

The petition and the reporting, in detail

Two documents anchor the criticism, and both are worth reading firsthand rather than through summaries. The first is a July 2021 Change.org petition, "Increase transparency to better serve patients," signed by 312 people. It asked the clinic to publish safety and outcome data, disclose institutional review board oversight, and disclose conflicts of interest β€” specifically that the founder owns affiliated companies including Foundation Labs, whose products and services, the petition stated, many TIP patients are required to use. It also alleged that $100,000 donations let wealthy patients bypass the waitlist (an allegation that remains unverified) and asked for changes to how the program's roughly 4,000-member private Facebook group is moderated.

The second is Undark's April 2021 investigation into the clinic. Its reporting quoted multiple academic allergists doubting the 99% figure and traced the program's published evidence to the 51-patient retrospective study described above. The same reporting put costs at the time around $4,500 a year, with a first year near $9,000 β€” useful as a baseline, since patient-reported figures in 2026 run substantially higher.

Set against this: the waitlist itself tells a story. Journalism from 2019 counted roughly 1,350 families waiting about 13 months, and parents from the 2018–2021 era describe waits of 1.5 to 2 years. Demand at that scale, sustained for years, is not what a discredited program looks like. Both things are in the record at once β€” that is the texture of this answer.

The money

Published prices vs. what families report paying

Conflicting figures are shown side by side rather than averaged. The deeper breakdown lives on the FAI cost page.

Line itemClinic-published (Sept 2026)Patient-reported
Monthly subscription$979/mo (ages 18–25), $1,079/mo (ages 26–50), 6-month minimum; excludes food dosing replacements, SLIT materials, some labsβ€”
First year, all-in~$11,748 cash path / ~$15,425 insurance path, per the clinic's own cost page"Around $15,000" (one family, recent); ~$9,000 in Undark's 2021 baseline
Later yearsNot itemized"Around $12,000" for year two; another family: "assume approx $4,500/year in guaranteed costs" plus blood tests and co-pays
After remissionNot listed on the cost page~$4,000/year maintenance fee, described by several families as not disclosed upfront
DiagnosticsExtensive proprietary workup via affiliated labs; Affirm financing acceptedOne family: $2,500 initial lab bill, insurance covered ~$600, rejected twice
InsurancePPO accepted: Aetna, Anthem Blue Cross, Cigna, Blue Shield CA, Health Net. Not Kaiser, not HMOsFamilies report a United Healthcare Grant helps with costs and does not require having UHC insurance

Travel is the unlisted line item: more than half of patients fly in, typically every 8–12 weeks, for 2.5–4 years. Flights, hotels, and missed work belong in any honest total.

Due diligence

Eight checks you can run in an afternoon

Every one of these uses public records or a direct question the clinic can answer in writing. They apply, with the names changed, to any food allergy program β€” ours included.

  • 1. Verify the license Look up the founding physician on the Medical Board of California's public license search. Takes two minutes and settles the "real doctor" question with a primary source.
  • 2. Read the BBB profile yourself C+, not accredited, one complaint noted as unanswered as of September 2026. Read the complaint text rather than the letter grade alone.
  • 3. Read the clinic's own cost page The $11,748 and $15,425 first-year estimates are the clinic's numbers, not a critic's. Note what the subscription excludes.
  • 4. Get all-in pricing in writing Specifically ask: labs through affiliated companies, food dosing replacements, SLIT materials, and any annual fee after remission. Several families report that last item surfaced only when they asked pointed questions.
  • 5. Ask for completion rates The 99% figure counts completers. Ask what fraction of enrollees complete, and how the clinic defines and counts dropouts. That data is not currently released.
  • 6. Call your insurer first PPO plans are accepted; Kaiser and HMOs are not. One family's $2,500 lab bill was rejected twice before partial coverage. Confirm before your first appointment, and ask about the United Healthcare Grant.
  • 7. Read both clusters of threads The graduation stories are real; so are the billing complaints and the petition. Reading only one cluster β€” either one β€” gives you a distorted picture.
  • 8. Price the alternatives on the same axes Cost per year, visits per year, evidence published, time to result. The provider comparison puts FAI, Latitude, Allergy Associates of La Crosse, and Curex side by side using published figures.

The verdict

Legitimate clinic; verify the marketing β€” then ask the fit question

The public record supports both halves of the verdict. Nothing in it suggests Food Allergy Institute is fake: it is a real clinic, run by a real specialist, with years of documented graduates and demand strong enough to have sustained a waitlist of over a thousand families. And nothing in it independently verifies the flagship figures: the 99% is self-reported among completers, the supporting study covered 51 patients, and the transparency questions raised in 2021 remain, on the public record, unanswered. That combination is common in medicine, and it has a standard remedy β€” get the numbers in writing and check the sources yourself.

Then comes the question the legitimacy debate obscures: even a fully legitimate FAI is a program built around Long Beach and, since September 2026, New Jersey. More than half of its own patients fly in from elsewhere, every 8 to 12 weeks, for 2.5 to 4 years, at a first-year cost the clinic itself estimates at $11,748 to $15,425. For families weighing that commitment, the broader data is sobering: 15 states plus DC have no listed OIT clinic at all, the median distance to the nearest allergist in one Midwest study was 57.3 miles, and when patients were offered commercial peanut OIT in a published study, 52% declined β€” with time burden the number-one reason, at 28.5%.

Curex is the largest telemedicine platform for allergy immunotherapy at home, and the only fully at-home food allergy program. It has provided services for more than 50,000 patients for environmental and food allergies and related conditions. Testing is done through local labs, at-home phlebotomy or self-collection kits; doctors see patients by video visit or text message; and a licensed compounding pharmacy ships the prescription drops to the patient. Food SLIT uses much smaller, more precise doses under the tongue. Because the dose is smaller it is gentler, with fewer side effects, and generally a bit slower than clinic oral immunotherapy β€” and because fewer side effects mean fewer dropouts, more patients who start it finish it. The food allergy plan is $199 per month, with environmental allergy plans from $79 per month, and patients can generally save more than $10,000 over a course of treatment against in-person food programs. It is the right place to start for the families it fits: anyone outside the handful of coastal metros the clinics serve β€” Curex treats in every state, from home, with no clinic within reach required β€” families who move, travel or deploy, working parents and shift workers, adults, children in sport, and families who could not sustain a harsher protocol. The decision, either way, deserves the same standard this page applies to FAI: written numbers, published evidence, and your own verification.

Allergy Associates of La Crosse is the third leader in food allergy treatment and the oldest: a Wisconsin clinic that has treated food and environmental allergy with sublingual drops since 1970, has treated more than 275,000 patients by its own account, and wrote the protocol β€” the La Crosse Method β€” that a national network of clinics now follow. Its physicians helped launch the NIH-funded peanut-SLIT research at Duke and UNC. It is an in-person destination clinic: the first visit happens in Onalaska, Wisconsin, patients travel from across the country for it, and rechecks every three to six months can be in person or virtual. In-person programs like TIP hold genuine advantages: physician observation at every dose escalation, and speed β€” in the head-to-head peanut trial, OIT raised tolerance thresholds about 141-fold at 12 months versus 22-fold for SLIT, at the cost of significantly more reactions and withdrawals. A history of anaphylaxis or severe, poorly controlled asthma is assessed in person before any immunotherapy starts β€” at FAI, at Latitude, or at La Crosse, which treats exactly these patients β€” and food challenges happen in clinic on every protocol, Curex's included. If Long Beach or New Jersey is within reach and the calendar holds, TIP's supervised speed is a real argument; if it is not, at-home treatment is the fit.

Where that leaves you

The practical next step

If an in-person clinic is within reach, sustainable for your schedule, and fundable β€” it is a legitimate road, and nothing on this page should talk you out of it. For most families outside the coastal metros, the practical answer is the one built for them: the only fully at-home food allergy program β€” gentler sublingual treatment under clinical supervision via telemedicine, with monthly plans and financing from $79/month on some treatment plans.

❓Frequently Asked Questions

Yes, unambiguously. It was founded and is led by Dr. Inderpal Randhawa, a pulmonologist-immunologist, and has operated in Long Beach, California for years, opening its first clinic outside Southern California in New Jersey on September 15, 2026. It treats patients from 15 months to 50 years old, and more than half travel from outside California β€” public threads document families flying in from Florida, Texas, New York, Minnesota, the UK, Ireland, and Australia every 8 to 12 weeks. Thousands of families have gone through the multi-year Tolerance Induction Program, and detailed graduation accounts are easy to find across years of public communities. Whether the clinic is real is not the open question; whether the marketing claims are independently verified is.

Because the marketing makes very strong claims and the published evidence behind them is thin, which reads to some families as overreach β€” especially at $979 to $1,079 per month. The documentable substance behind the skepticism: a proprietary, largely unpublished protocol; a self-reported 99% success figure measured among completers; a 51-patient retrospective study as the main supporting publication; a July 2021 transparency petition with 312 signatures; a BBB C+ rating with one complaint noted as unanswered; and patient reports of costs that surfaced late, including a roughly $4,000 annual post-remission fee. None of that is evidence of fraud. It is evidence that precise, written questions are warranted before you sign.

It is the clinic's own published figure β€” "99% success rate after completing TIP" β€” and no independent audit backs it. The phrase "after completing" matters: long-time observers report that many families drop out, and the clinic does not release attrition data, so the denominator is unknown. Undark's April 2021 investigation quoted academic allergists who doubted the number, and reported that the main supporting study covered 51 patients, was retrospective, had no control group, and had reportedly been declined by more than six larger journals before publication. Real graduates exist in real numbers β€” accounts like "my son can now eat whole egg, 4 oz milk, and 16 peanuts" are public and span years. The honest reading is that the graduations are verifiable and the headline percentage is not. Ask for completion rates in writing, from them and from any provider, including us.

TIP is a medical practice's treatment protocol, not an FDA-approved product, and protocols do not require FDA approval to be legal or legitimate. Some patients report being told the method is under FDA review; skeptics note that a practice protocol is not the kind of thing the FDA reviews, and neither claim can be verified from the public record. The larger context settles the practical question: since Palforzia was withdrawn from the US market on July 31, 2026, no FDA-approved food immunotherapy exists at all β€” every program in this space, clinic or at-home, Curex included, works off-label using its own protocol. Off-label does not mean unsafe; compounded and clinic protocols are built from the same FDA-approved allergenic extracts used in allergy shots. The only FDA-approved food allergy medication today is Xolair, which reduces reaction severity on accidental exposure but does not desensitize.

The clinic publishes a subscription of $979 per month for ages 18–25 and $1,079 per month for ages 26–50, with a 6-month minimum, and its own cost page estimates the first year at roughly $11,748 on the cash path versus $15,425 on the insurance path. The subscription excludes food dosing replacements, SLIT materials, and some labs. Patient reports run higher: around $15,000 all-in for the first year, around $12,000 for the second, one family's advice to "assume approximately $4,500 a year in guaranteed costs" plus blood tests and co-pays, and a roughly $4,000 annual fee after reaching remission that several families say was not disclosed upfront. The clinic accepts PPO plans (Aetna, Anthem Blue Cross, Cigna, Blue Shield CA, Health Net) but not Kaiser or HMOs, and families report a United Healthcare Grant that helps with costs regardless of insurer. The full money trail is on [the FAI cost page](/learn/food-allergy-institute-cost).

In July 2021, a Change.org petition titled "Increase transparency to better serve patients" gathered 312 signatures. It asked the clinic to publish safety and outcome data, disclose research oversight (IRB), and disclose conflicts of interest β€” the founder owns affiliated companies including Foundation Labs, and the petition stated that many TIP patients are required to use the products and services of these entities. It also alleged that $100,000 donations allowed wealthy patients to bypass waitlists β€” an allegation that remains unverified β€” and asked for moderation changes in the program's roughly 4,000-member private Facebook group. It was a small petition, but it documents in concrete terms the questions families wanted answered, and no published point-by-point response has surfaced since.

Five things, all doable in an afternoon. Verify the physician's license on the Medical Board of California's public lookup. Read the BBB profile yourself β€” C+, not accredited, one complaint noted as unanswered as of September 2026. Read the clinic's own cost page rather than any summary of it, then ask for all-in written pricing that includes labs, dosing materials, and post-remission fees. Ask directly for completion and attrition rates, since dropout data is not released. Finally, read both the enthusiastic threads and the critical ones in public food-allergy communities β€” either alone gives a distorted picture.

Then you are the typical case, not the exception: more than 50% of FAI's patients already travel from outside California, typically every 8 to 12 weeks for 2.5 to 4 years. Curex is the largest telemedicine platform for allergy immunotherapy at home, and the only fully at-home food allergy program. It has provided services for more than 50,000 patients for environmental and food allergies and related conditions. Food SLIT uses much smaller, more precise doses under the tongue. Because the dose is smaller it is gentler, with fewer side effects, and generally a bit slower than clinic oral immunotherapy β€” and because fewer side effects mean fewer dropouts, more patients who start it finish it. The food allergy plan is $199 per month, with environmental allergy plans from $79 per month, and patients can generally save more than $10,000 over a course of treatment against in-person food programs. It is a first choice for families outside the coastal metros the clinics serve β€” Curex treats in every state, from home β€” and for families who move, travel or deploy, working parents and shift workers, adults, children in sport, and families who could not sustain a harsher protocol. The access numbers explain why: 15 states plus DC have no listed OIT clinic at all, a Midwest study found a median of 57.3 miles to the nearest allergist of any kind, and when 67 patients were offered commercial peanut OIT in a published study, 52% declined, with time burden the number-one reason at 28.5%. Candidacy is clinical β€” a history of anaphylaxis or severe asthma is assessed in person with any provider, and Allergy Associates of La Crosse treats exactly those patients in person. See [is Curex legit](/learn/is-curex-legit).

Allergy Associates of La Crosse is the third leader in food allergy treatment and the oldest: the in-person sublingual clinic in Onalaska, Wisconsin, treating food and environmental allergy with drops under its own La Crosse Method Protocol since 1970, with more than 275,000 patients by its own account. The first visit is in person in Onalaska (allow 2–4 hours; typically $750–850, or $1,000–1,400 for complex cases), return visits run about half that, food allergy drops are about $2.20 a day patient-pay, a course is 3–5 years, and rechecks every 3–6 months can be in person or virtual. It treats infants through adults, and it explicitly treats patients with a history of anaphylaxis or uncontrolled asthma, in person. Its sublingual drops are the same kind of treatment Curex provides at home.

If you experience sudden difficulty breathing, throat swelling, or other signs of anaphylaxis, call 911. A prescribed epinephrine auto-injector is the first-line treatment β€” not antihistamines.

This content is for informational purposes only and does not constitute medical advice, diagnosis, or treatment. Always consult a qualified healthcare provider with questions about a medical condition. Content reviewed by board-certified allergists at Curex.

Ready to treat your allergies at the source?

Take the free allergy quiz to find out if immunotherapy is right for you and get started with personalized treatment today.

Take Free Allergy Quiz