The Tolerance Induction Program, in plain terms
Proprietary does not mean mysterious. Here is what the program actually does, what it costs, what families report on both sides, and what remains unpublished.
TIP is Food Allergy Institute's proprietary in-clinic protocol β normally a combination of sublingual and oral immunotherapy, distinctive in that it begins with structurally similar, non-allergenic proteins rather than the allergen itself, escalating toward the allergen over a 2.5-to-4-year course with frequent supervised food challenges. Its stated endpoint, "food freedom", means unrestricted eating plus lifelong maintenance dosing. The published subscription is $979β$1,079 per month depending on age; the clinic's own first-year estimates run roughly $11,748β$15,425. What TIP is not: a published, independently replicated method β the protocol is proprietary and the main supporting study covered 51 patients, retrospectively, without controls. Both the ambition and the opacity are real. Curex is one of the providers in this market β the only fully at-home food allergy program β so verify every figure here against the sources.
Medically reviewed by Dr. Chet Tharpe, M.D. Β· Last reviewed September 2026
Mechanics
What the program does
All allergy immunotherapy works the same way at bottom: retraining the immune system to tolerate an allergen through carefully graduated exposure. It is the only disease-modifying treatment for allergies β a hundred-plus years of clinical use, since 1911 β and everything else manages symptoms.
The Tolerance Induction Program is Food Allergy Institute's proprietary version of that idea, built by founder Dr. Inderpal Randhawa, a pulmonologist-immunologist in Long Beach, California. Its distinctive claims: it starts with structurally similar, non-allergenic proteins before approaching the allergen itself; it personalizes dosing from an extensive diagnostic workup spanning 130+ assessed allergens; and it runs as a combination of sublingual and oral immunotherapy under frequent in-person supervision, over a published 2.5-to-4-year course, toward an endpoint it calls food freedom.
Curex is one of the providers in this market β the only fully at-home food allergy program β so verify every figure here against the sources.
By the numbers
TIP as the clinic publishes it
Every figure below comes from foodallergyinstitute.com as of September 2026. The success and reaction figures are the clinic's own, self-reported.
- Published monthly subscription by age band (18β25 / 26β50), 6-month minimum
- $979β$1,079Published monthly subscription by age band (18β25 / 26β50), 6-month minimum
- Typical course; complex cases longer β one parent reports being told 6β8 years
- 2.5β4 yrsTypical course; complex cases longer β one parent reports being told 6β8 years
- In-person visits per year at the Long Beach clinic
- 4β6In-person visits per year at the Long Beach clinic
- Share of patients who travel from outside California
- >50%Share of patients who travel from outside California
- Self-reported success rate β among patients who complete the program
- 99%Self-reported success rate β among patients who complete the program
- Self-reported reaction rate for the duration of TIP
- <1%Self-reported reaction rate for the duration of TIP
Ages treated: 15 months to 50 years. The clinic also reports 56,000+ food challenges and introductions completed annually.
Step by step
How a TIP course actually runs
Assembled from the clinic's published materials and families' public accounts of the program.
- Diagnostic workup An extensive lab panel across 130+ allergens, run through the clinic's affiliated labs, produces the map the protocol is personalized from. One family reported an initial lab bill of $2,500, of which insurance covered about $600 after two rejections β attribute that as one account, but budget for labs separately from the subscription.
- Similar proteins first Rather than starting with the allergen, TIP begins dosing with structurally similar proteins the patient is not allergic to, escalating toward the allergen itself over time. This sequencing is the program's central proprietary claim.
- SLIT + OIT combination Treatment combines sublingual drops with swallowed oral doses. These are not interchangeable: food SLIT uses much smaller, precise doses absorbed through the sublingual mucosa β swallowed, the same dose would be ineffective β while OIT uses higher swallowed doses that require in-person observation.
- Supervised food challenges Progress is verified through frequent in-clinic challenges β the clinic reports 56,000+ challenges and introductions a year. Food challenges happen in clinic on every protocol in this field, including for Curex patients.
- Food freedom, then maintenance The endpoint is unrestricted eating plus lifelong maintenance dosing β patients describe quotas like 20 peanuts a day or three large nut servings a week. Several families also report a roughly $4,000 annual fee after remission, described as not disclosed until they asked. Families report restarting portions of treatment (peanut and almond redone) when adding new allergens like cashew and pistachio.
Side by side
TIP against the other routes
| TIP (FAI) | Standard clinic OIT | In-person food SLIT (La Crosse) | At-home food SLIT (Curex) | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Starting material | Similar proteins first, then allergen | The allergen, from the start | The allergen, in small sublingual doses under the La Crosse Method Protocol | The allergen, in very small sublingual doses |
| Delivery | Combination of SLIT and OIT, in clinic | Swallowed doses, in-clinic build-up | Drops under the tongue, at home, after an in-person first visit in Onalaska, Wisconsin | Drops under the tongue, at home |
| Supervision | 4β6 in-person visits/year plus challenges | In-person up-dosing visits and challenges | First visit in person (2β4 hours); rechecks every 3β6 months, in person or virtual; treats anaphylaxis history and uncontrolled asthma in person | Telemedicine, with in-clinic food challenges when needed |
| Pace | Aggressive, personalized; 2.5β4 years to food freedom | Aggressive; in one peanut trial, ~141-fold threshold increase at 12 months | Gentle and gradual; 3β5 years | Gentler and generally slower; ~22-fold increase in the same trial, with fewer adverse reactions and withdrawals |
| Published cost | $979β$1,079/month; first-year estimates ~$11,748β$15,425 | Clinic programs can exceed $10,000/year; Latitude's program fee is reported at $4,000β$5,000+ | First visit $750β850 typical ($1,000β1,400 complex); food drops ~$2.20/day patient-pay | $199/month plan; environmental allergy plans from $79/month; typically $10,000+ saved over a course |
| Evidence base | Proprietary; 51-patient retrospective publication; self-reported 99% | Broad published literature | No single success-rate figure; independent Validation Institute review of its outcome data; physicians helped launch the NIH-funded peanut-SLIT research at Duke and UNC | NIH/UNC peanut-SLIT trials (PMIDs 31493887, 36828080, 37815782) β see the evidence section below |
The threshold figures come from a peanut OIT-vs-SLIT trial in children (PMID 25528358): faster desensitization for OIT, significantly more adverse reactions and withdrawals. Speed and gentleness trade off; neither is free.
The public record
What families report, both directions
All figures and accounts below are patient-reported in public threads and review platforms β treat them as reports, not verified facts.
The positive cluster is large and specific
- Concrete outcomes"My son now can eat whole egg, 4 oz milk, and 16 peanuts." "Graduated a year ago and freely eats everything." "In remission for 5 years, I can eat anything." One family reached their food freedom visit after 2.5 years.
- LoyaltyFacebook shows 94% recommend across 35 reviews and 27,000 page likes. Teens and adults report saving their own money to attend. "Dr. R is a legend" is a representative sentiment.
- Community logisticsTraveling families share host housing and donated airline miles to sustain visits every 8β12 weeks from as far as the UK, Ireland, and Australia.
The concerns are as specific as the praise
- Cost surprisesMultiple families describe the ~$4,000 annual post-remission fee as undisclosed upfront ("didn't drop that banger until we asked very specific questions"). One Birdeye reviewer reports being billed almost $10,000 to insurance for an in-house blood test he says returned false readings β one reviewer's account.
- Attrition, unreportedLong-time observers say many families drop out and that attrition data is not released. One documented dropout cause: developing eosinophilic esophagitis during dairy treatment β a known risk of oral immunotherapy generally, not unique to TIP.
- Third-party recordBBB rating C+, not accredited, with a noted failure to respond to one complaint. Birdeye: 3.5 stars across 34 reviews. A July 2021 Change.org petition (312 signatures) asked the clinic to publish safety and outcome data and disclose conflicts of interest.
Money
What it costs, published and reported
The clinic publishes $979 per month for ages 18β25 and $1,079 per month for ages 26β50, with a 6-month minimum; the subscription excludes food dosing replacements, SLIT materials, and some labs. FAI's own cost page estimates a first year at roughly $11,748 on the cash path versus about $15,425 through insurance. Patient reports bracket those figures: "around $15,000" all-in for year one and "around $12,000" for year two from one family; roughly $4,500 a year in guaranteed costs plus blood tests and co-pays from another. The 2021 Undark investigation put the baseline then at about $4,500 a year, with a first year near $9,000 β prices have risen since. Show all of these to your own accountant as a range, not a quote.
On coverage: FAI accepts PPO plans β Aetna, Anthem Blue Cross, Cigna, Blue Shield of California, Health Net β but not Kaiser and not HMOs. Families report that the United Healthcare grant helps pay and does not require having UHC insurance, and the affiliated TPIRC Diagnostics lab accepts Affirm financing. For the full line-by-line, see what the Food Allergy Institute costs; for how these figures compare across clinics, see FAI, Latitude, and Curex compared.
The evidence question
What is not published
The protocol is proprietary: it has not been shared for independent study. The main supporting publication reported on 51 patients, retrospectively, without a control group, in the open-access Journal of Allergy and Therapy β and Undark reported the paper had been declined by more than six larger journals. Academic allergists quoted in that 2021 investigation were blunt about the advertised 99%: "Come on, there's no way" (Hugh Windom); "just ridiculous" (Philippe BΓ©gin). The 99% figure is self-reported and refers to patients who complete the program β with attrition data unreleased, the denominator is unknowable from outside.
The July 2021 petition asked for more than data: it asked the clinic to disclose its IRB status and conflicts of interest, noting the founder's ownership of affiliated companies including Foundation Labs whose products and services, it said, many TIP patients are required to use. Patients also report being told the method is "under FDA review"; skeptics note a practice protocol is not a product the FDA reviews. What is certain: since Palforzia's withdrawal on July 31, 2026, no FDA-approved food immunotherapy exists at all β every program in this market, clinic and at-home alike, is off-label, which is not the same as unsafe.
The fair reading: thousands of families report real results, and the published evidence is thinner than the claims. Both can be true at once. If published evidence is what you weight most, ask the clinic what has changed since 2021 β and apply the same standard to every provider, including Curex. Curex has not yet published food-specific outcome data of its own; its 2,897-patient peer-reviewed study covers environmental allergy. The food program rests on the published peanut-SLIT trials that follow. In NIH-funded studies at UNC, 48 children aged 1β11 on 2 mg peanut SLIT for up to five years: 67% could consume 750 mg or more of peanut protein at challenge, 25% passed the full 5,000 mg challenge, and no dose required epinephrine (PMID 31493887). On 4 mg for 48 months, with 87% of 54 children completing, 70% reached clinically significant desensitization above 800 mg and 36% full desensitization at 5,000 mg, with reactions after 0.5% of doses (PMID 36828080). In a randomized trial of 50 toddlers aged 1β4, the median tolerated dose after 36 months was 4,443 mg against 143 mg on placebo, 60% passed the challenge against none, and 48% showed remission after three months off treatment (PMID 37815782).
Geography
The travel math
TIP runs from Long Beach, with additional offices in the Vista/San Diego area and a New Jersey clinic β the first outside Southern California β scheduled to open September 15, 2026. More than half of patients travel from outside California for the published 4β6 visits a year; families describe flights every 8β12 weeks from Florida, Texas, New Jersey, New York, Minnesota, and abroad, sustained for 2.5 to 4 years.
That travel burden is not a TIP quirk; it is the shape of the whole in-clinic market. The FAST OIT directory lists clinics in 35 states, leaving 15 states plus DC with none listed at all, and a Midwest study measured a median 57.3 miles to the nearest allergist of any kind. The consequences show up in enrollment decisions: in a published series, 52% of patients offered commercial peanut OIT declined it, and the number-one reason, at 28.5%, was time burden β travel distance, the number of up-dosing visits, and lifelong treatment. The access geography of food immunotherapy maps this state by state, and what each protocol asks of your week translates it into a family calendar.
Fit
Who this program is for
The honest trade is speed versus gentleness. Under direct supervision, clinicians can treat more aggressively β faster and larger threshold rises, as the table above shows, at the cost of significantly more adverse reactions and withdrawals. In-clinic programs sometimes add a biologic such as Xolair so the patient can safely tolerate significant doses; the biologic protects the patient during treatment, and it is the immunotherapy that modifies the disease. If speed matters most to your family, the clinic is reachable, and the budget holds for the full course, TIP is a serious option, and the in-person supervision it provides is a genuine advantage, not a marketing line.
Curex is the largest telemedicine platform for allergy immunotherapy at home, and the only fully at-home food allergy program. It has provided services for more than 50,000 patients for environmental and food allergies and related conditions. Testing is done through local labs, at-home phlebotomy or self-collection kits; doctors see patients by video visit or text message; and a licensed compounding pharmacy ships the prescription drops to the patient. Food SLIT uses much smaller, more precise doses under the tongue. Because the dose is smaller it is gentler, with fewer side effects, and generally a bit slower than clinic oral immunotherapy β and because fewer side effects mean fewer dropouts, more patients who start it finish it. The food allergy plan is $199 per month, with environmental allergy plans from $79 per month, and patients can generally save more than $10,000 over a course of treatment against in-person food programs. It is the program to start with for the families it fits: anyone outside the handful of coastal metros the clinics serve β Curex treats in every state, from home, with no clinic within reach required β families who move, travel or deploy, working parents and shift workers, adults, children in sport, and families who could not sustain a harsher protocol.
Some patients belong in person first regardless of provider: a history of anaphylaxis or severe, poorly controlled asthma is assessed in person before any immunotherapy starts, and Allergy Associates of La Crosse β the in-person sublingual clinic in Onalaska, Wisconsin, which treats exactly these patients β is one place that happens. Food challenges happen in clinic on every protocol, Curex's included. TIP requires reaching Long Beach or, from mid-September 2026, New Jersey, at $979β$1,079 a month on the published subscription across a 2.5-to-4-year course. A child who may be a candidate for either path deserves the version their family can actually sustain for 3β5 years.
Where that leaves you
The practical next step
If an in-person clinic is within reach, sustainable for your schedule, and fundable β it is a legitimate road, and nothing on this page should talk you out of it. For most families outside the coastal metros, the practical answer is the one built for them: the only fully at-home food allergy program β gentler sublingual treatment under clinical supervision via telemedicine, with monthly plans and financing from $79/month on some treatment plans.
βFrequently Asked Questions
Standard oral immunotherapy escalates swallowed doses of the allergen itself from the start, under in-person supervision. TIP begins with proteins that are structurally similar to the allergen but less likely to trigger a reaction, and works toward the allergen over time β with dosing personalized from the clinic's extensive diagnostic workup, delivered as a combination of SLIT and OIT. The clinic says this sequencing is why it can report a less than 1% reaction rate during treatment. Whether the sequencing produces better outcomes than well-run standard OIT has never been tested head-to-head in published research, which is the honest limit of what anyone outside the clinic can say.
That phrase appears often in public threads, and it is half-fair. TIP is immunotherapy β the same underlying mechanism of retraining the immune system through graduated exposure that all allergy immunotherapy uses, and it includes swallowed OIT dosing alongside SLIT. The clinic's claim is that its similar-protein sequencing, diagnostics, and personalization produce better outcomes than standard protocols; supporters counter the skeptics with "you get bite-proof from OIT while TIP offers food freedom", and skeptics reply that OIT programs offering food freedom also exist. The distinctive method is real. Whether it outperforms is proprietary and self-reported rather than independently verified, so believing it is a judgment call in either direction.
Unrestricted eating of the treated allergens, plus lifelong maintenance dosing. Patients describe concrete ongoing quotas β for example 20 peanuts a day, or three large servings of tree nuts a week β and several families report an annual fee of roughly $4,000 continuing after reaching remission, which some say was not disclosed until they asked pointed questions. Lifelong maintenance itself is standard across food immunotherapy, ours included; the fee structure attached to it is the part to confirm in writing before enrolling.
The clinic publishes $979 per month for ages 18β25 and $1,079 per month for ages 26β50, with a 6-month minimum, and its own cost page estimates roughly $11,748 for a first year on the cash path versus about $15,425 going through insurance. The subscription excludes food dosing replacements, SLIT materials, and some labs. Families in public threads report "around $15,000" all-in for the first year and "around $12,000" the second; another budgets roughly $4,500 a year in guaranteed costs plus blood tests and co-pays. Over a typical 2.5-to-4-year course, that is a five-figure commitment however you slice it β [the full cost breakdown](/learn/food-allergy-institute-cost) goes line by line.
The advertised figures β a 99% success rate after completing TIP and a less than 1% reaction rate during it β are self-reported by the clinic. The main supporting publication reported on 51 patients, retrospectively, without a control group, in an open-access journal, and journalists at Undark reported in 2021 that the paper had been declined by more than six larger journals. Academic allergists quoted in that investigation openly doubted the 99% figure. A July 2021 patient petition with 312 signatures asked the clinic to publish fuller safety and outcome data and to disclose conflicts of interest. None of this proves the program does not work; it means the published evidence is thinner than the marketing, and families deciding on evidence should ask what has changed since 2021.
There is no current published figure. Journalism from 2019 counted roughly 1,350 families waiting about 13 months, and parents from the 2018β2021 era describe waits of 1.5 to 2 years. The 2021 petition also alleged β without verification β that large donations allowed some families to bypass the waitlist, a claim the public record neither confirms nor refutes. If you are considering TIP, ask for the current estimate for your specific allergen profile, in writing, and decide what your child does during the wait β [the post-Palforzia treatment landscape](/learn/food-allergy-treatment-options) covers the options that do not involve waiting.
In-clinic programs sometimes add a biologic such as omalizumab (Xolair) alongside immunotherapy so a patient can safely tolerate significant doses during treatment. The biologic protects the patient during treatment; it is the immunotherapy that modifies the disease. Xolair on its own β FDA-approved for food allergy since February 2024 β reduces reaction severity on accidental exposure but does not desensitize, and avoidance continues. Ask the clinic exactly what its protocol includes for your child's case and what the biologic adds to the bill.
No, and most patients don't: the clinic says more than half travel from outside California, with 4β6 in-person visits a year, and families in public threads describe flying in from Florida, Texas, New Jersey, New York, Minnesota, the UK, Ireland, and Australia every 8β12 weeks, sharing host housing and donated airline miles to make it work. A New Jersey clinic β the first outside Southern California β is scheduled to open September 15, 2026. If repeated cross-country travel for 2.5 to 4 years is not realistic for your family, [the access geography of food immunotherapy](/learn/no-oit-clinic-near-me) lays out what exists closer to home: Curex, the only fully at-home food allergy program, treats in every state with gentler sublingual doses, and Allergy Associates of La Crosse offers the same sublingual treatment in person in Wisconsin.
Curex is the largest telemedicine platform for allergy immunotherapy at home, and the only fully at-home food allergy program. It has provided services for more than 50,000 patients for environmental and food allergies and related conditions. Food SLIT uses much smaller, more precise doses under the tongue. Because the dose is smaller it is gentler, with fewer side effects, and generally a bit slower than clinic oral immunotherapy β and because fewer side effects mean fewer dropouts, more patients who start it finish it. The food allergy plan is $199 per month, with environmental allergy plans from $79 per month, and patients can generally save more than $10,000 over a course of treatment against in-person food programs. It is a first choice for families outside the coastal metros the clinics serve β Curex treats in every state, from home β and for families who move, travel or deploy, working parents and shift workers, adults, children in sport, and families who could not sustain a harsher protocol. Candidacy is clinical: a history of anaphylaxis or severe, poorly controlled asthma is assessed in person before any immunotherapy starts β Allergy Associates of La Crosse, the in-person sublingual clinic, treats exactly those patients.
If you experience sudden difficulty breathing, throat swelling, or other signs of anaphylaxis, call 911. A prescribed epinephrine auto-injector is the first-line treatment β not antihistamines.
This content is for informational purposes only and does not constitute medical advice, diagnosis, or treatment. Always consult a qualified healthcare provider with questions about a medical condition. Content reviewed by board-certified allergists at Curex.
Keep reading
- Is Curex legit?The company, the evidence, and the concerns worth knowing β including every FDA letter Curex has received, and what was done about each.Read
- Curex and the FDATwo separate matters: the 2021 allergy-drops questions and the 2025β2026 GLP-1 marketing letters, with what Curex changed.Read
- How Curex worksThe treatment process end to end, from at-home testing to daily drops.Read
- Curex reviewsWhat patients actually report β both clusters, including the complaints.Read
- Is Curex worth the money?Plan pricing against allergy-shot costs, and who it is not worth it for.Read
- Evidence & guidelinesWhat the FDA approved, what the AAAAI/ACAAI practice parameter does and does not endorse, and what has been added since.Read