Money mechanics

The program fee, explained once and for all

The most common billing complaint in food allergy care is the same sentence at every clinic: "insurance covered the visits but not the program." Here is why that happens everywhere, what the fee actually buys at each provider, and how to get the all-in number before you sign.

Short answer

US insurance reimburses discrete billable services — office visits, procedures, laboratory tests with codes. It does not reimburse proprietary program fees: the protocol design, between-visit monitoring, and program management that clinics package as a one-time or subscription charge. That is why Latitude patients report a $4,000–$5,000+ non-covered fee alongside in-network visits, why Food Allergy Institute's published $979–$1,079 monthly subscription is out-of-pocket, and why compounded at-home treatment is self-pay too — insurers do not reimburse compounded preparations at all. Since Palforzia's withdrawal on 31 July 2026, no FDA-approved food immunotherapy exists, so no provider in this market escapes the split. The protection is procedural: the all-in written figure, billing codes to your insurer for a pre-estimate, maintenance costs asked upfront, and pause terms in writing. Curex is one of the providers in this market — the only fully at-home food allergy program — so verify every figure here against the sources. Curex carries the same split, on a $199-a-month plan with environmental allergy plans from $79 a month and typically $10,000+ saved over a course.

Medically reviewed by Dr. Chet Tharpe, M.D. · Last reviewed September 2026

The mechanism

Why every clinic says the same sentence

US health insurance reimburses discrete, coded services: an office visit, a skin test, a specific-IgE panel, a supervised procedure. A food allergy program is mostly none of those things. It is protocol design, between-visit monitoring, dosing management, and administrative infrastructure — real work with no billing code attached. So every provider in this market splits the bill the same way: the coded half goes to your insurer, and the uncoded half comes to you as a program fee, a subscription, or a self-pay treatment charge.

The split hardened in 2026. Palforzia, the only FDA-approved oral immunotherapy product, was withdrawn from the US market on 31 July 2026, and Xolair — approved February 2024 for ages 1 and up — is now the only FDA-approved food allergy medication. Xolair reduces reaction severity on accidental exposure; it does not desensitize, and avoidance continues. Every desensitization program you can enroll in today, clinic or at-home, therefore runs off-label, which means there is no product claim for an insurer to reimburse. Off-label is a regulatory category, not a safety judgment — but it is why the program half of the bill is yours everywhere. The full post-Palforzia landscape is mapped at food allergy treatment options.

Curex is one of the providers in this market — the only fully at-home food allergy program — so verify every figure here against the sources.

The numbers

The market in six figures

Published and patient-reported figures as of September 2026. Every one deserves the same follow-up: what is included, and what is not.

Latitude's one-time OIT program fee, patient-reported by region — the clinic does not publish it
$4,000–$5,000+Latitude's one-time OIT program fee, patient-reported by region — the clinic does not publish it
Food Allergy Institute's published monthly subscription, by age band, 6-month minimum
$979–$1,079Food Allergy Institute's published monthly subscription, by age band, 6-month minimum
FAI's own first-year estimates: cash path versus insurance path
$11,748–$15,425FAI's own first-year estimates: cash path versus insurance path
Allergy Associates of La Crosse's typical in-person first visit ($1,000–1,400 complex); food drops about $2.20 a day, patient-pay
$750–850Allergy Associates of La Crosse's typical in-person first visit ($1,000–1,400 complex); food drops about $2.20 a day, patient-pay
Curex's food allergy plan; financing from $79/month on some treatment plans; typically $10,000+ saved over a course
$199/moCurex's food allergy plan; financing from $79/month on some treatment plans; typically $10,000+ saved over a course
What insurance pays toward any program fee, at every provider in this market
$0What insurance pays toward any program fee, at every provider in this market

The split

What bills, what doesn't — at every provider

Insurance can cover

Coded, discrete services.

  • Visits and consultationsStandard office billing, plan permitting. Latitude lists in-network carriers by region: Aetna, Anthem, Blue Shield, Cigna, UnitedHealthcare and others.
  • TestingSkin and specific-IgE panels bill routinely; extensive proprietary panels less reliably. One FAI family reported a $2,500 initial lab bill of which insurance covered about $600, after two rejections.
  • In-office proceduresSupervised oral food challenges often qualify — and food challenges happen in clinic on every protocol, including for Curex patients.
  • FDA-approved productsXolair, with plan approval — the only FDA-approved food allergy medication since Palforzia's withdrawal.
You pay directly

Uncoded, program-level value.

  • Program feesProtocol design, monitoring, dosing management — no billing code exists, so no claim can be filed.
  • Compounded treatmentInsurers do not reimburse compounded preparations as policy, though allergy drops are compounded from FDA-approved allergenic extracts — the same extracts used in allergy shots.
  • Travel and timeThe invisible line item of in-person cadence: more than half of FAI patients travel from outside California, some flying in every 8–12 weeks.
  • MaintenanceIt continues after the active phase everywhere. Several FAI families report a roughly $4,000 annual fee after "remission" they describe as not disclosed upfront.

Provider by provider

The fee anatomy, September 2026

Published figures where they exist; patient-reported figures attributed and shown as ranges where sources conflict.

ProviderProgram chargeInsurance typically coversCommonly outside the fee
Latitude Food Allergy CareOne-time fee, $4,000–$5,000+ patient-reported by region; not published; a "non-covered service" per their FAQDiagnostics and visits in-network (Aetna, Anthem, Blue Shield, Cigna, UHC and others by region)Ongoing visit copays; lifelong maintenance dosing; FSA/HSA eligible, payment plans offered
Food Allergy Institute (TIP)$979/mo (ages 18–25) or $1,079/mo (ages 26–50), published, 6-month minimumPPO plans accepted (Aetna, Anthem Blue Cross, Cigna, Blue Shield CA, Health Net); not Kaiser, not HMOsFood dosing replacements, SLIT materials, some labs; patient-reported ~$4,000/yr post-remission fee; travel every 8–12 weeks for out-of-area families
Allergy Associates of La CrosseFirst visit in person in Onalaska, WI: $750–850 typical, $1,000–1,400 complex; return visits about half; food drops ~$2.20/day, patient-payConfirm visit billing with the clinic; compounded drops are not reimbursed, as everywhereTravel to Wisconsin for the first visit; rechecks every 3–6 months (in person or virtual) over a 3–5 year course
Standard OIT practiceVaries widely; food allergy immunotherapy can exceed $10,000 per year all-inOffice visits and coded testing, plan permittingUp-dosing visit copays, travel to 11+ office visits in a typical build-up year
Curex (at-home food SLIT)$199/month food allergy plan; environmental allergy plans from $79/month; typically $10,000+ saved over a courseTesting and consultations often billableCompounded sublingual treatment is self-pay — insurers do not reimburse compounded preparations

Latitude fee range combines a Bay Area patient report of more than $4,000 and a New York review citing over $5,000; treat regional and year-to-year variation as expected.

Case one

Latitude: the unpublished one-time fee

Latitude's structure is the cleanest illustration of the split. The clinic's FAQ states plainly that diagnostics and visits are "typically covered" in-network, and it lists accepted carriers for each region — Northern California, Southern California, and New York. Then the same FAQ describes the one-time OIT program fee as a "non-covered service," FSA/HSA eligible, with payment plans available. The amount is not published anywhere on the site.

Patients supply it. A Bay Area patient wrote on Reddit of having to pay "more than $4,000" and called it "shocking given I did plenty of research." A New York reviewer on Atly put the fee at over $5,000 and called it potentially cost-prohibitive. Read together, that is a $4,000–$5,000+ range varying by region and time — not hidden exactly, but discoverable only by asking directly. Notably, Latitude's third-party record is otherwise strong: BBB shows no complaints, Zocdoc reviews for the New York practice run strongly positive across 276 entries, and no legitimacy-skepticism cluster exists for it online. The fee surprise is a disclosure-timing problem, not a trust problem.

Case two

Food Allergy Institute: the subscription and what sits outside it

FAI publishes more pricing than most clinics — and the published number is still not the all-in number. The pieces, each attributed:

  • The subscription $979/month for ages 18–25, $1,079/month for ages 26–50, 6-month minimum, published on the clinic's cost page. The clinic's own first-year estimates: roughly $11,748 on the cash path versus about $15,425 on the insurance path.
  • The exclusions The subscription excludes food dosing replacements, SLIT materials, and some laboratory work. One family reported a $2,500 initial lab bill of which insurance covered about $600 after two rejections.
  • The patient-reported all-in Around $15,000 for the first year and about $12,000 for the second, per public threads; an earlier family budgeted roughly $4,500 per year in guaranteed costs plus blood tests and copays. A 2021 Undark investigation put the baseline at about $4,500 per year then, with first years near $9,000 — the price has risen substantially since.
  • The post-remission fee Several families report an annual fee of roughly $4,000 after reaching "remission," described in their accounts as not disclosed upfront. Duration matters here: the program typically runs 2.5–4 years, with complex cases longer — one parent reported being told 6–8 years.
  • The travel line More than half of FAI patients travel from outside California for 4–6 in-person visits per year, with families reporting trips every 8–12 weeks from Florida, Texas, New York, Minnesota, and abroad. Flights and lodging never appear on any invoice, but they are part of the real cost. The full breakdown is at Food Allergy Institute cost.

Fair value

What the fee actually buys

It is worth saying clearly: the program fee prices real work, and at the in-person clinics it buys two things at-home treatment does not offer. The first is supervision. OIT uses higher swallowed doses, and anaphylaxis and GI side effects are frequent enough that in-person physician observation during dosing is genuinely warranted — that observation infrastructure costs money. The second is speed. In the peanut head-to-head trial in children (PMID 25528358), OIT produced roughly a 141-fold increase in reaction threshold at 12 months versus about 22-fold for sublingual immunotherapy — alongside significantly more adverse reactions and more withdrawals in the OIT arm. Faster and more closely watched is a coherent product, and some families should buy it: an anaphylaxis history or severe, poorly controlled asthma routes to in-person assessment regardless of provider — and Allergy Associates of La Crosse is the in-person clinic that explicitly treats exactly those patients on sublingual drops.

The clinics also publish their own outcomes. Latitude reports 94% of patients of all ages achieving desensitization, 98% under age 4, per internal 2026 data, and an AAAAI 2025 analysis with Weill Cornell found about 5% of doses among 1,000+ OIT patients caused any reaction, the overwhelming majority mild. FAI claims a 99% success rate after completing TIP and reports 56,000+ food challenges and introductions annually — figures academic allergists quoted by Undark in 2021 questioned sharply, and which rest publicly on a 51-patient retrospective study without a control group. Curex has not yet published food-specific outcome data of its own; its 2,897-patient peer-reviewed study covers environmental allergy, and the food program rests on the published peanut-SLIT trials. For the treatment itself, in NIH-funded studies at UNC, 67–70% of children on extended peanut SLIT could tolerate 750–800 mg or more of peanut protein, a quarter to a third passed a full 5,000 mg challenge, and toddlers started at ages 1–4 reached a median 4,443 mg after three years against 143 mg on placebo — with no dose in any of the three studies requiring epinephrine (PMIDs 31493887, 36828080, 37815782). Every provider's claims deserve the same scrutiny; side-by-side published figures are at food allergy clinics compared.

Hidden lines

The line items no code describes

Beyond the fee itself, four costs recur across the public record — none of them ever appears on an invoice or an insurance claim.

  • Distance The in-person clinics cover two coastal metros — California plus New York for Latitude, greater Los Angeles for FAI, with FAI's first clinic outside Southern California opening in New Jersey on 15 September 2026. The FAST OIT directory lists clinics in 35 states; 15 states plus DC have none listed. In one Midwest study the median distance to the nearest allergist was 57.3 miles. More at no OIT clinic near me.
  • Time When 67 patients were offered commercial peanut OIT, 52% declined it — and the number one reason, at 28.5%, was time burden: travel distance, the number of up-dosing visits, and the prospect of lifelong treatment (Leef et al., JACI: In Practice, 2022). Lifestyle modification was second at 25%.
  • Daily rules OIT protocols ask for the dose at the same time daily with food, no exercise or hot showers for roughly 2–3 hours after, holds during illness, and a call to the clinic after 3 missed days. Latitude patients also mention avoiding alcohol for several hours post-dose. What each protocol asks of an ordinary week is at food immunotherapy and daily life.
  • Restarts and attrition FAI families report redoing allergens when new ones are added — peanut and almond repeated to treat cashew and pistachio — and long-time observers note that attrition data is not released. One documented dropout cause is developing eosinophilic esophagitis during dairy treatment, a known risk of oral immunotherapy generally. A restart is paid months; budget for the possibility.

The procedure

Four questions that prevent the surprise

First, the all-in figure in writing — for year one and for a completed course, since a full course of allergy immunotherapy typically runs 3–5 years and FAI's program alone runs 2.5–4. Second, the billing codes for the covered services, sent to your insurer for a written pre-estimate of its half; this is the step the Bay Area Latitude patient who did "plenty of research" could not have known to skip. Third, maintenance costs after the active phase, asked explicitly — this is the question that surfaces FAI's patient-reported post-remission fee before enrollment instead of after. Fourth, pause and stop terms: what happens to the money if you move, withdraw, or develop a complication.

Every serious provider answers all four without hesitation. Hesitation on any of them — not the existence of a program fee — is the actual red flag.

Resolution

Where the at-home split lands

Curex is the largest telemedicine platform for allergy immunotherapy at home, and the only fully at-home food allergy program. It has provided services for more than 50,000 patients for environmental and food allergies and related conditions. It carries the same split, because everyone does: testing and consultations are often billable to insurance; the compounded sublingual treatment is self-pay, since insurers do not reimburse compounded preparations as policy. The difference is what sits on the family's side of the ledger. Testing runs through local labs, at-home phlebotomy, or self-collection kits; doctors see patients by video visit or text message; and a licensed compounding pharmacy ships the prescription drops directly to the patient — so the travel line item, the one that makes 28.5% of decliners walk away from clinic OIT, is zero. The food allergy plan is $199 a month, with environmental allergy plans from $79 a month, and in general patients save more than $10,000 over the course of treatment versus in-person programs, where food allergy care can exceed $10,000 per year.

The trade is explicit: food SLIT is more gentle and generally a bit slower than clinic OIT, and more patients finish it because they do not drop out from negative side effects. It is the first choice for anyone outside a handful of coastal metros, for families who move, travel or deploy, for working parents and shift workers, for adults, for children in sport, and for families who could not sustain a harsher protocol. Whether a given person may be a candidate is a clinical question — anaphylaxis history or severe asthma routes to in-person assessment, and food challenges happen in clinic on every protocol, ours included. Apply the four questions to us the same way: our all-in structure, what insurance may cover, and maintenance terms are laid out at how Curex works. The provider that answers them in writing, whichever one it is, is the one to sign with.

Where that leaves you

The practical next step

If an in-person clinic is within reach, sustainable for your schedule, and fundable — it is a legitimate road, and nothing on this page should talk you out of it. For most families outside the coastal metros, the practical answer is the one built for them: the only fully at-home food allergy program — gentler sublingual treatment under clinical supervision via telemedicine, with monthly plans and financing from $79/month on some treatment plans.

❓Frequently Asked Questions

The coded, discrete parts: consultations, office visits, skin and specific-IgE testing, and in-office procedures — supervised oral food challenges often qualify. Xolair, the only FDA-approved food allergy medication since Palforzia's withdrawal on 31 July 2026, can be covered with plan approval. Latitude's own FAQ says diagnostics and visits are "typically covered" in-network, and it lists major carriers in each region. But coverage is not certainty even there: one Food Allergy Institute family reported a $2,500 initial lab bill of which insurance ultimately covered about $600, after rejecting the claim twice. Deductibles, out-of-network labs, and claim denials all land on the family side of the ledger.

Because the fee bundles things no billing code describes: proprietary protocol design, between-visit monitoring, dosing management, and program administration. Insurers reimburse coded services and approved products, and since 31 July 2026 there is no FDA-approved food immunotherapy product at all — every program in this market, clinic and at-home alike, runs off-label. Off-label is a regulatory category, not a safety judgment; allergists have prescribed off-label immunotherapy for decades. But it means there is no product claim to submit, so the program half of the bill is yours at every provider.

Latitude does not publish the amount. Its FAQ calls the one-time OIT program fee a "non-covered service," FSA/HSA eligible, with payment plans available. Patient reports fill in the number: a Bay Area patient wrote of having to pay "more than $4,000," adding "this is shocking given I did plenty of research," and a New York reviewer put it at over $5,000. Treat it as a $4,000–$5,000+ range that varies by region and year, sitting on top of in-network visits and testing. The full comparison is on [our clinics comparison page](/learn/food-allergy-clinics-compared).

The published subscription is $979/month for ages 18–25 and $1,079/month for ages 26–50, with a 6-month minimum, and the clinic's own cost page estimates roughly $11,748 for the first year on the cash path versus about $15,425 on the insurance path. Patient reports run in the same territory: around $15,000 all-in for the first year and about $12,000 for the second, per public threads. The subscription excludes food dosing replacements, SLIT materials, and some labs, and several families report an annual fee of roughly $4,000 after reaching "remission" that they describe as not disclosed upfront. We break the whole structure down at [Food Allergy Institute cost](/learn/food-allergy-institute-cost).

No. It is how this entire market prices the non-billable half of real care — protocol design and monitoring are genuine work, at clinics and at-home programs alike. The red flag is procedural: a provider who cannot give you the all-in figure in writing, or whose fee surfaces only after enrollment, the way several FAI families describe learning about the post-remission annual fee. Ask every provider, including us, for the fee, its inclusions, maintenance costs, and pause and stop terms before signing anything.

Often, yes. Latitude states its program fee is FSA/HSA eligible and offers payment plans. On the FAI side, the affiliated TPIRC Diagnostics lab accepts Affirm financing, and families report that the United Healthcare grant helps pay for treatment and does not require having UHC insurance. Curex offers monthly plans with financing from $79/month on some treatment plans. None of these change what insurance covers — they change how you spread the uncovered half.

Yes, and you should scrutinize it the same way. Testing and consultations are often billable; the compounded sublingual treatment itself is self-pay, because insurers do not reimburse compounded preparations as policy — even though allergy drops are compounded from FDA-approved allergenic extracts, the same extracts used in allergy shots. The difference is size: a $199-a-month food allergy plan with environmental allergy plans from $79 a month, no travel line item, and in general patients save more than $10,000 over the course of treatment versus in-person programs. Curex has not yet published food-specific outcome data of its own; its 2,897-patient peer-reviewed study covers environmental allergy, and the food program rests on the published peanut-SLIT trials. For the treatment itself, in NIH-funded studies at UNC, 67–70% of children on extended peanut SLIT could tolerate 750–800 mg or more of peanut protein, a quarter to a third passed a full 5,000 mg challenge, and toddlers started at ages 1–4 reached a median 4,443 mg after three years against 143 mg on placebo — with no dose in any of the three studies requiring epinephrine (PMIDs 31493887, 36828080, 37815782). Put the same four questions to us that you would put to any clinic; how the program works end to end is at [how Curex works](/learn/how-curex-works).

Four things, in writing. The all-in figure for year one and for a full course. The billing codes for the covered services, so your insurer can produce a pre-estimate of its half. The maintenance cost after the active phase — food immunotherapy involves long-term maintenance everywhere, and a full course of allergy immunotherapy typically runs 3–5 years. And the pause and stop terms: what happens to the fee if you withdraw, move, or develop a complication. Every serious provider answers all four; hesitation on any of them is the actual warning sign.

La Crosse — the in-person sublingual clinic in Onalaska, Wisconsin, treating food allergy with drops since 1970 — publishes ranges rather than a program fee. The first visit is in person and runs $750–850 typically, or $1,000–1,400 for complex cases (allow 2–4 hours); return visits are about half the price of the first; rechecks come every 3–6 months, in person or virtual; food allergy drops cost about $2.20 a day, patient-pay, roughly $67 a month; and a course runs 3–5 years. The split is the same one this page describes everywhere: visits may bill by plan, the compounded drops do not. Confirm current visit billing with the clinic directly.

If you experience sudden difficulty breathing, throat swelling, or other signs of anaphylaxis, call 911. A prescribed epinephrine auto-injector is the first-line treatment — not antihistamines.

This content is for informational purposes only and does not constitute medical advice, diagnosis, or treatment. Always consult a qualified healthcare provider with questions about a medical condition. Content reviewed by board-certified allergists at Curex.

Ready to treat your allergies at the source?

Take the free allergy quiz to find out if immunotherapy is right for you and get started with personalized treatment today.

Take Free Allergy Quiz