Insurance

Insurance at Latitude: the two-part answer

"Accepts most insurance" and "insurance won't cover the program fee" are both true at once. Families deserve both sentences upfront — with the numbers attached.

Short answer

Two-part answer, both parts true. Visits and diagnostics — including oral food challenges — are generally billable: Latitude is in-network with major insurers in each region it operates (Aetna, Anthem, Blue Shield, Cigna, UnitedHealthcare and others; the exact list differs between Northern California, Southern California, and New York). The one-time OIT program fee is explicitly a non-covered service. Latitude does not publish the amount; patients report over $4,000 in the Bay Area and over $5,000 in New York, with payment plans and FSA/HSA eligibility offered. The frustration in public threads comes precisely from hearing the first sentence and meeting the second one late. The split is the industry's shape, not Latitude's invention: since Palforzia's withdrawal on July 31, 2026, no FDA-approved food immunotherapy exists, so every program's core — clinic or at-home — is out-of-pocket. At home the split is the same shape with a smaller uncovered core: Curex's food allergy plan is $199 per month, environmental allergy plans from $79 per month. Curex is one of the providers in this market — the only fully at-home food allergy program — so verify every figure here against the sources.

Medically reviewed by Dr. Chet Tharpe, M.D. · Last reviewed September 2026

The split

Both sentences are true

Latitude Food Allergy Care tells families it accepts most insurance. That is true: it is in-network with the major carriers in each of its three regions, and its FAQ describes diagnostics and visits as typically covered. The same FAQ says the one-time OIT program fee is a non-covered service. That is also true. The frustration you find in public threads comes from the order in which those two sentences arrive — one Bay Area parent wrote that paying over $4,000 out-of-pocket was "shocking given I did plenty of research."

Before the arithmetic, the substance. Latitude is a serious clinic. It runs multi-allergen oral immunotherapy (OIT) with in-person physician supervision across roughly a dozen locations, publishes outcome figures — 94% of patients of all ages achieved desensitization, 98% of patients under 4, per its internal 2026 data — and presented safety data at AAAAI 2025 with Weill Cornell showing about 5% of doses among 1,000+ OIT patients caused any reaction, the overwhelming majority mild. It is affiliated with UCSF Benioff, Weill Cornell, and CHLA. Its third-party record is clean: no BBB complaints, 276 strongly positive Zocdoc reviews for the New York practice, and no legitimacy-skepticism cluster anywhere we could find. Active treatment reaches maintenance in 6–12 months, averaging about 8.4 months — genuinely fast for this field.

What follows is the part the marketing sentence leaves out: exactly what gets billed to insurance, what lands on you, and what the whole market — Latitude, its clinic competitors, and at-home programs like ours — has in common.

By region

The in-network lists, per Latitude's own FAQ

Latitude operates in three regions, each with its own insurer list. Diagnostics and visits are described as typically covered in-network. The one-time OIT program fee is excluded everywhere.

RegionLocationsListed insurers
Northern CaliforniaRedwood City, San Francisco, San Rafael, San RamonAetna · Anthem Blue Cross · Blue Shield · Cigna · Health Net · UnitedHealthcare · select HMOs
Southern CaliforniaPasadena, Irvine, San Diego, Sherman Oaks, West LAAetna · Blue Cross · Blue Shield · Cigna · HealthNet · UnitedHealthcare
New YorkManhattan (UES), Brooklyn, Long Island, White PlainsAetna · Anthem · Empire Blue Cross · Cigna · Oxford · UnitedHealthcare

Checked September 2026 against the clinic's FAQ. Competitor figures on this page are what each provider published on its own site or what patients reported publicly, dated where checked. Prices, networks, and policies change — confirm current figures with each provider, including us, before enrolling.

The numbers

What the public record puts on the table

Patient-reported program fee — over $4,000 (Bay Area, Reddit) to over $5,000 (New York, Atly review). Not published by the clinic; non-covered by its own description.
$4,000–$5,000+Patient-reported program fee — over $4,000 (Bay Area, Reddit) to over $5,000 (New York, Atly review). Not published by the clinic; non-covered by its own description.
Average active treatment to maintenance (clinic-published; range 6–12 months), followed by lifelong maintenance dosing.
~8.4 monthsAverage active treatment to maintenance (clinic-published; range 6–12 months), followed by lifelong maintenance dosing.
Patients of all ages achieving desensitization per Latitude's internal 2026 data; 98% under age 4. Earlier materials cited 92% within one year.
94%Patients of all ages achieving desensitization per Latitude's internal 2026 data; 98% under age 4. Earlier materials cited 92% within one year.
Share of doses causing any reaction among 1,000+ OIT patients, overwhelming majority mild — AAAAI 2025 data with Weill Cornell.
~5%Share of doses causing any reaction among 1,000+ OIT patients, overwhelming majority mild — AAAAI 2025 data with Weill Cornell.

Outcome figures are the clinic's own internal data, not independently audited. Fee figures are patient reports; show them to the clinic and ask for your number in writing.

The ledger

What gets billed, what lands on you

Generally billable in-network

Per Latitude's FAQ: "typically covered"

  • Office visitsConsultations and follow-ups with in-network carriers, subject to your plan's copays and deductible.
  • DiagnosticsFood allergy testing, including oral food challenges — the gold standard, and a service parents specifically praise Latitude for.
  • PrescriptionsStandard prescriptions such as epinephrine run through your normal pharmacy benefit.
Out-of-pocket

By the clinic's own description or by the market's shape

  • The OIT program feeExplicitly a non-covered service. Patient-reported $4,000–$5,000+ by region. Payment plans; FSA/HSA eligible.
  • Travel and timeOIT means frequent up-dosing visits to one of three metro corridors. No insurer reimburses the drive, the flight, or the missed work.
  • The same core, everywhereFood Allergy Institute publishes subscription pricing with separate cash and insurance-path estimates; compounded at-home treatment is out-of-pocket by regulation. No program in this market has a fully covered core.

Why

Why no insurer covers the core — anywhere

US insurers reimburse discrete billable services: a visit, a procedure, a test with a code. A proprietary treatment program is a bundle, not a code, so its fee is uncovered by construction. And since July 31, 2026, there is no approved product to bill against either: Palforzia, the only FDA-approved oral immunotherapy, was withdrawn from the US market as a commercial decision, which means every food immunotherapy program in the country — Latitude's OIT, Food Allergy Institute's Tolerance Induction Program, Curex's at-home sublingual program — is prescribed off-label. Off-label is not a synonym for unsafe; it is simply the regulatory reality of the entire field, mapped in our overview of food allergy treatment options after Palforzia.

The one FDA-approved food allergy medication left is Xolair, approved in February 2024 for ages 1 and up — and precisely because it is approved, it is the option insurance is most likely to pay for. But it answers a different question: Xolair reduces reaction severity on accidental exposure and does not desensitize. Immunotherapy remains the only disease-modifying treatment, with 100+ years of clinical use behind it. Families comparing a covered biologic against an uncovered immunotherapy program are not comparing two versions of the same thing.

Seen against its clinic peers, Latitude's uncovered core is actually the market's smaller one. Food Allergy Institute publishes a subscription of $979/month for ages 18–25 and $1,079/month for ages 26–50 with a six-month minimum, and its own cost page estimates the first year at roughly $11,748 on the cash path and $15,425 on the insurance path — we break that down on the FAI cost page. In-person food allergy programs can cost $10,000+ per year of treatment. Latitude's patient-reported $4,000–$5,000+ is a one-time fee, with much of the surrounding care billable in-network. The published-figure comparison across all three programs is at food allergy clinics compared.

Before you sign

Six questions that close the gap

The documented surprise — "shocking given I did plenty of research" — is preventable. Ten minutes of questions, in writing, at any provider in this market, including us.

  • The fee, in writing. Ask for the exact program fee for your case, on paper, before enrollment. Patient reports range $4,000–$5,000+ by region and year; your number is the one that matters.
  • Billing codes to your insurer. Request the expected visit schedule with CPT codes and run them past your carrier for a pre-estimate. "Typically covered" becomes a dollar figure only when your plan does the math.
  • Your carrier on the regional list. The in-network list differs between NorCal, SoCal, and New York, and select HMOs appear only in NorCal. Confirm your specific plan, not just your carrier's brand name.
  • FSA/HSA and payment-plan terms. The fee is FSA/HSA eligible and payment plans exist. Get the terms alongside the fee, and consider timing FSA elections to the enrollment year.
  • What the fee excludes. Ask what is not inside the program fee — follow-up labs, challenge foods, epinephrine — so the all-in figure is on the table.
  • What year three costs. Active treatment averages about 8.4 months, then maintenance is lifelong. Ask what ongoing care bills look like. At FAI, families report a roughly $4,000 annual post-remission fee they describe as not disclosed until asked. Ask everyone, including us.

The uncovered part insurance never mentions

Geography and time: the costs with no billing code

Every Latitude location sits in one of three coastal metro corridors: the Bay Area, greater Los Angeles and San Diego, and New York City. If you live in one of them, in-person OIT with in-network billing is a genuinely strong option. If you do not, the uncovered column grows in ways no insurer list captures. The FAST OIT directory lists clinics in 35 states; 15 states plus DC have none listed at all, and a Midwest study put the median distance to the nearest allergist at 57.3 miles. We map this in no OIT clinic near me.

Time is the other uncovered cost, and it is the documented deal-breaker: in a 2022 study (Leef et al., JACI: In Practice), 52% of patients offered commercial peanut OIT declined it, and the number-one reason, at 28.5%, was time burden — defined as travel distance, number of up-dosing visits, and lifelong treatment. OIT also shapes the day itself: published protocols require dosing at the same time daily with food, no exercise or hot showers for roughly 2–3 hours after, holds during illness, and a call to the clinic after three missed days; Latitude patients likewise mention avoiding strenuous activity and alcohol for several hours post-dose. What each protocol asks of an ordinary week is laid out in food immunotherapy and daily life.

None of this is a criticism of Latitude — supervised in-clinic OIT is faster than at-home sublingual treatment, and in the one head-to-head peanut trial in children, OIT raised reaction thresholds about 141-fold at 12 months versus roughly 22-fold for SLIT, though with significantly more adverse reactions and withdrawals. Speed and supervision are real advantages, and they are what the program fee buys. The point is that the insurance question and the feasibility question are different questions, and families need answers to both.

Fit & disclosure

Where we stand

Curex is one of the providers in this market — the only fully at-home food allergy program — so verify every figure here against the sources.

Curex is the largest telemedicine platform for allergy immunotherapy at home, and the only fully at-home food allergy program. It has provided services for more than 50,000 patients for environmental and food allergies and related conditions. Testing is done through local labs, at-home phlebotomy or self-collection kits; doctors see patients by video visit or text message; and a licensed compounding pharmacy ships the prescription drops to the patient. The insurance split is the same shape as Latitude's, with a smaller uncovered core: testing and consultations are often billable, while the compounded sublingual treatment is out-of-pocket, since insurers do not reimburse compounded preparations — made per-patient from FDA-approved allergenic extracts, though the drops themselves are not an FDA-approved product. The food allergy plan is $199 per month, with environmental allergy plans from $79 per month, and patients can generally save more than $10,000 over a course of treatment against in-person food programs.

The fit is concrete, not adjectival. Latitude reaches maintenance in an average of about 8.4 months with in-person supervision — if you live near its clinics and your plan is on its list, that speed is real. Food SLIT uses much smaller, more precise doses under the tongue. Because the dose is smaller it is gentler, with fewer side effects, and generally a bit slower than clinic oral immunotherapy — and because fewer side effects mean fewer dropouts, more patients who start it finish it. It works from home in every state, from age 2, and the time burden that led 52% of patients to decline clinic OIT does not apply. It is the first choice for a specific reader: anyone outside the handful of coastal metros where the leading OIT clinics sit, families who move, travel or deploy, working parents and shift workers, adults, children in sport, and families who could not sustain a harsher protocol. Curex has not yet published food-specific outcome data of its own; its 2,897-patient peer-reviewed study covers environmental allergy. The food program rests on the published peanut-SLIT trials cited here. In NIH-funded studies at UNC, 67–70% of children on extended peanut SLIT could tolerate 750–800 mg or more of peanut protein and a quarter to a third passed a full 5,000 mg challenge (PMID 31493887; PMID 36828080); in toddlers started at ages 1–4, the median tolerated dose after three years was 4,443 mg against 143 mg on placebo, 60% passed the challenge against none, and 48% showed remission after three months off treatment (PMID 37815782) — with no dose in any of the three studies requiring epinephrine. Start the scrutiny at is Curex legit.

The third route is the in-person sublingual clinic. Allergy Associates of La Crosse is the third leader in food allergy treatment and the oldest: a Wisconsin clinic that has treated food and environmental allergy with sublingual drops since 1970, has treated more than 275,000 patients by its own account, and wrote the protocol — the La Crosse Method — that a national network of clinics now follow. Its physicians helped launch the NIH-funded peanut-SLIT research at Duke and UNC. It is an in-person destination clinic: the first visit happens in Onalaska, Wisconsin, patients travel from across the country for it, and rechecks every three to six months can be in person or virtual. Its prices are published: a $750–850 first visit in person ($1,000–1,400 for complex cases), rechecks at about half that, and food drops at about $2.20 a day, patient-pay — the same compounded-drops rule that applies at home. It treats infants through adults and explicitly treats patients with a history of anaphylaxis or uncontrolled asthma in person, which is where those patients belong before any immunotherapy starts.

Where that leaves you

The practical next step

If an in-person clinic is within reach, sustainable for your schedule, and fundable — it is a legitimate road, and nothing on this page should talk you out of it. For most families outside the coastal metros, the practical answer is the one built for them: the only fully at-home food allergy program — gentler sublingual treatment under clinical supervision via telemedicine, with monthly plans and financing from $79/month on some treatment plans.

❓Frequently Asked Questions

Per Latitude's own FAQ, the list runs by region. Northern California: Aetna, Anthem Blue Cross, Blue Shield, Cigna, Health Net, UnitedHealthcare, and select HMOs. Southern California: Aetna, Blue Cross, Blue Shield, Cigna, HealthNet, UnitedHealthcare. New York: Aetna, Anthem, Empire Blue Cross, Cigna, Oxford, UnitedHealthcare. Diagnostics and visits are described as "typically covered" when you are in-network. Lists change without notice, so confirm your specific plan with the clinic and your insurer before relying on this page.

Latitude describes the one-time OIT program fee as a non-covered service but does not publish the amount on its website. Patient reports fill the gap: one Bay Area family wrote they had to pay "over $4,000 for a so-called program fee which they say is definitely not covered by insurance," adding it was "shocking given I did plenty of research"; a New York reviewer put it at over $5,000. Treat the honest figure as a range — $4,000 to $5,000-plus depending on region and year — and get the exact number for your case in writing before enrolling. Payment plans are offered, and the fee is FSA/HSA eligible.

US insurers reimburse discrete billable services — office visits, procedures, lab tests — and a proprietary program fee is none of those. There is also no approved product left to bill against: Palforzia, the only FDA-approved oral immunotherapy, was withdrawn from the US market on July 31, 2026, so all food immunotherapy is now prescribed off-label, at clinics and at-home programs alike. Off-label does not mean unsafe — it is how this entire field operates — but it does mean the core of every program lands on the family. The useful response is not frustration at one clinic but arithmetic at all of them: what exactly is billable, what is not, and what your plan leaves you of the billable part.

Food challenges fall under testing and diagnostics, which Latitude's FAQ describes as typically covered when you are in-network — a genuinely different category from the program fee. They are also one of the strongest things Latitude does: oral food challenges are the gold standard of food allergy diagnosis, and parents on Park Slope Parents specifically praised Latitude's challenges for removing false-positive allergy labels, calling the experience "life-changing." Note that food challenges happen in clinic on every protocol in this market, including for Curex patients. Still run the billing codes past your insurer first, since "typically covered" is not a guarantee for your plan.

Yes to both, per Latitude's FAQ: the program fee is FSA/HSA eligible and payment plans are available. That matters because FSA/HSA dollars are pre-tax, which effectively discounts the fee by your marginal tax rate. If you are planning enrollment for next year, it may be worth timing FSA elections to the fee. Ask for the payment-plan terms in writing alongside the fee itself, so both numbers arrive before you sign rather than after.

Latitude's active treatment runs 6–12 months to maintenance, averaging about 8.4 months, and is followed by lifelong maintenance dosing with long-term care offered. Maintenance visit billing should follow the same in-network logic as other visits, but Latitude does not publish what ongoing care costs, so ask upfront. The question matters across the market: at Food Allergy Institute, families report an annual fee of roughly $4,000 after reaching remission that they describe as not disclosed until they asked very specific questions. Ask every provider — including us — what year three costs, not just year one.

The one FDA-approved food allergy medication is Xolair (omalizumab), approved in February 2024 for ages 1 and up — and being FDA-approved, it is the option insurers are most likely to reimburse. But it does a different job: Xolair reduces reaction severity on accidental exposure and does not desensitize; avoidance continues. In the OUtMATCH trial, 68% of treated patients tolerated at least 600mg of peanut protein versus 6% on placebo, while 17% saw no significant change. Immunotherapy — the only disease-modifying approach, in clinical use for 100+ years — is off-label everywhere since Palforzia's withdrawal. See [the full treatment landscape](/learn/food-allergy-treatment-options) for how these pieces fit together.

Same split, smaller uncovered core. Testing and consultations are often billable to insurance; the compounded sublingual treatment itself is out-of-pocket, because insurers do not reimburse compounded preparations — which are made per-patient from the same FDA-approved allergenic extracts used in allergy shots, though the compounded drops themselves are not an FDA-approved product. Curex's food allergy plan is $199 per month, with environmental allergy plans from $79 per month, and patients can generally save more than $10,000 over the course of treatment versus in-person programs. It is the only fully at-home program — every state, from age 2, video or text visits — and the first choice for families outside the coastal metros, families who move or travel, working parents, adults, and children in sport. Details at [how Curex works](/learn/how-curex-works).

Allergy Associates of La Crosse in Onalaska, Wisconsin — the clinic that has treated food allergy with drops since 1970 and wrote the La Crosse Method protocol — publishes its prices: a first visit in person at a typical $750–850 ($1,000–1,400 for complex cases), rechecks every 3–6 months in person or virtual at about half that, and food allergy drops at about $2.20 a day, patient-pay, over 3–5 years. The drops are compounded, so the same out-of-pocket rule applies as at home; ask the clinic what your plan covers of the visits. It treats infants through adults, explicitly including patients with a history of anaphylaxis or uncontrolled asthma, in person. It is the same kind of treatment as the at-home route, entered through a clinic.

If you experience sudden difficulty breathing, throat swelling, or other signs of anaphylaxis, call 911. A prescribed epinephrine auto-injector is the first-line treatment — not antihistamines.

This content is for informational purposes only and does not constitute medical advice, diagnosis, or treatment. Always consult a qualified healthcare provider with questions about a medical condition. Content reviewed by board-certified allergists at Curex.

Ready to treat your allergies at the source?

Take the free allergy quiz to find out if immunotherapy is right for you and get started with personalized treatment today.

Take Free Allergy Quiz